This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Miss S from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

12

Excursions taken

0

Really enjoyable holiday

Namibia between 14 Apr 2017 and 29 Apr 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a really good holiday. At times th edriving was quite tiring given the state of the roads. Timing - although the country was quite green and attractive it did mean wildlife was scarce even in Etosha which put piad to some activities which was a shame. However, the scenery and wild landscapes more than made up fpr this. T

The only downside was Zebra River Lodge - i strongly suggest you drop this accommodation.

Hoodia, Kipwe & Erongo were our highlights.

Two very minor points on your itinerary:

1) I think Hoodia directions are wrong - to be fair it is wrongly located on a number of maps; and
2) Be aware that Kipwe does not provide a laundry service (we had planned to use it but no service exists)."

Galton House

Galton House

"Good"

1 night Arrived 15 Apr 2017
"Comfy guesthouse.

If i went to Namibia gain i would skip this stay and drive a couple of hours out of windhoek personally."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

"Poor"

2 nights Arrived 16 Apr 2017
"I suggest you do not recommend this lodge. The local staff were very good but the 'manager' was useless with zero qualities as a host. She never even introduced herself or said good morning at breakfast when we were the only guests present. The staff indicated that the previous managers left at Xmas. It seemed this new person had no idea how to run anything. She was rude and dismissive to the staff in front of us, did not show us anything or tell us anything and left us to find our chalet ourselves. We only found out from another guest that a guide appeared each afternoon to discuss activities - these were in fact very limited - a short accompanied walk or a sundowner drive. Almost no information about anything was provided by the manager and none existed in the room.

We were given one of the new rooms - slightly further away from the lodge. It was so new that there was no furniture in a large room - nothing so all our bags, clothes etc could only be left on the floor . The mosquito nets were still to be delivered which was not good given there were quite a few insects about. We complained three times that there was zero hot water - nothing was done about it but no one gave us any update either.

This is really not a good lodge - by far the worse place on our trip.

[Ed: As part of a brief email exchange about this with these travellers, they commented further:

Zebra River Lodge – we liked the place – its just that the management of it seemed inept to be honest. The local staff were lovely and helpful but the place is not at all well run at the top in my view. Easily overcome I’d imagine."
Poor
Location
Average
Service
Average
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Poor
Food
Average
Facilities
Poor
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

"Superb"

2 nights Arrived 18 Apr 2017
"Very comfortable, excellent staff, really good food and an extremely pleasant host (Thomas).

Cannot fault this place at all. Top service."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Sea Breeze Guesthouse

Sea Breeze Guesthouse

"OK"

2 nights Arrived 20 Apr 2017
"Perhaps a little bit far out of twon - either a drive or taxi ride away"
Average
Location
Average
Service
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

"Excellent"

1 night Arrived 22 Apr 2017
"Really nice place with excellent views. Good food although service a little formal at times. Noticeable, compared to other lodges, that no women work here. Air con was needed at night and ours was quite noisy.

Room cleaning was a little basic we thought and the camp would benefit from there being more of a 'host' manager. However it is a great place that we thoroughly enjoyed."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Average"

2 nights Arrived 24 Apr 2017
"Its a basic camp. We stayed here to be in the park and close to a waterhole.

Previous rainfall meant there was no activity at the waterhole! The camp is fine is a little basic - the game drive was not brilliant due to a fairly unprofessional guide we thought."
Average
Location
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Activities
Average
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

"Very good and comfortable"

2 nights Arrived 26 Apr 2017
"Very comfy and good food - more like a hotel than a game lodge but very enjoyable.

Waterhole activity was good and the guides were really good. Very pleasant staff"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Excellent"

1 night Arrived 28 Apr 2017
"Possibly our favourite place and wished we had stayed longer.

Lovely tented rooms with loads of space and generous outdoor decks/seating. Guided walks were free and well staffed. Very good food. The whole design and ambience of the camp is superb - we were welcomed by Dhow (manager?) who was an excellent host.

A really nice place."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Activities
Excellent

East Africa and Zanzibar

Tanzania and 1 other country between 9 Feb 2012 and 24 Feb 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"Generally speaking a fantastic holiday with Selous being the high spot.

Advice from your agent was helpful and informative.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Don't go to Stone Town!"

Arranged By Elizabeth Chapman


Ruaha River Lodge

Ruaha River Lodge

"Ruaha River Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Feb 2012
"- Friendly staff.
- Accommodation spacious and clean, pretty location.
- Some game drives felt a bit rushed but generally good.
- Picnics worried us slightly - food not chilled and was stored in plastic containers which were hot and sweaty by lunchtime. We did have upset stomachs one night which I'm sure was as a result of this.
- Lack of electricity was quite annoying 6pm - 10pm.
- More comfortable chairs/loungers to sit on balcony would be good.
- Food generally good - plentiful and lots of vegetables"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Selous Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp

"Selous Impala Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 13 Feb 2012
"- Cannot praise this camp highly enough!!!!!!
- Accommodation was amazing (we had Tent 1) and I would go back tomorrow which, considering I've never camped and have always flatly refused to go on a camping holiday, is a huge achievement on their part!
- Staff could not do enough to help and were very attentive.
- Food was delicious and beautifully presented.
- Game Driver (Mpogo) was fabulous at finding interesting things for us to see.

Loved it, loved it, loved it..."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Matemwe Beach Village, Zanzibar (this camp has since closed)

"Matemwe Beach Village review"

5 nights Arrived 17 Feb 2012
"After Selous it was a bit of a come down.
- The room was dreary and we had ant invasions.
- The rusting bars on the window and rusting mozzie mesh on the door didn't help to improve the look of the room.
- Staff a bit too laid back in terms of service, but always polite.
- Restaurant food was excellent. Breakfast & lunch very good. BBQ/Curry night food was just OK.
- More loungers/shade by the pool would be helpful.
- More hammocks on the beach would be nice.
- Tidying up the overgrown vegetation and having a general tidy up/raking the sand to be level inside the beach huts to be able to lie on the bed comfortably would be to it's advantage.
- Supplying sun loungers on the beach that were not falling to pieces would also be a plus.
- Beach uncrowded and scenic
- Water warm and we had high tide every day so were able to swim
- Tea/coffee at sunrise a nice touch but never enough tea, coffee, cups, spoons etc!!!!!
- Very relaxing few days"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Tembo Hotel

Tembo Hotel

"Tembo Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Feb 2012
"A very poor hotel.

We had a room that was next to a very noisy generator that was on all night. Next morning I immediately asked to be moved and they seemed very un-surprised by the fact. Our second room was ok.

Stone Town is filthy and has no buildings, sights, activities or cultural interest of note to encourage anyone to visit it. I would never recommend anyone to go there and wished we had been advised to travel to the airport from Matamwe.

Being next to the sea was a slight plus. The amount of debris and litter washed up and just left on the beach was not pleasant."
Poor
Location
Average
Service
Poor
Rooms
Poor
Food
Poor

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team