This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Elephant Bedroom
Elephant Bedroom
Elephant Bedroom
Elephant Bedroom
Elephant Bedroom
Elephant Bedroom
Elephant Bedroom
Elephant Bedroom
Elephant Bedroom
Elephant Bedroom
Elephant Bedroom

Reviews of Elephant Bedroom

Wildlife sightings and reviews

23 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Elephant Bedroom and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 8 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Elephant Bedroom.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

71% success

Wild dog

0% success

Elephant

100% success

Gerenuk

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Oryx

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Eland

43% success

Striped Hyena

17% success

Hippo

14% success

Aardvark

0% success

Buffalo

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 23
Duration
Arrival date
Mr W
Stockton

"Elephant Bedroom review"

4 nights Arrived 30 Oct 2017
"Great location. Seemed to lack a bit of management structure. Guiding was very good. Thank you to Anthony. Enjoyed visiting local villages and Douglas-Hamilton research centre. Not quite as polished as other camps I have visited but still a lovely place to stay. Could certainly do with some boardwalks in between tents as after one quick shower it was a struggle to get out of my tent." See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs R
Ashbourne

"Lovely riverside location"

3 nights Arrived 14 Oct 2017
"Accommodation good, beds rather firm. Plunge pool appreciated.

Peaceful with animals very close, including elephant! Lovely outlook over river.

Guided by Anthony, an affable young man with very good English. Lovely sightings of a caracal (cat family) and greater kudu. Would have liked the option of a longer morning safari with a picnic breakfast." See all these reviews: 8n in Kenya; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms D
Wellington

"the Magnificent Elephant Bedroom"

3 nights Arrived 26 Jul 2017
"I realise this camp was a lot more expensive than the first, but the contrast was amazing, can't praise Elephant Bedroom enough.
My guide James was fantastic, really went out of his way to make sure you saw as much as possible, and very knowledgable.
Beautiful food, lots of choice, and the rooms were lovely.

I really enjoyed my stay here so much that I am thinking of returning next year.

Heaps of beautiful elephants !" See all these reviews: 8n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs D
Worcester Park

"Elephant Bedroom without a river"

4 nights Arrived 26 Jun 2017
"I was allotted the luxurious spacious tent nearest to the main area which I found later on had its assets,
My dignified Game Drive Guide in his tribal dress was very good and besides seeing leopards, elephants and lions we also watched a pregnant lioness tracking a young zebra one morning and found her in the afternoon beside her half eaten kill that she had placed in a bush shelter. During the next two drives we saw her in the same place.

One morning we were watching a lazing leopard when a young bull elephant arrived and began feeding near the leopard; result: 2 of the Big 5 in one shot!

Unfortunately the river was dry and consequently the crocodiles had left and gone into hibernation. Also the ostriches had left the area and I did not get my one chance to see their blue legs. However on my second day the elephants began to arrive and from my verandah I watched a bull elephant place his tusks each side of the doum palm that was growing about four yards from my tent and vigorously shake the palm until he was showered with its fruits, My next visitor was a dwarf mongoose who stood on its back legs to peep at me over the edge of the verandah. The monkeys and baboons were, of course, the usual opportunists and a regular 'lookout' was mostly on duty to keep them away from the diner.

One morning towards the end of a Drive we suddenly found ourselves in a shady grove that had been set up as a diner with tables and chairs and all the kitchen equipment ready to cook whatever the guests required. This was a pleasant meal which I shall remember.

The next surprise was a Sundowner for ALL the guests with staff serving the food that was being kept hot until the Sun set.

Overall I enjoyed my experiences at Elephant Bedroom with its luxurious tent accommodation. Even the extremely strong winds filling everything with red dust was an experience.

During my third morning at the campsite I was relaxing on my verandah when I was suddenly disturbed by a Drone hovering about ten yards in front me - am I being unreasonable to believe that this was an intrusion/invasion of my privacy?" See all these reviews: 14n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ladies that travel
UK

"Resident Bull Elephant"

4 nights Arrived 9 Mar 2016
"On arriving at this camp we were greeted with cool wet towels and a drink - most welcoming. The tents here were delightful well equipped comfortable beds and a great location.

The overall experience in this camp was good - only comment was the food could have been a little lighter!!! Huge portions, but for some I'm sure that was welcome.

Seeing the wildlife in camp was a bonus and from our veranda we could see lots of game across the river.

The plunge room was the only way to cool off in the afternoon GREAT!!!!" See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr J
Compton Martin

"Elephant Bedroom review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Feb 2016
"This was the second really outstanding place where we stayed. Joseph (the manager) made us extremely welcome and runs an excellent outfit with friendly and efficient staff.

The location is superb - right on the banks of the Ewaso Nyiro river where the elephants come right up to the bedroom (however beware of the monkeys who steal the biscuits which come with your early morning tea if you don't get there first!)

The food was first class and Anthony, our driver/guide took us on three splendid game drives, using his expertise to find leopards each time.

Very highly recommended." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya; 5n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M & Ms O
UK

"Elephant Bedroom review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Jan 2016
"Well very different from Saruni placed in the heart of Samburu right on the rivers edge,beautiful setting have never experienced a tented camp that you have a private plunge pool to yourself !
Food here is exceptional and yes if you are into elephants they abound all around the camp to the hilarious point when you grab your lunch and run to safety! (always safe guards everywhere)
Slight minus point no power at night so it can get a little warm but you always have the plunge pool !
Guides good cannot fault anything about this camp very well run." See all these reviews: 7n in Zanzibar; 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs E
Norfolk

"Great Samburu Experience"

4 nights Arrived 15 Jan 2016
"Really lovely camp in a good situation within Samburu Reserve. Tented accommodation was excellent, very comfortable and clean. The public areas were large and well furnished, although if the camp was full they might feel less spacious. Food was always plentiful, with a reasonable choice including vegetarian options. On occasion the cooked breakfast could have been hotter. (Served outside from heated containers.)

We were allocated an experienced guide who was knowledgeable about animals and birds. He was flexible and accommodating but sometimes seemed a little distant. The staff in the camp were generally friendly and helpful. Some of the waiting staff seemed to have less English and therefore it was difficult to make a connection.

Elephants came to the camp every evening of our stay. One morning we were unable to leave our tent until staff arrived as we had an elephant next to the deck.

Overall our experience of this camp was a good one and we are already planning a return visit." See all these reviews: 8n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs LN
London

"Elephant Bedroom review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2015
"We returned to Elephant Bedroom after a previous stay and were so very glad that we did! Samburu is one of our favorite reserves and Elephant Bedroom does Samburu justice.

Our tent was on a raised platform and was spacious, well-decorated and had a fantastic view. The plunge pool on the deck is a wonderful idea and is perfect for just dangling your feet in or sitting in watching the world happen around you. Laundry is done on request.

The camp is unfenced and open to whatever happens to want to visit. The very friendly and relaxed guards around the camp made sure to point out anything interesting and kept us safely out of the visiting elephants way. Sam, (one of the elephants that likes the camp) came by daily and we watched him with great interest from our deck as he ate the fruit from the tree that the monkeys had knocked down. He was calm and peaceful and not worried by us at all.

In camp is also an observation platform near a small waterhole the camp has created. The guard took us up there when we requested it.

The staff were all wonderful and so welcoming. Everyone embraced my nephew's enthusiasm for his first trip in Kenya and made our stay an absolute delight. Our guide (James) and trainee (John) were enthusiastic, funny and so kind.

The food was always delicious. How they manage to cater so well so far from everything is amazing! For lunch and dinner you are presented with a blackboard menu with several choices to choose your meal from. Breakfast is a buffet with eggs cooked to order.

We will return!" See all these reviews: 10n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms K & Ms R
Florida

"Elephant Bedroom review"

3 nights Arrived 21 Aug 2014
"Lovely management and staff, and excellent guiding, made Elephant Bedroom Camp a good stop.

It was very hot and still while we were there, but the camp was appealing and the wildlife sightings were superb. And Samburu was beautiful beyond belief!" See all these reviews: 12n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 11-20 of 23
92%
23 reviews of Elephant Bedroom by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
14
9
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Samburu National Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Saruni Samburu

Saruni Samburu

Saruni Samburu is a top-quality boutique lodge, with one of the most breathtaking locations in Kenya overlooking its own private conservancy.


94% (17 reviews)
Sasaab

Sasaab

Stylish and luxurious Sasaab has nine rooms with stunning views across the Ewaso Nyiro River to the plains beyond.


100% (2 reviews)
Joy's Camp

Joys Camp

Joy's Camp is a remote, luxury bush camp located in Shaba National Reserve in northern Kenya.


100% (1 review)
Larsens Tented Camp

Larsens Tented Camp

Larsen’s Tented Camp is a relaxed and welcoming camp, with 20 sturdy tented rooms, a good pool and a very engaging team of staff.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa