This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs H from Worthing

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

4

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

0

My August 15th trip

Zambia and 1 other country between 15 Aug 2012 and 31 Aug 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"Excellent. This was a very special trip for us and it all came up to scratch. We wanted small remote camps and theey bothe fitted thee bill, especially Old Mondoro. Mondoro was special because thee guides were so good withe thee exception of thee guide we had once on thee 4the day who really showed how good thee otheer 2 were! Also thee activities were varied and thee walking very good and exciting yet safe.

Claire was very good coping withe my questions and worries and we got upgraded at Kaya Mawa , just as we did when we went to Sands River Selous 3 years ago. So Expert Africa have a certain magic about theem as far as I am concerned. We will use you again when we return to Africa. Kaya Mawa said thee EA staff who came last year were very theorough and wanted to know lots of details.

Thank you for delivering again"

Arranged By Claire Scott


Old Mondoro Bushcamp

Old Mondoro Bushcamp

"Great safari at Old Mondoro"

5 nights Arrived 16 Aug 2012
"Friendly informative managers, Kayla and Justin and.knowledgeable caring guides Levi and Morat really made theis part of our holiday especially memorable. We saw leopard on our first night drive and then again on our 4th night. The game were plentiful and we got really close. The buffalo and elephants were special.

We felt special too as thee service and commitment from all thee staff team was amazing, exemplified in thee way theey all responded when thee tree crashed onto thee kitchen during lunch one day! Everyone worked togetheer to get thee power up and running and food and drinks flowing. There was hardly a hiccup, Kayla apologised at tea time theat thee biscuits were from a packet! After theat thee routine of lovely fresh food and home baked cakes resumed.

The range of activities is a really plus withe boat trips on thee river and canoes up thee Discovery Channel where you felt very close to nature - thee hippos/ crocodiles and especially thee wonderful birds. The drives were excellent withe lots of animals, apart from thee leopards which were magnificent, we loved thee Aardvark and Porcupines at night thee Kudo, Buffalo and Elephant during thee daytime.

The walking was exceptional withe Levi providing a real insight into life in thee bush and thee history of thee region where he was brought up. We saw lots of game and learnt masses about approaching animals and how to be safe. We always walked in a different area of thee park so enjoyed different terrain and animals each time. Truly we have lovely memories of Lower Zambezi

The elephant wandering round thee camp was a real bonus. They got close up and personal so great photos.
At all times we felt very safe and looked after and I really recommend thee camp, its small and friendly and just great."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Tafika

Tafika

"Flying over the park and river"

5 nights Arrived 21 Aug 2012
"We greatly enjoyed our stay at Tafika, the highlight was the flight in the microlight which gave a wonderful view of the camp and Park.
The staff were knowledgeable and fun with excellent food and sundowners.

This camp had more people staying so we were on 2 seperate tables for meals which meant you could get stuck and not so easily meet everyone. Breakfasts by the river went some way to remedy this though

Of the animals we saw, the Crowned Cranes flying in large numbers were stunning, we spent a good half hour watching and taking pictures, lovely to just be
Then the next day we saw wild dogs just as the sun was setting. They had very recently killed and eaten so were larking around and playing with each other, again we just sat and watched, lovely.

My only mild critisism would be that because you had a variety of guides you tended to get simillar stories and occasionally repeated information which was a bit of a shame. Also the walking from the camp tended to be in roughly the same area and we didn't see much game. I believe if we had been walking between camps we would have seen more."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kaya Mawa

Kaya Mawa

"Paradise"

5 nights Arrived 26 Aug 2012
"Kaya Mawa is stunning, the staff are lovely everything was just great and exactly what I had hoped for. The setting is truly beautiful, a crescent bay with the rooms set around it and up and around the granite out crops. Our room was huge with incredible views out over the lake and so private, very comfortable very clean just perfect

The managers were sweet and couldn't do enough for you as were the staff and waiters who would move heavy umbrellas and bring you drinks where and when you wished. The food was excellent and varied and the dinners at tables dotted along the beach by the water was magical and very romantic with lanterns and candles lighting your way.

A lovely end to a wonderful holiday I recommend it especially after a safari and try to go for more nights than you think you need, you won't want to leave, I didn't"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

wonderful holiday

Tanzania and 1 other country between 14 Oct 2010 and 27 Oct 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"Everything went like clockwork. Places were as described or better It really was a perfect holiday.

Impressed how the staff Liz and Claire put up with all the initial date changes and put together aholiday that suited us perfectly Ruaha gave us a wave of wildlife and an authentic experience which was wonderful, Sand Rivers was luxury but stunning experiences and lovely company.

I don't understand why there aren't more people at Kwihala as it was so great I can only encourage you to talk about it more to clients because if we could like it as much only differently as Sand Rivers then I think others would too and there is so much wildlife there and no other jeeps, its a special place, abit more company in the evening would have nade it perfect.

Thank you we will be back to talk about Namibia next year

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Not really it worked for us as it is"

Arranged By Elizabeth Chapman


Kwihala Camp

Kwihala Camp

"Wonderful wildlife and birds at Kwihala Camp"

3 nights Arrived 15 Oct 2010
"The camp.
the camp was excellent, the general area was a huge open tented area with comfortable sofas, tables, books and a drinks table. at one end a large table where meals were taken together with the guide. One evening we had drinks round a camp fire and dinner under the stars.
Food was good, tasty and varied (a bit '80s dinner party/Delia cook book )really fun. plenty of drinks and wine offered, more than required. Breakfast was taken in the bush and delicious- fresh fruit, bacon, muffins, eggs.
The tents were lovely, huge size, comfortable beds and linen and clean comfortable bathroom. very welcome wakeup call of tea, and biscuits provided when asked. lots of bottled water provided in the rooms for drinking and cleaning teeth.

Wildlife.
masses of wildlife, birds throughout the camp and everywhere on the drives.
Animals everywhere, we saw over 40 lions on one morning drive alone and masses of elephant +usual zebra , impala and Dikdik etc
The guide Steve was excellent and very very knowledgable, not just the animals but rhe birds as well, we learnt so much in just 3 days. the holiday started on the drive to the camp when we stopped at a water hole and saw elephant, impala nile monitor and 20 different beautiful birds. the half hour journey took 2 hours as we were given a wonderful introduction to Ruaha National Park.
The suprising thing was there were only 2 other people there, others don't know what they are missing.
Note the morning drives can turn out to be very long but very exciting, one lasted 10 hours when we went after some lions.

The staff
The staff were wonderful from our guide Steve and all the support staff we were made to feel the most important people there, real guests everyone anxious to ensure we had a perfect time which we did. They are hoping to move the camp along a bit to near a granite outcrop and better views of the valley beyond , one side covered in babao trees which would make it even better. We had an early evening walk round the site and watched an elephant group walk past."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Sand Rivers Camp

Sand Rivers Camp

"Luxury and variety at Sand Rivers"

4 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2010
"The camp
Stunning setting by the wide beautiful river. Our room was outstanding, huge comfy bed , fantastic bedroom, sitting area overlooking the vally and river seeing the hippo and crocs below and the birds in your garden. All open sided, but plenty of privacy and protection. You really felt part of the wild. High soaring ceiling with old wooden beams like some ancient open sided barn surrounded by a 7 foot wall at the back. Cool at night , plus efficient fan for days.The public area was right by the river again open sided to the river, comfortable sofa and chairs a generous open, help yourself bar, plenty of places to sit and relax, pretty pool round the corner again by the river.

Food
lovely breakfasts and lunches, dinners a bit disappointing ( meat was a bit tough or tastless, particularly given the heat) but the baking was out standing, delicious cakes, bread and biscuits. As it seems everywhere on Safari the purpose of the cook seemed to be to feed you up when it came to his pastry. lovely.

Wildlife
Not as much as Ruaha, but there is an outstanding variety of ways of seeing it. The river trip in the morning up to the gorge resulted in all the major animal sightings including a baby panther ina narrow cave above the river. hoW the massai guide saw it I cannot imagine it was thrilling. Birds were everywhere, beeeaters, weavers in every colour masses of raptors and loads more on every drive.
Make sure you do the trip to the hot springs. Travel past lovely lakes full of spoonbills and storks, impala and baboons on the shore, hippos and crocs snoozing nearby.
The springs are yours alone to enjoy and the guides go out of their way to help you change discreetly and look after you getting in and out, its a heavenly experience and i would have stayed in the final pool all morning if allowed, it was like a film set.
We went walking which was exciting and learnt masses from our guide Peter who was a joy throughout our stay. We'd discuss what to do at tea each day and again review our time over drinks before dinner.

Company
12 others here most of the time so although on your own during the day( maybe with one other couple) at meal times, especially dinner where you eat all together at various locations by the river there is plenty of chatter and opportunity for socialising with a great mix of people, simillarly fasinated by safari but interesting stories and lives too, a great mix
Could easily have stayed here a week.

Staff
Excellent guides very knowledgable, support lovely and helpful, new managers charming and friendly and clearly respected by the guides.
We had a perfect time and can imagine returning"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Mchanga Beach Lodge, Zanzibar (this camp has since closed)

"Sweet, Friendly Laid back Mchanga"

4 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2010
"lovely airy rooms large comfy beds, clean bathrooms, beautiful colours and touches.
Food was excellent
Service willing
Interesting excursions but we were here to relax so very lazy for our 4 nights.
Pleasant company
Expensive drinks
Seaweed - warned there was some but very heavy so could only swin when tide right up, lovely pool so didn't matter really."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Swahili House

Swahili House

"Elegant Special Swahili House"

1 night Arrived 26 Oct 2010
"Only here for a night but upgraded to suite as few people here. Stunning room with balcony and large bathroom. Huge very comfy bed
Staff. Receptionist was excellent and arranged for our very early start efficiently ordering friut and cakes for breakfast.

Manager was from Fumba standing in for a week had nothing to tell us about the hotel and sent us off in completely the wrong directionfor our wander thr' Stonetown. pity. The assistant manager at dinner appeared to be on his phone all night by the bar. The dinner staff were so laidback you feared they would forget what was happening. However the setting up on the roof was stunning, the drinks delicious and dinner superb. We were very happy with our choice just very aware how spoilt we had been on safari and I suppose it began to ease us back into real world. We were so relaxed by then that we found it all quite funny, maybe if we had been there longer they would have lightened up and been more friendly.Wake up was on time and very helpful and friendly."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team