This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Dhow Palace Hotel

Reviews of Dhow Palace Hotel

Wildlife sightings and reviews

38 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Dhow Palace Hotel and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 11-20 of 38
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs C
Fairfield

"Dhow Palace Hotel"

2 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2013
"Location was great for access to the center of Stonetown." See all these reviews: 8n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Facilities:
Good
The S family
Bristol

"Dhow Palace Hotel"

1 night Arrived 8 Aug 2013
"The location in Stone Town is excellent but the facilities in the hotel itself are a little tired.

The staff did notice that it was my wife's birthday and brought a cake up to our room which was a delightful touch." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Facilities:
Average
The P family
New York

"Dhow Palace Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Feb 2013
"nice place. Centrally located in Stonetown, so its easy to walk anywhere. Room was clean, large and comfortable. Staff were helpful and friendly. Lots of old world ambiance. Incense at bedtime was a nice touch. Air conditioning at night was a relief for us cold climate people. Pool and courtyard are very nice." See all these reviews: 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Three
Manchester

"Single Rooms shoudl be avoided !!!!"

1 night Arrived 29 Sep 2012
"The Dhow Palace is a hotel of faded grandeur. We had a lovely room on the 3rd floor with a balcony over the pool and the sweeping corridors filled with antiques are impressive.

Sadly the three single rooms the rest of our group had were on the ground floor, small, dark, dingy and generally didn't feel at all secure. When we enquired about those in these moving an immediate "sorry the hotel is full" fell from the receptionists lips almosy before we'd even finished talking. I suspect that the single rooms are often complained about and as such Expert Africa should really book doubles for single travellers and inform them they do not recommend the the single rooms,

Room 11 which a female friend was in had a window that opened out onto a flat roof with a doorway opposite and people coming and going all the time. She felt so unsettled my better half slept in her room that night and she shared with me, he confiemed the next morning the comings and goings went on into the early hours. Its not a particularly expensive hotel and EA do themselves a disservice by allowing the hotel to place single traveller clients in these rooms. Otherwise though its a good base for Stonetown as long as you get a good double room on an upper floor.

Overall Stonetown is an eclectic, shabby, interesting place to spend a night but I wouldn't linger more than one. We did spend a delightful last night high in the rooftops at the Cafe at Emerson Spice Hotel the food and service fantastic and a great view of the town and out to sea." See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania; 3n in Rwanda; 1n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Poor
The O family
London

"Dhow Palace Hotel"

3 nights Arrived 19 Aug 2012
"Hotel was very convenient, with good facilities and the room was excellent. Some staff (but not all) were very helpful, and they facilitated our trip to a spice farm - though the promised breakfast on our last day, when we were leaving very early, did not materialise.

It's worth telling guests that the hotel won't accept credit cards for any extras (meals. laundry etc) and their exchange rate for dollars is poor." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
The D family
Hants

"Dhow Palace stay"

1 night Arrived 3 Feb 2012
"Lovely old building, nice rooms, efficient reception, good aircon.

We didn't have a very good meal in the rooftop restaurant and ( not surprisingly) there was noone else there! When we went to book, with plenty of notice, as advised by reception, they seemed unprepared.

Breakfast was served downstairs in the juice bar area and rather haphazardly laid out in quite a small area. Wasn't very appealing.

" See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 1n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Mr C
Ontario, Canada

"Dhow Palace Hotel review"

3 nights Arrived 8 Jan 2012
"The hotel is centrally located so it is convenient to all amenities. The staff was friendly. Breakfast was included but somewhat limited in selections. My room was old but clean. I believe my bathroom is situated right next to the kitchen so it was noisy in the morning until I learned to close the bathroom door.

The rooster woke me up at the earliest light which was before 5 every morning. We were not sure about the quality of the food in the hotel so we did not stay for lunch or dinner. The internet-connected computer in the lobby area is a good convenient feature.

There is very limited space for hanging up clothes and no cloth line for drying hand-washed clothes." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 9n in Zanzibar; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mrs B
Bridgewater

"Dhow Palace Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2011
"This hotel is really well located in Stone Town, at the quiet end of a great street for shopping and eating.

The hotel is essentially two buildings conjoined, surrounding a pretty courtyard and a great cooling swimming pool [very much appreciated in the heat of the day!]. Rooms are of various sizes and configurations, and we were showed several before making our choice [a nice touch]. The rooms are small, but fairly well appointed, with some nice, authentic furniture, and a comfortable bed and en-suite bathroom.

There is a great roof terrace from where you can watch the sun set [a much nicer location than the bar of the Africa House Hotel - crammed every day with coach parties from the nearby resorts all bussed in to have one drink and watch the sun go down]

Sadly, meals at the Dhow Palace can't be recommended - the menu is a mix of simple European dishes, which were not particularly appealing.

Overall, this is a comfortable place to spend a couple of days in Stone Town." See all these reviews: 4n in Tanzania; 2n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Good
Mrs W & friends
UK

"Dhow Palace Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 28 May 2011
"Quite faded really. Staff were very helpful. Did see rsther large rat in foyer which no-one else seemed to mind." See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
CGRASSBY
Australia

"Dhow Palace Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Jan 2011
"Check-in efficient. The Air con in room failed overnight.

We were upgraded to a fantastic rooftop suite for our second night.

Staff really helpful in letting me use the phone to call the Azanzi about a lost shirt and to reconfirm our flights.
Beautiful hotel antiques." See all these reviews: 4n in Tanzania; 2n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Showing 11-20 of 38
79%
38 reviews of Dhow Palace Hotel by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
7
23
7
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zanzibar

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zanzibar.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Other lodges in Stone Town

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Serena Inn

Serena Inn

Now trumped by the nearby Park Hyatt, the Serena Inn, in its historic building, was formerly Stone Town's only international-style hotel.


92% (64 reviews)
Zanzibar Coffee House

Zanzibar Coffee House

The Zanzibar Coffee House is a small quiet hotel tucked away in the back streets of Stone Town, with lovely, simple rooms.


83% (61 reviews)
Zanzibar Palace Hotel

Zanzibar Palace Hotel

The Zanzibar Palace Hotel is a highly regarded boutique hotel with very personal service and just nine rooms, all of them Zanzibari in style.


90% (48 reviews)
Beyt al Salaam

Beyt al Salaam

The Beyt al Salaam is a pleasant, boutique hotel with only six rooms and atmospheric and stylish Zanzibari décor.


82% (44 reviews)
Emerson Spice

Emerson Spice

Emerson Spice is a beautiful small hotel in the heart of Stone Town with individually designed rooms adorned with gorgeous fabrics.


93% (20 reviews)
Jafferji House

Jafferji House

Jafferji House is a converted old house that blends modern facilities with traditional style. The ten, unique rooms are show great attention to detail.


81% (19 reviews)
Kholle House

Kholle House

Kholle House offers an atmospheric Stone Town stay in a historic building, and is very good value for money.


81% (18 reviews)
Swahili House

Swahili House

Swahili House is a traditionally styled boutique hotel furnished to a high standard with a convenient location in the centre of Stone Town.


82% (10 reviews)
Tembo Hotel

Tembo Hotel

The Tembo Hotel is a good-value, family-friendly hotel right on the seafront in Stone Town, with 36 rooms and a good-sized swimming pool.


63% (8 reviews)
Emerson on Hurumzi

Emerson on Hurumzi

Emerson on Hurumzi was Stone Town's first boutique hotel, featuring antique furniture, unique, stylish rooms and a superb rooftop restaurant.


80% (5 reviews)
Mbweni Ruins Hotel

Mbweni Ruins Hotel

Mbweni Ruins Hotel is very convenient if you want to stay on the beach, but very close to Stone Town, or visit Chumbe Island.


92% (5 reviews)
Maru Maru Hotel

Maru Maru Hotel

In the heart of Stone Town, Maru Maru combines contemporary style and creature comforts with a Zanzibari twist.


80% (2 reviews)
Park Hyatt

Park Hyatt

The Park Hyatt Zanzibar is a high-quality example of this group, with excellent facilities and service.


100% (2 reviews)
Kisiwa House

Kisiwa House

Kisiwa's central location in the heart of Stone Town's Shangani area makes it a great base to explore this fascinating town.


No reviews yet
The Seyyida Hotel

Seyyida Hotel

The Seyyida is a characterful old hotel near the seafront in Stone Town, with the rare bonus of a swimming pool.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa