This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Serena Hotel Dar
Serena Hotel Dar
Serena Hotel Dar
Serena Hotel Dar
Serena Hotel Dar
Serena Hotel Dar
Serena Hotel Dar
Serena Hotel Dar
Serena Hotel Dar
Serena Hotel Dar

Reviews of Serena Hotel Dar

Wildlife sightings and reviews

80 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Serena Hotel Dar and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 21-30 of 80
Duration
Arrival date
Mr W
Essex

"Serena Hotel Dar review"

1 night Arrived 13 Feb 2023
"Not much to say about this hotel. It does what it says on the tin.

It’s a large international business standard hotel ideal for an overnight stay in Dar. This was my post flight hotel to give me a little time to recover from the overnight flight from the UK before a 6 hour drive to Kilwa.

The room was clean and comfortable. I spent a little time in the terrace bar, had a nice meal and read my book before crashing for the rest of the day.

Breakfast was a buffet with a large selection of foods on offer." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Ms F
California, USA

"Serena Hotel Dar review"

1 night Arrived 24 Sep 2022
"Was only in the place a few hours before I had to get to the airport for the flight back to the U.S." See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Rooms:
Good
P&H
London

"Serena Hotel Dar review"

1 night Arrived 17 Sep 2022
"Nice hotel for a transit.

Was only there for a night." See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Activities:
Good
ludovicus
Canada

"Serena Hotel Dar review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2022
"Great hotel. Really nice and agreeable.

Really good diner.

Clean and quiet" See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
London

"Serena Hotel Dar review"

1 night Arrived 13 Sep 2022
"Excellent staff and ambience.

Perfect place to relax after a flight." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr & Mrs S
Northants

"Serena Hotel Dar review"

1 night Arrived 4 Sep 2022
"We had an overnight stay in the Serena Hotel due to flight timings.

This turned out to be a good idea as we were well rested by the time we set off for our safari. The hotel is a little tired but clean and comfortable.

The staff were friendly and we had a very good evening meal." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Ms K.
United Kingdom

"Serena Hotel Dar review"

1 night Arrived 1 Sep 2022
"The common areas of the hotel were very nice, and the staff were accommodating. The rooms were a little more dated than I was expecting, given the reception areas, but were perfectly comfortable." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Mr & Mrs G
London

"Serena Hotel Dar review"

1 night Arrived 29 Aug 2022
"Overall the staff were helpful. Appreciated the bottle of wine and fruit left as a honeymoon gift.

Language barriers made it difficult to arrange early breakfast on the morning of our departure." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr E.
London

"Serena Hotel Dar review"

1 night Arrived 16 Aug 2022
"We had a good time at the Serena, and it served well it’s purpose of killing a few hours between flights.

We had lunch in the patio. The food was tasty, the service very good and attentive. We did not use the pool but we had a look around and it seemed very nice.

The facilities were nice, all squeaky clean. The decor is slightly outdated, but still looking good. Perhaps it feels a bit too much a business hotel, but it’s a minor detail for a very short stay.

The distance from the airport was acceptable (about 30 mins or so late in the morning).

All in all, positive experience" See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 6n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Dav & Kay
Manchester

"A good option for our short stop over"

1 night Arrived 24 Jul 2022
"This hotel was a good option for our short stop over, we arrived quite late and left early the next morning, so we didn’t really utilise the hotels facilities.

There didn’t seem to be many restaurants around, (although there was a Pizza Hut across the road, but we didn’t see it!) but we were quite happy to wander and find something local.

The hotel itself was clean and tidy, we enjoyed a drink in the bar before turning in for the night, the room was large, the bed comfy, and the shower really nice and hot, and the breakfast provided in the morning for us to take away was substantial and good." See all these reviews: 7n in Zanzibar; 5n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Showing 21-30 of 80
81%
80 reviews of Serena Hotel Dar by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
22
43
13
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Dar es Salaam

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Southern Sun Dar

Southern Sun

Expert Africa books the Southern Sun in Dar es Salaam as a reliable overnight standby for our travellers passing through the city.


82% (179 reviews)
Oyster Bay

Oyster Bay

North of downtown Dar es Salaam, the Oyster Bay feels like an exclusive hideaway, with its contemporary design.


98% (54 reviews)
The Slipway

The Slipway

The Slipway Hotel in Dar es Salaam is located on the waterfront in a small complex with restaurants and shops.


82% (30 reviews)
Hyatt Regency Hotel

Hyatt Regency Hotel

The Hyatt Regency Hotel in Dar es Salaam is situated in the centre of Dar and has the facilities you would expect of a high-quality international hotel


80% (17 reviews)
Sea Cliff Hotel

Sea Cliff Hotel

The Sea Cliff Hotel is a smart international hotel in Dar, offering comfortable accommodation and fine views across the Indian Ocean.


80% (10 reviews)
Four Points by Sheraton Dar es Salaam

Four Points by Sheraton Dar es Salaam

A typical Four Points by Sheraton hotel, this city hotel provides comfort and style in central Dar es Salaam, offering the perks and familiarity of the Marriott brand.


80% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa