This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Unguja Lodge
Unguja Lodge
Unguja Lodge
Unguja Lodge
Unguja Lodge
Unguja Lodge
Unguja Lodge

Reviews of Unguja Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

77 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Unguja Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 21-30 of 77
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs G
Herts

"Peaceful stylish retreat in unspoilt Zanzibar"

5 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2014
"A wonderful place to relax . Peaceful, very comfortable, very friendly, lovely wild life touches, just what we needed to unwind.

Swimming with dolphins a must. All snorkel gear could be hired, but it is not a patch on other snorkel/dive destinations we know." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
safari lovers
UK

"Peaceful Relaxing Unguja Lodge"

5 nights Arrived 23 Jul 2014
"We enjoyed 4 very relaxing days here after being in Selous on safari. It is owned and run by the delightful Elise and Ralph who are so welcoming and involved in the day to day running of the lodge. They have a great team who work for them.

There is a dive centre on site which we made good use of - snorkelling , day sailing on a dhow out to a tiny island ( sand spit really !) for lunch and great snorkelling. The visit to the local village was a fascinating insight into real life on Zanzibar ." See all these reviews: 5n in Zanzibar; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs V & Mr H
Greece

"Beautiful bright well cared for and relaxing"

5 nights Arrived 17 Jan 2014
"We wished we had stayed here longer, and come straight from Safari without going to Mafia. Very relaxing and lovely friendly staff. enjoyed the wildlife especially the colombos and blue monkeys sharing our place with us. Watch out in the morning! they steal your tea and biscuits!

Owners very hands on and activities organised from Dive Centre very varied, if not a little pricey. Enjoyed learning to dive with Nick and snorkelling over coral reefs" See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs D
Cumbria

"Unguja Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Nov 2013
"Wonderful location. Excellent for a couple of days to unwind and relax - a long way from anywhere else.

They also had the allergy advice but the waiter was overruled by the chef when he gave him my order for plain chicken skewers and plain rice and served me chicken and green pepper skewers, with rice and mixed peppers served in half a green pepper!!!!!!!! Male owner came across and thought it was funny - when I was a bit upset and annoyed he just laughed and said 'These things happen' , but they shouldn't and needn't have happened. Ellese(?) was most upset the following day and gave assurances that it would not happen again and didn't understand how or why the chef had contradicted or ignored my request for plain/ non-pepper food.

Everything else, including future meals, was lovely and very enjoyable." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 2n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
The D family
Chiswick

"Beautiful location."

6 nights Arrived 27 Oct 2013
"Average is probably a little unfair as we did have a lovely time at Unguja but there were just a few things which spoilt things. The most important being the food. We felt that there might have been more than one chef in charge as the quality was incosistent to say the least. Breakfast was mostly good, although some days eggs were hard and bacon was fatty and undercooked but ok. we did not eat the set 3 course lunch but the a la carte menu was okay. Dinner was the low point of the day and whilst they say 3 choices of main course, it would be chicken in coconut sauce with rice, pork with coconut sauce with rice or vegetables in coconut sauce with rice!

Of the 6 nights there was only one where we thought the main course was good and that was when we asked for the tuna to be rare. It came pretty much medium but every other fish was overcooked and chewy. The tuna ceviche and crab starters were also good. There were one or two nights - the green curry comes to mind which were really not good at all. Desserts poor, starters mixed. Overall disappointing especially as there were not any alternative to dine out for a change.

Elsewhere, the pool area was lovely, would not recommend taking young children there given the main clientel are older or honeymooners. The bandas were fairly basic but grew on us and were functional. The diving/water activity staff were very good and very nice and were great with the children." See all these reviews: 6n in Zanzibar; 5n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Good
Mr M& Ms S
Derby

"Unguja Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2013
"A perfect venue for us after 10 days on safari – a great transition between bush and real world.

Our villa was wonderful. The design was amazing, open to the sea but private too. We loved sitting on our terrace right above the sea, watching the sun set, hearing the waves at night. We also enjoyed relaxing by the pool and taking walks on beach when the tide was out. A real piece of paradise. We were bitten by insects quite a lot despite using repellent but this was a very small price to pay.

All of the staff were very friendly and attentive and we enjoyed some great meals.

The village walk around Kizimkazi with Rashid-Ali was very informative and is well worth doing. We also had a fun trip to the spice farm before going on to Stone Town, where we did the walking tour. Again, this was very enjoyable and gave us a real insight into the history of Stone Town and Zanzibar. We also had a great time on the dhow sunset cruise.

Having so many monkeys in and around the villa was a real treat!

A very relaxing and beautiful location, one we hope to return to soon!" See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The S family
Drayton

"Unguja Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2013
"A bit further from airport than anticipated. It took us over 4 hours to get there from Jongomero, so a tedious journey
Beautiful beach
Dhow trip exciting
kayaks not available, though offered in brochure
Interesting trip to Jozani Forest
wish we'd done the dolphin trip as other guests said that was great
tour of Stone Town (eco Culture) was a bit of a rip-off...we weren't shown much, our change from the drinks was pocketed by the guide, we didn't get the 2 hours there which we had asked for but were rushed away from the shops we were looking at so that the guide could leave early" See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 3n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs C
Fairfield

"Unguja Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2013
"Great place for receiving a personal touch. Loved the way the "rooms" were open and connected to the natural surroundings." See all these reviews: 8n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss P
London

"Unguja"

3 nights Arrived 3 Sep 2013
"The safari aspects of the trip were always more important to me, but I enjoyed Unguja. The rooms and food were excellent, the owners very friendly. I did a few dives with the dive centre which is very conveniently located on site.

The only suggestion I would make is that if someone is using the upstairs sleeping area (as I was), there really needs to be some sort of monkey-proof storage area provided. We were told the monkeys would come in and take small items, even clothes etc so we should just secure all our belongings in the downstairs bedroom. Apparently they can even open zips eg on toiletry bags. But this wasn't a satisfactory solution, especially when I was getting up early to dive and didn't want to be going in and out of the downstairs bedroom disturbing my friend. Even in the bathroom there was nowhere to leave hair brushes, toiletries etc. Surely it would be possible to provide one monkey-proof cupboard or chest in the bathroom and one in the sleeping area? I felt like I was living out of my bag for the whole stay!" See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Aberdeen

"Unguja - lovely spot in which to unwind"

3 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2013
"We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Unguja. Ralph and Elies our hosts were charming and very informative and helpful.

Our sea view villas were very unusual and we really enjoyed watching the black tailed monkeys and red colobus monkeys that visited the trees next to our verandah. We were warned not to leave anything in the outside areas as the monkeys liked to help themselves to iPods, sunglasses and the odd bikini bottom and also were quite happy to go and jump on the outdoor bed upstairs, especially if the mosquito net was up so they could swing on it!

We also did the tour of Kizimkazi with Raschid one of the hotel staff who is an elder of the village and he took us on a two hour walk, giving us a potted history of the village and the life of it's inhabitants, culminating at his home. It was interesting and very humbling.

My husband and I did a snorkel trip one morning with Nick who runs Unguja Divers on site and it was somewhat disappointing as visibility was fairly poor due to some bad weather earlier in the week churning up the sand and also there was quite a strong current that day. We understood that we could snorkel from the beach but Nick had advised us that it wasn't really worth it so he took us out by boat but still fairly close to shore - not really worth the $70 for the trip.

Once again we were celebrating a birthday and our anniversary which happened to be on travel days between locations and kindly acknowledged by our hosts who put a bottle of sparkling wine in a cooler on our terrace! Also enjoyed the fruit platter in our room. FYI, hairdryers available for guest use!" See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 3n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 21-30 of 77
92%
77 reviews of Unguja Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
56
14
6
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zanzibar

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zanzibar.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Other lodges in South-west Zanzibar

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Chumbe Island Lodge

Chumbe Island Lodge

Situated on the tiny Chumbe Island, this lodge is an award-winning example of eco-tourism, with excellent snorkelling.


98% (48 reviews)
Fumba Beach Lodge

Fumba Beach Lodge

Fumba Beach Lodge is stylishly put together, with spacious, luxurious rooms, comfortable communal areas and a fantastic infinity pool.


87% (37 reviews)
The Residence Zanzibar

The Residence

The Residence is a very large resort hotel in south-west Zanzibar. Each villa has its own 8-metre lap pool.


100% (2 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa