This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs M from Devon

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

0

Overall an excellent holiday

Tanzania and 1 other country between 1 Jul 2019 and 15 Jul 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"Everything went well from start to finish.

A very good holiday with a good balance between the three locations.

Even though we already had visas for Tanzania we had to stand and wait at immigration while a staff member collected a whole pile of passports and visas and then worked through them interminably slowly!

On arrival in Zanzibar we expected to show our passports and yellow fever vaccination certificates! In the event we just filled in blue cards, gave them to the member of staff, plucked our bags off the carousel and walked out to our transport. (This was Fisherman Tours-their vehicles are very comfortable and they were always punctual)

Having read dreadful accounts of Zanzibar airport (standing in long queues in the heat etc) we were pleasantly surprised. Yes, it is small and cramped but there were no long waits and we left on time."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Southern Sun Dar

Southern Sun Dar

"Comfortable and convenient"

1 night Arrived 2 Jul 2019
"Comfortable room with pleasant view towards the swimming pool (which we used for a refreshing swim!).

Enjoyed both our dinner and the buffet breakfast."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Siwandu

Siwandu

"Wonderful lakeside camp"

4 nights Arrived 3 Jul 2019
"A lovely welcoming camp. Helen was so helpful and accommodated our wishes even when we changed our minds.
We loved the views at lunchtime, sitting around the fire before dinner, eating out under the stars and chatting with our fellow guests in the bar afterwards.

A lovely, cool, spacious tent but not overly keen on the arrangement whereby the flaps tied back afforded a view of the toilet but we did like the outside shower.

Heard interesting and sometimes scary animal noises in the night!
Great boat trips on the lake (including a surprise lunch on the boat)"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Sand Rivers Camp

Sand Rivers Camp

"One of the nicest places to stay-ever!!"

3 nights Arrived 7 Jul 2019
"A beautiful riverside setting and our room was one of the best we have ever stayed in. (We didn't mind sharing it with the frog in the wardrobe!!) A stunning view of the river with our own little outside deck where we had sundowners on our last evening.

The bar area was very attractive and we loved dining looking out over the water. The staff were very attentive and Michelle always did that bit extra to make us feel special.

We also considered ourselves fortunate to have Promise (not sure of spelling) as our safari guide. His knowledge of animals and birds is very comprehensive and we were impressed by his ability to spot something 30 metres away whilst driving over undulating terrain! And his command of English is excellent. We particularly enjoyed the boat trips and trip to the hot springs.

We would have liked a safe in our room. A really unusual swimming pool!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Anna of Zanzibar

Anna of Zanzibar

"Tropical Paradise"

4 nights Arrived 10 Jul 2019
"A peaceful place to relax and enjoy the sun. Petida was very attentive and looked after us well. The hotel is set in luxurious grounds and there were more sun beds than guests, both by the beach and around the pool.

Our villa was spacious and cool. We enjoyed being able to choose the location for our meals and opted for a table by the beach.

Meals provided plenty of fruit and fish which was to our liking but some of the meals were a bit samey and over spiced. (We know Zanzibar is a spice island but there are spices other than chili)

We enjoyed the trip to a spice farm (although it is rather a long journey there and back)"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

A wonderful trip

Zambia between 7 Jul 2014 and 20 Jul 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"It was Claire who dealt most helpfully and knowledgably with our booking (see ratings below) But our heartfelt thanks go to Ellie who was most sympathetic and helpful when we were stuck at Heathrow and then stranded in Johannesburg.

Our overall trip was wonderful and we saw vast numbers of game and other wildlife. It was all a big adventure and an amazing experience. We did learn that to get the best outcome you may need to SAY what you want. However the phrase "a small portion please" never seemed to have the desired effect!

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

No, everything was very well done."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

"Our favourite camp"

4 nights Arrived 8 Jul 2014
"Because of our travel delays we were here for only three nights. We wish it had been longer. Yvonne gave us a wonderful welcome. Our chalet was, in our opinion, the best one with a wonderful view of the Luangwa River. The whole camp had a wonderful relaxed feel to it.

We loved the deck overhanging the river and enjoyed our lunches and a dinner there. We saw a remarkable amount of game including lions feasting on a kudu they had killed. Our guide was very good and knowledgeable.

There were only four guests in the camp and we didn't see a lot of the other two so we felt a bit like royalty.

It is, alas a very long and dusty transfer from Mfue (particularly with the current road works)."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

"Lovely remote camp."

3 nights Arrived 12 Jul 2014
"We were the only guests this time and were looked after extremely well. Again, our chalet was the one we liked best, although I never quite got the hang of the shower. Again, we loved the relaxing lunches outside our chalet and also the special dinner atop the anthill.

We started to find the game drives a bit too long but we learned to speak up and request an earlier return to camp and also more time along the river.

A nice touch was hot water bottles on the early morning game drive. (Thank you Charlie)"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Chongwe River Camp

Chongwe River Camp

"Lovely River Location"

3 nights Arrived 15 Jul 2014
"A really lovely location-we had a view of both the Chongwe river and beyond that the lower Zambezi. The leg of flight from Jeki over the river was spectacular.

We were not so impressed with the tents. The bathroom lacked privacy and there was just a silly little screen around the WC.

Our first night we were only four guests (and we never set eyes on the other two) and we were well looked after. There was a problem, however with the wine. It had been decanted (from a box ?) into a jug that was stored in the chiller cabinet. It was virtually undrinkable. However, at dinner bottles were produced which were fine. So next time the jug appeared we made it clear that in our view they were letting themselves down badly by serving such rubbish. After that they made a point of serving us out of bottles.

The next day a party of fourteen arrived. Although the staff tried to look after us, seating us at our own table etc.., some of the atmosphere was lost. However, we had a lovely private dinner by the pool.

That evening we opted for a canoe trip. We found ourselves with a party of three other canoes with people not even from our camp. They included adults who tried incompetently to paddle themselves and children in different boats who chattered to one another. We were tail end charlies at the rear. So the peace and tranquillity of gliding through the water was lost and some of the wildlife didn't hang around.. So, taking your advice, we made our feelings known and the next evening we enjoyed a canoe trip just for ourselves. Lovely!!"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Waterberry Zambezi Lodge

Waterberry Zambezi Lodge

"A god location to visit the falls"

2 nights Arrived 18 Jul 2014
"A pleasant enough camp in a lovely location but it did not feel like the heart of the wild and it was disappointing that with so much river frontage only two of the chalets (not ours) were on the river. We did not like to be greeted by dogs weaving their way around our legs and sniffing at our knees whilst we tried to absorb information.

Our first evening we went to the bar area for a pre dinner drink and had to keep calling out "hello" for five minutes before we got any attention. The following day on our return from Victoria falls we were told that our lunch would be waiting for us. We sat down and were served a drink and then bread and butter And then we waited. After a further 35 minutes we got fed up and went to reception to complain that we were just not being looked after.. (It didn't help to hear other guests all saying how very well they were looked after) Our lunch (a cold salad) then appeared.

To be fair, after that nothing was too much trouble for them, and we even had a special dinner served on our veranda with a bottle of sparkling wine. We enjoyed two really lovely sunset cruises and saw lots of birds and crocodiles.

The falls were spectacular and well worth the visit."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Poor
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team