This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Dhow Palace Hotel

Reviews of Dhow Palace Hotel

Wildlife sightings and reviews

38 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Dhow Palace Hotel and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 31-38 of 38
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs W
Bucks

"Dhow Palace Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 23 Oct 2008
"The room was surprisingly small on the 3rd floor with no lift, had we been staying longer than one night we would have asked to be moved." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia; 7n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Poor
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs I
York

"Dhow Palace Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2008
"Rooms were clean and staff helpful, beware of the surrounding roads as I think tar had been spread over them for a road building project and you could lose your shoes, very sticky!" See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
The Weaver birds
UK

"Character hotel in central Stonetown."

2 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2008
"As described, this hotel is clean and well-located. The architecture and interior was full of character and like a step back in time.

Unfortunately staff were a little bit unhelpful and not particularly polite. Maybe we had been spoiled by our previous hotels. Nonetheless, we really enjoyed our experience in Stonetown - a complete contrast to the safari and Pongwe beach and for the first time, we were mixing with locals in a real environment.

ps the swimming pool is a real bonus at the end of a hot days sightseeing!" See all these reviews: 8n in Zanzibar; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Parrot fish
UK

"One night at Dhow Palace Hotel"

1 night Arrived 1 Sep 2008
"We were a little disappointed with the condition of our room following our stays at Selous Impala Camp and Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel; it was clean but looked like it could do with some renovation work and our mosquito net did not provide enough protection as it struggled to cover the whole bed! The decor of the hotel in general was great, very traditional and there is a pool but we did not have time to use it. The location of the hotel is perhaps its best asset - we only had one afternoon and evening in Stone Town but were able to pop back to our room at various points to drop off shopping, use the toilet etc because it was right in the midst of everything else. We were also delighted to be able to get a light breakfast at 5.30am before our airport transfer for our flight home." See all these reviews: 4n in Zanzibar; 3n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Dr M & Mrs C
UK

"Dhow Palace Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Jul 2008
"A good comfortable and well placed hotel. Location is the key; step out onto the main shopping street in the Old Town or take a turn down a side street and into the winding side streets and haggling opportunities.

The hotel has a relaxing pool in which to cool off at the end of the day. You'll get plenty of exercise getting in and out of the Zanzibar beds, and the Turkish style baths add to a greatly eccentric experience. Fine for the couple of night stay we had to experience Stone town and close to everything we wanted to do there.

Also close enough to the airport to get there in plenty of time - in fact too early given a very relaxed attitude to checking in!" See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 7n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Ms S
Sweden

"Convienient Hotel"

2 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2007
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr W & Ms B
London

"Dhnow Palace Overnight"

1 night Arrived 18 Aug 2007
"A very different experience. [Ed: from Fumba Beach Lodge]

I'd suggest Stone Town is a mx of one night / two days as there is not a huge amount to do unless you take the extra trips (eg Spice Tour / Slave Prison etc)" See all these reviews: 7n in Zanzibar; 5n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Con
Spain

"Very central location"

3 nights Arrived 9 Aug 2007
"The location of the hotel is great - very central - with everything on your doostep. Beautiful design. Very nice too to have a pool.

The room was very small but clean. The furniture is inkeeping with the hotel which is lovely but there is nowhere to store clothes - just a couple of hangers. We also thought that it was a bit mean not to provide fresh bottled drinking water each day.

The staff in general were friendly and helpful but our wakeup call was late.

The breakfast is adequate but nothing to write home about. Very nice though to eat up on the roof-top.

Having visited the Tembo Hotel too - but I can't remeber the difference in cost - I think that we would have prefered the Tembo but we didn't see any of the rooms." See all these reviews: 8n in Zanzibar; 5n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Showing 31-38 of 38
79%
38 reviews of Dhow Palace Hotel by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
7
23
7
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zanzibar

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zanzibar.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Other lodges in Stone Town

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Serena Inn

Serena Inn

Now trumped by the nearby Park Hyatt, the Serena Inn, in its historic building, was formerly Stone Town's only international-style hotel.


92% (64 reviews)
Zanzibar Coffee House

Zanzibar Coffee House

The Zanzibar Coffee House is a small quiet hotel tucked away in the back streets of Stone Town, with lovely, simple rooms.


83% (61 reviews)
Zanzibar Palace Hotel

Zanzibar Palace Hotel

The Zanzibar Palace Hotel is a highly regarded boutique hotel with very personal service and just nine rooms, all of them Zanzibari in style.


90% (48 reviews)
Beyt al Salaam

Beyt al Salaam

The Beyt al Salaam is a pleasant, boutique hotel with only six rooms and atmospheric and stylish Zanzibari décor.


82% (44 reviews)
Emerson Spice

Emerson Spice

Emerson Spice is a beautiful small hotel in the heart of Stone Town with individually designed rooms adorned with gorgeous fabrics.


93% (20 reviews)
Jafferji House

Jafferji House

Jafferji House is a converted old house that blends modern facilities with traditional style. The ten, unique rooms are show great attention to detail.


81% (19 reviews)
Kholle House

Kholle House

Kholle House offers an atmospheric Stone Town stay in a historic building, and is very good value for money.


81% (18 reviews)
Swahili House

Swahili House

Swahili House is a traditionally styled boutique hotel furnished to a high standard with a convenient location in the centre of Stone Town.


82% (10 reviews)
Tembo Hotel

Tembo Hotel

The Tembo Hotel is a good-value, family-friendly hotel right on the seafront in Stone Town, with 36 rooms and a good-sized swimming pool.


63% (8 reviews)
Emerson on Hurumzi

Emerson on Hurumzi

Emerson on Hurumzi was Stone Town's first boutique hotel, featuring antique furniture, unique, stylish rooms and a superb rooftop restaurant.


80% (5 reviews)
Mbweni Ruins Hotel

Mbweni Ruins Hotel

Mbweni Ruins Hotel is very convenient if you want to stay on the beach, but very close to Stone Town, or visit Chumbe Island.


92% (5 reviews)
Maru Maru Hotel

Maru Maru Hotel

In the heart of Stone Town, Maru Maru combines contemporary style and creature comforts with a Zanzibari twist.


80% (2 reviews)
Park Hyatt

Park Hyatt

The Park Hyatt Zanzibar is a high-quality example of this group, with excellent facilities and service.


100% (2 reviews)
Kisiwa House

Kisiwa House

Kisiwa's central location in the heart of Stone Town's Shangani area makes it a great base to explore this fascinating town.


No reviews yet
The Seyyida Hotel

Seyyida Hotel

The Seyyida is a characterful old hotel near the seafront in Stone Town, with the rare bonus of a swimming pool.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa