This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by SueD from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

3

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

0

Kenya in a nutshell

Kenya between 28 Jan 2020 and 5 Feb 2020

Trip rating: Excellent
"Enjoyed being in two contrasting locations. Amboseli is elephant heaven and I had some wonderful, very close, encounters with ele families and watched a cheetah and her cubs dining on her catch of the day (brilliant guiding by Joseph). After the open plains, Meru was deep bush - so much rain, even the lions had taken to the trees - and different animals to see.

Accommodation in both places was great, especially Elsa's Kopje, with its lovely staff and attention to detail."

Arranged By Richard Trillo


Four Points by Sheraton

Four Points by Sheraton

"Nairobi airport hotel"

1 night Arrived 28 Jan 2020
"Had a mere three hours' sleep here, but what I saw of the hotel was very good and the staff were helpful."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Tortilis Camp

Tortilis Camp

"elephant heaven"

3 nights Arrived 29 Jan 2020
"Liked my tent, the grounds and the setting. The highlight of my stay was having Joseph as my guide, he was totally brilliant and a lovely man. Kibeki was a great waiter. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Elsa's Kopje

Elsa's Kopje

"Just wonderful"

3 nights Arrived 1 Feb 2020
"Loved everything about it!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Loved every minute

Kenya between 14 Feb 2018 and 23 Feb 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"This was a well thought out combination of experiences in a country I like and have visited many times over the decades. Sarara and Kicheche Mara were very different in style and location, each with their own pluses, and the Emakoko an excellent surprise at the end. Richard seems to intuitively know what I will like, which is a pretty impressive skill."

Arranged By Richard Trillo


Sarara

Sarara

"Loved Sarara"

4 nights Arrived 14 Feb 2018
"Sarara is special - accommodation, staff, guides, food all superb. The downside is the 2hour drive from Kalama airstrip but when you get there it's worth it! (a large family or group of friends travelling together might consider a charter plane to land at the airstrip nearby but it's costly). Four nights here is ideal - both to enjoy the setting and everything about Sarara, and to face the long drive back to the airstrip especially if it's a very early flight - but I could happily have stayed longer.
Meg and Rob were perfect hosts, my two guides were wonderful. The 'roads' are pretty rough - it's a long time since I've been flung around a Land Rover like that! - the wildlife sightings were better than I'd been led to believe (update your Rough Guide Richard!) but the highlight was the Singing Wells. I went back to experience this a second time and would have gone again if I'd stayed longer. My guides were amazingly knowledgeable and simply lovely people. Think I'll dream about returning to Sarara for a long time to come."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kicheche Mara

Kicheche Mara

"Happy experience"

4 nights Arrived 18 Feb 2018
"Enjoyed my stay here. Aki was lovely, very kind and helpful, my guides David and intern John were excellent, the staff in general very attentive (and the animal sightings were brilliant). This tented camp has a great atmosphere, relaxed and friendly, and the staff really seem to care that you have a happy time here and go out of their way to make sure you do."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
The Emakoko

The Emakoko

"Amazing place"

1 night Arrived 22 Feb 2018
"The Emakoko, situated in the Nairobi NP, was a wonderful surprise. The lodge is stunning, the food totally amazing (en route for a Michelin star surely). I stayed here for the convenience of being (roughly) between the two airports and an earlyish morning flight out, and by arriving around lunchtime was able to do a game drive that included good close-up sightings of white rhino. Great place, lovely staff. One night was not enough! - it would have been lovely to relax here for a couple of days at least."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Happy time

Zanzibar between 24 Jan 2017 and 30 Jan 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"I enjoyed the contrast between town and coast; my driver between the two was brilliant."

Arranged By Richard Trillo


Jafferji House

Jafferji House

"Quirky and enjoyable"

3 nights Arrived 24 Jan 2017
"I liked the quirky decor at Jafferji House and the staff were delightful. It felt very 'African' - big TV in the room but nothing to watch on it; two washbasins but one of then poured water onto the floor rather than into the drain; shower where hot water never got hot. None of this was a problem, just made me smile and as an Africa addict made me feel quite at home! The room was big and very comfortable.

Breakfast in the restaurant was fine; dinner wasn't wonderful and I found better places to eat in town.

I had a look in other hotels used by Expert Africa and Jafferji was definitely my preferred choice, particularly for the location, decor and atmosphere."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Pongwe Beach Hotel

Pongwe Beach Hotel

"Great place to be"

3 nights Arrived 27 Jan 2017
"Loved the hotel and the staff - could have stayed for months.

I hate big resorts, so the size of Pongwe was ideal. I don't think of myself as a beach person, but to go to sleep to the sound of the waves, and to walk along the sand to the restaurant, was joyous.

A lovely room with loads of space - and everything worked!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team