This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Serena Hotel Dar
Serena Hotel Dar
Serena Hotel Dar
Serena Hotel Dar
Serena Hotel Dar
Serena Hotel Dar
Serena Hotel Dar
Serena Hotel Dar
Serena Hotel Dar
Serena Hotel Dar

Reviews of Serena Hotel Dar

Wildlife sightings and reviews

46 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Serena Hotel Dar and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 31-40 of 46
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs R
Yeovil

"Royal Palm Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 2 Feb 2009
"After delayed flights we were not here long enough to make much comment other than reception were surly and did not give us the wake up call requested. Had three hours sleep and moved on!" See all these reviews: 6n in Zanzibar; 4n in Rwanda; 1n in Tanzania; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Good
Mr & Mrs G
Hants

"City centre stop over"

1 night Arrived 27 Nov 2008
"We had not been looking forward to our night at Royal Palm purely because it felt like our holiday ended early. However, the hotel was far better than we had expected. We were only there for 12 hours and most of the time asleep but the room was very smart, the bed comfortable and the air conditioning a blessing after temperatures of up to 38 degrees in the Selous.

We only had room service as we couldn't be bothered to get dressed up to go down for dinner but the service was good and the food was fine and not too expensive." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 3n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mrs & Mr A
Brighton

"Royal Palm Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 18 Nov 2008
"Our only negative part of the holiday! We arrived about 7.00pm fairly tired after travelling to be told our room was still being cleaned and wouldnt be ready for 45 minutes!!

We did feel that for a 4 or 5 star hotel the wait wasnt acceptable as the room surely should have been ready by about 3.00pm for us if needed.

It would have been nice to have gone straight to the room for a shower etc. before dinner but by the time we got in the room we just felt tired!" See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs R
Edinburgh

"Royal Palm - Good for Stopover"

1 night Arrived 11 Nov 2008
"A perfectly good international hotel in the middle of Dar es Salaam. Italian food in hotel restaurant was great." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr L & Ms A
UK

"Royal Palm Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 2 Nov 2008
"Serviceable hotel for a 1 night stay before connecting to the safari lodges.

Remember to request a 'non-smoking' room if this is your preference - we were originally accomodated in a room that smelt very smokey. Staff were helpfully in arranging an alternate room when the request was made." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 1n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Mr & Mrs W-J
UK

"Royal Palm Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 4 Sep 2008
"For a major City-centre hotel we found it very friendly - staff were excellent.

We were upgraded to a Junior Suite - very nice but perhaps unnecessary - a bottle of bubbles might have been more welcome!" See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Nightjar Family
UK

"Royal Palm stopover"

1 night Arrived 28 Aug 2008
"Good city hotel, for one night in transit to Zanzibar. Excellent food and atmosphere in the restaurant.

The only issue was that following purchasing some items in the hotel shop one of our party had their credit card details stolen and fraudulently used, which we have notified the hotel of." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 7n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr H & Ms E
London

"Royal Palm Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 10 Jul 2008
"A useful and comfortable international hotel about 25 minutes from the airport.

Fine for an overnight before the early morning flight to London." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs lion
UK

"Royal Palm Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 5 Jul 2008
"THis was a great hotel for a stop-over. Staff were friendly and efficient. The rooms were clean and contained all that you need.
The restaurant we visited was brilliant. There was a fish night when we were there and the freshness, quality and variety of food was amongst the best we have eaten anywhere. The price was reasonable and a lot cheaper than in England.

The bar was lively with live music but almost exclusively male predominated.

The concierge was particularly helpful and arranged a taxi out to the slipway. The driver was superb and reasonably priced. In the morning the bill was already prepared and we wasted no time in being able to get to the airport.

One word of caution. the restaurant doesn't serve breakfast until half six so if leaving earlier you need to book room service before three o'clock on the previous day." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
D & S
Shenfield Essex

"Royal Palm Hotel 23/24. 02.08"

1 night Arrived 23 Feb 2008
"This was a Saturday, so more facilities available, but this also made for a slower service as it was quite crowded." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Showing 31-40 of 46
77%
46 reviews of Serena Hotel Dar by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
9
24
11
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Dar es Salaam

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Southern Sun Dar

Southern Sun

Expert Africa books the Southern Sun in Dar es Salaam as a reliable overnight standby for our travellers passing through the city.


83% (181 reviews)
Oyster Bay

Oyster Bay

North of downtown Dar es Salaam, the Oyster Bay feels like an exclusive hideaway, with its contemporary design.


98% (52 reviews)
The Slipway

The Slipway

The Slipway Hotel in Dar es Salaam is located on the waterfront in a small complex with restaurants and shops.


80% (23 reviews)
Hyatt Regency Hotel

Hyatt Regency Hotel

The Hyatt Regency Hotel in Dar es Salaam is situated in the centre of Dar and has the facilities you would expect of a high-quality international hotel


84% (14 reviews)
Sea Cliff Hotel

Sea Cliff Hotel

The Sea Cliff Hotel is a smart international hotel in Das, offering comfortable accommodation and fine views across the Indian Ocean.


78% (9 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa