This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Southern Sun Dar
Southern Sun Dar
Southern Sun Dar

Reviews of Southern Sun

Wildlife sightings and reviews

179 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Southern Sun and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 11-20 of 179
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs T
Sevenoaks

"Welcome travel break !"

1 night Arrived 2 Sep 2019
"Does exactly what it says on the tin - a good overnight hotel with a nice restaurant which allows you to recuperate after tiring air travel" See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs D
Worcs

"Southern Sun Dar review"

1 night Arrived 3 Aug 2019
"It was a good stopover in Dar Es Salaam.

Nothing special, but it was clean and friendly and was perfectly OK for an overnight stay." See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr. I
London

"Southern Sun Dar review"

1 night Arrived 27 Jul 2019
"Whilst this is not an "excellent" hotel in terms of high standards of facilities, it is "excellent" in doing the job precisely it needed to for us, namely a one-night stop over in Dar to rest after the long flights and before an early start the next day for the start of the safari adventures.

The airport transfers were seamless which is the main thing, room clean and food decent. They even left us a bottle of sparkling wine for our honeymoon. Definitely recommended for a one-night stop. " See all these reviews: 17n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Alice
Los Angeles

"Comfortable room before our safari"

1 night Arrived 27 Jul 2019
"The Southern Sun Dar was in a great location and provided a nice room before our safari.

The beds were comfortable and the rooms well-air conditioned. The food at the restaurant was very good." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs C
Highgate

"Well located, friendly and comfortable"

1 night Arrived 21 Jul 2019
"We had a warm welcome and staff were very friendly.

Comfortable rooms, although the corridor on our floor had a slight damp smell" See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Devon

"Comfortable and convenient"

1 night Arrived 2 Jul 2019
"Comfortable room with pleasant view towards the swimming pool (which we used for a refreshing swim!).

Enjoyed both our dinner and the buffet breakfast." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
H family
Surrey

"Very suitable overnight hotel"

1 night Arrived 30 Jun 2019
"A sensible overnight hotel - rooms a good size and quiet and comfortable - we used the pool which was nice and dinner and breakfast were good.

About 30 minutes to the airport (provided you are not at rush hour heading into Dar)" See all these reviews: 6n in Zanzibar; 5n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Lee H
Briarcliff, NY

"Very nice hotel, very helpful staff"

1 night Arrived 21 Jun 2019
"We didn't spend much time at Southern Sun, but we had a nice room service dinner, got a good night's sleep, had a very nice breakfast, ordered a taxi to the airport.

The room was clean, roomy enough, and we had a lovely view of the botanical gardens." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Ms KFS
Salt Lake City

"Southern Sun Dar review"

1 night Arrived 21 Jun 2019
"The Reception personnel were helpful and efficient.

We got our bags delivered to the room quickly. They were satisfied with the tips we gave them. And all that can be said for the service the next morning. The breakfast was good. " See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Ms W-M
Utah

"Southern Sun Dar review"

1 night Arrived 21 Jun 2019
"Very nice hotel, very short stay for one nite, arriving late and leaving early the next morning.

Hotel services were excellent and a good restaurant. When we could not shop on our final day due to terrorist concerns in shopping area, the hotel was so gracious in welcoming us back and allowing us to hang out till our flight departed for Amsterdam. " See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 11-20 of 179
82%
179 reviews of Southern Sun by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
54
95
28
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Dar es Salaam

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Oyster Bay

Oyster Bay

North of downtown Dar es Salaam, the Oyster Bay feels like an exclusive hideaway, with its contemporary design.


98% (52 reviews)
Serena Hotel Dar

Serena Hotel Dar

The Serena Hotel in Dar in Das es Salaam is one of the city's reliable fixtures - part of a well managed group.


78% (46 reviews)
The Slipway

The Slipway

The Slipway Hotel in Dar es Salaam is located on the waterfront in a small complex with restaurants and shops.


79% (21 reviews)
Hyatt Regency Hotel

Hyatt Regency Hotel

The Hyatt Regency Hotel in Dar es Salaam is situated in the centre of Dar and has the facilities you would expect of a high-quality international hotel


84% (11 reviews)
Sea Cliff Hotel

Sea Cliff Hotel

The Sea Cliff Hotel is a smart international hotel in Das, offering comfortable accommodation and fine views across the Indian Ocean.


78% (9 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa