This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Dhow Palace Hotel

Reviews of Dhow Palace Hotel

Wildlife sightings and reviews

38 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Dhow Palace Hotel and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 21-30 of 38
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs W
Wilts

"A delightful hotel"

2 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2010
"This is a lovely looking hotel with beautiful decor. Our room was on the 3rd floor so there were a few steps to climb. I'm not sure if there was a lift or not. The room was of a nice size and comfortable. The bathroom was pretty small with the toilet so close to the sink you could wash your face at the same time. The shower was of a morrocan/persian style with an hand held type shower head on the wall. We did get a strong musky smell and a few times a sewage smell which wasn't too pleasant.

We did have an evening meal at the hotel which was a bit to be desired and only had 1 breakfast (we were only there for 2 nights) again nothing special.

The hotel is in a good location and is a few steps away from the Africa House Hotel in which you can have drinks on the balcony and watch the sunset. (Drinks very pricey though) Overall this hotel is pleasant and we did like the decor." See all these reviews: 6n in Zanzibar; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Ms MP
Belgium

"Dhow Palace Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 20 Jul 2010
"Attractive hotel good for our one night in Stone Town - perhaps not for a longer stay.

Beautiful and cold pool!" See all these reviews: 8n in Zanzibar; 6n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Miss I & Mr F
London

"Dhow Palace Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Mar 2010
"We really liked the way the hotel had been renovated and furnished - all those beautiful antiques! The staff were really friendly and helpful, Our room was great - and it was a nice touch to find a nice basket of fruit appeared as we were there on honeymoon!

The pool is really pretty and shady and was a godsend - it was so hot and humid when we arrived, compared to Arusha/Kilimanjaro area. I would definitely recommend people choose hotels in Stonetown with pool!" See all these reviews: 2n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Ms A & Mr M
London

"Dhow Palace Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Mar 2010
"The Dhow Palace has an excellent location in the heart of Stone Town and only 2 min walk to the waterfront.

Although the service was less personal to that of other smaller lodges that we stayed in, it was still very good.

On our departure day we had to leave very early, yet the hotel's chef gladly prepared for us breakfast to take with us.

It is a good value for money option in Stone Town." See all these reviews: 8n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
E Sussex

"Dhow Palace Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Feb 2010
"It was OK but I would not return to this hotel." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Poor
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs B
Norbury

"Good location for seeing Stone Town"

2 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2009
"The Dhow Palace was fine for accomodation, breakfast and snacks, but we chose to have an evening meal there on our first night. It was disappointing. Advise other visitors to eat elsewhere" See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 2n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr G & Ms P
Hampshire

"Dhow Palace Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 6 Sep 2009
"Our one-night stay at the Dhow Palace was pleasant enough: we perhaps needed an extra day to sample more that Stone Town can offer. The hotel was clean and the rooms were stylishly presented, if dated (deliberately, we presume). Staff were generally pleasant although the on-site restaurant (in which we had both lunch and breakfast) was no better than average, in terms of both food and service.

We also took the opportunity to take in a Spice Tour and trip to Prison Island that we had Fisherman Tours organise for us (as they were conducting the transfer to Stone Town from Fumba). These were fine although I didn't feel that at US$ 138 they represented good value for money. As a small example, at the Spice Farm the cost for pouches of spices were 3 times those in one of the smartest Stone Town souvenir shops! That said, it was pleasant to have a dedicated driver and guides. Our Fisherman Tours pick up the following morning was late in arriving although not much - and we made our flight from Zanzibar airport with ample time to spare." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs R
Cardiff

"Dhow Palace Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2009
"Maybe we are comparing with Shooting Star which was so impressive - Dhow Palace was an excellent location to explore Stone Town from although the sister hotel, the Tembo may have been better as it had sea views and looked as if it had been renovated more recently than the Dhow Palace.

Dhow Palace had great original character and very helpful staff but did seem a little tired in places. We did not eat main food here as we preferred to use Forodhani Gardens but did have breakfast which was fine but limited in places - there was fresh fruit but there was no fresh coffee opiton and the fruit juices seemed to be made from concentrates and sweetened." See all these reviews: 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs R
Manchester

"Dhow Palace Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Aug 2009
"Really nice old colonial type manor house, with great period feature and some funky old bits of furniture.

Not really got a problem with the place, but our room faced onto the street which was pretty noisy especially because Ramadam had just started. Also the room was well hot at night and the air con unit sounded like one of the safari jeeps, which I suppose drowned out the noise from street level.

The rooms were quite quirky and had some funky antiques in there. Mosquito net had a few holes in though.

Top location right in the middle of Stone Town. But didn't really stay there long enough to use all the facilites etc. Staff seemed very friendly though.

Breakfast wasn't much cop, but I suppose we had been spoilt at Pongwe where they were top drawer." See all these reviews: 9n in Zanzibar; 5n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Miss B & Mr D
NI

"Overnight at Dhow Palace Hotel"

1 night Arrived 8 Jan 2009
"We spent our last night at the Dhow Palace Hotel. The hotel has a lovely cool feel to it and the courtyard pool was very useful for cooling off. The room was large with a four poster bed which overlooked the pool area. It also had air conditioning and an electric fan which was essential to battle the heat. Definitely an oasis in the hustle and bustle of Stone Town

The roof terrace and restaurant looked lovely although we chose to eat in a local restaurant for dinner. We had a very early start the next morning but were impressed we were still able to get some breakfast at 5.30am!" See all these reviews: 4n in Tanzania; 1n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 21-30 of 38
79%
38 reviews of Dhow Palace Hotel by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
7
23
7
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zanzibar

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zanzibar.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Other lodges in Stone Town

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Serena Inn

Serena Inn

Now trumped by the nearby Park Hyatt, the Serena Inn, in its historic building, was formerly Stone Town's only international-style hotel.


92% (64 reviews)
Zanzibar Coffee House

Zanzibar Coffee House

The Zanzibar Coffee House is a small quiet hotel tucked away in the back streets of Stone Town, with lovely, simple rooms.


83% (61 reviews)
Zanzibar Palace Hotel

Zanzibar Palace Hotel

The Zanzibar Palace Hotel is a highly regarded boutique hotel with very personal service and just nine rooms, all of them Zanzibari in style.


90% (48 reviews)
Beyt al Salaam

Beyt al Salaam

The Beyt al Salaam is a pleasant, boutique hotel with only six rooms and atmospheric and stylish Zanzibari décor.


82% (44 reviews)
Emerson Spice

Emerson Spice

Emerson Spice is a beautiful small hotel in the heart of Stone Town with individually designed rooms adorned with gorgeous fabrics.


93% (22 reviews)
Jafferji House

Jafferji House

Jafferji House is a converted old house that blends modern facilities with traditional style. The ten, unique rooms are show great attention to detail.


81% (19 reviews)
Kholle House

Kholle House

Kholle House offers an atmospheric Stone Town stay in a historic building, and is very good value for money.


81% (18 reviews)
Swahili House

Swahili House

Swahili House is a traditionally styled boutique hotel furnished to a high standard with a convenient location in the centre of Stone Town.


82% (10 reviews)
Tembo Hotel

Tembo Hotel

The Tembo Hotel is a good-value, family-friendly hotel right on the seafront in Stone Town, with 36 rooms and a good-sized swimming pool.


63% (8 reviews)
Emerson on Hurumzi

Emerson on Hurumzi

Emerson on Hurumzi was Stone Town's first boutique hotel, featuring antique furniture, unique, stylish rooms and a superb rooftop restaurant.


80% (5 reviews)
Mbweni Ruins Hotel

Mbweni Ruins Hotel

Mbweni Ruins Hotel is very convenient if you want to stay on the beach, but very close to Stone Town, or visit Chumbe Island.


92% (5 reviews)
Maru Maru Hotel

Maru Maru Hotel

In the heart of Stone Town, Maru Maru combines contemporary style and creature comforts with a Zanzibari twist.


80% (2 reviews)
Park Hyatt

Park Hyatt

The Park Hyatt Zanzibar is a high-quality example of this group, with excellent facilities and service.


100% (2 reviews)
Kisiwa House

Kisiwa House

Kisiwa's central location in the heart of Stone Town's Shangani area makes it a great base to explore this fascinating town.


No reviews yet
The Seyyida Hotel

Seyyida Hotel

The Seyyida is a characterful old hotel near the seafront in Stone Town, with the rare bonus of a swimming pool.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa