This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs C from Windlesham

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

4

Excursions taken

0

My Oct 2015 trip

Tanzania and 1 other country between 3 Oct 2015 and 18 Oct 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"Thank you Expert Africa for making this trip (to celebrate my 60th) so memorable.

We have had the most wonderful time. Too many highlights to mention.
Fishermans tours are also very reliable, always on time.
It has been worth every penny."

Selous Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp

"LOVE this place !"

5 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2015
"This place is just perfect for us. We visited 9 years ago, loved it & loved it again.

The fact that you cannot see anyone else's tent from your own is a huge bonus. Tents are comfortable, plenty of charging time for cameras etc., lighting available constantly. Fantastic view of river with exciting sights & sounds of bush.

We had our own personal guide (Dennis) throughout our 5 night stay who was AWESOME. He knew so much about the bush, took time to explain it to us, was excellent at tracking & locating game.

We had a lovely warm welcome from Chania, the manager, and also Fausto when she was on leave, both friendly and very helpful.

A fishing trip was arranged for Mike, which he absolutely loved.

Our waiter, Victor, was such a kind man. He patiently was teaching me some Swahili words. On our last night he arranged a private dinner away from the main dining area with our own fire & Masai ! It was very touching.

Also, the surprise sunset champagne on our last day, a really lovely touch.

The Masai who escorted us to and from our tent several times a day, A kind and friendly man.

We loved that every night before dinner, you got to chat with manager/guide about your day, and what you wanted to do tomorrow.

I actually shed tears when I left.

I really hope that nothing changes here."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp

"Improved Greatly"

3 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2015
"I was concerned that it had been taken over by a large company, but it was rather dated when we last visited. Although it doesn't have the personal, homely feel of Impala , it is still an excellent camp.

The manager, Angela is a lovely person, and she works extremely hard to ensure guests have a good time. She is working very hard, within quite clear constraints, to try to improve Rufiji River Camp.

The food is excellent. Every meal was a delight.

The guides we had were all very good. Not quite in the same league as Dennis at Impala, but he is a hard act to follow !

The tent was great. Loved the fact it had a door, easier than all that zipping & unzipping. It could have done with more electricity time as it was very hot and you need to use the fan. Also the one solar lamp is not really adequate for 2 people getting ready in the dark for an early morning drive. The bed was extremely comfortable."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Echo Beach Hotel, Zanzibar (this camp has since closed)

"Do Not Miss !"

4 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2015
"Our first stay here, and I hope it won't be the last.

The location is superb, right on the beach, the accommodation set in lovely gardens. Very comfortable room, superb air con. A lovely veranda complete with bed for al fresco lounging !

But the best thing about this place is Sue & Andrew, the owners. They have worked so hard to make this place an absolute delight.

They are kind, they are beyond helpful. During our stay, another guest lost his passport, and they were doing everything possible (and more) to sort this out. I loved chatting to Sue in the evenings, she has lead such an interesting life. Andrew has the best sense of humour !

The food is beyond excellent, worthy of a Michelin-starred restaurant. The portions are perfectly pitched (I had reached the stage of not being able to face another 3-course meal !). I couldn't get enough of the coffee.

Again, didn't want to leave.

Really hope that they will still be there when we have saved up enough money to go back."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Dhow Palace Hotel

Dhow Palace Hotel

"Quaint & Quirky"

2 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2015
"An old hotel, with lots of atmosphere. It's location is ideal for seeing Stone Town, very near the Post Office and some good shops and cafés.

We were lucky to get an upgrade to a much larger room, which was great. Not much storage space, but fine for a 2-night stay. Loved the mosaic bath, Zanzibar chest, fridge and 3 balconies !

Rather hot at night, despite fan and air-con.

The pool is great after a dusty day sightseeing.

Breakfast buffet good."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team