This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Unguja Lodge
Unguja Lodge
Unguja Lodge
Unguja Lodge
Unguja Lodge
Unguja Lodge
Unguja Lodge

Reviews of Unguja Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

77 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Unguja Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 11-20 of 77
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs D
Cheltenham

"Unguja Lodge - good birdwatching"

4 nights Arrived 20 Oct 2016
"I had a very enjoyable stay at Unguja Lodge. The grounds were good for watching birds, lizards, elephant shrews, monkeys, a red colobus monkey, and hearing rock hyraxes. I was accompanied on my walks round the grounds to watch birds by one of the security guards, who was a good spotter and charming companion. These included plenty of sparrows, some sunbirds, golden weavers, yellow-rumped tinkerbird, lilac-breasted roller, bulbuls, and a fabulous mangrove kingfisher which dived into the swimming pool and perched on a tree above.

On the beach wading in the pools at low tide were a whimbrel, crab plover, greater sandplovers, dimorphic egrets, sanderlings.

I had two snorkelling trips, one to Nici reef (excellent) and the other to Kizidi reef (good).

I also went on a Spice Tour, which was very interesting and informative." See all these reviews: 9n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Drs
New Jersey

"My now favorite beach resort in the world"

2 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2016
"I picked this resort because of it's small number of rooms and it's proximity to good snorkeling. I am not a diver but enjoy snorkeling. This was a very good choice.

The food was excellent right out of the ocean. The staff was friendly and helpful. The trip to the neighboring village was not to miss as it was extremely educational. We were warned about the monkey's stealth but didn't heed and therefore lost part of our morning snack.

We could watch the dolphins frolic from the resort's chaises while other vacationers had to come by boats from far away resorts. It was just beautiful and peaceful. I did suggest to the management though that they can the Mozart at breakfast and get some Tanzanian music for dinner....or better yet just listen to the waves." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania; 2n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr P
Dubai

"Unguja Lodge review"

7 nights Arrived 15 Aug 2016
"amazing location : nice landscape, well preserved environment
very nice set up
friendly staff
perfect location for a complete and relaxing break
nice dives to see pretty unique macro sea life" See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 7n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mrs C
Cambridge

"TOO BIGGER GAP FROM PREVIOUS ACC."

5 nights Arrived 30 Jun 2016
"A breakdown in communication between you and us, as this is far too bigger drop from previous accommodation.
First impressions - damp smell, especially in luggage room.
Generally tired cushions and soft furnishings.
Garden outside seaview accommodation had not bee cleared and generally around rooms as cut back and left - loads of brown leaves and general tidy up not being done.
New manager, Martien apparently the Dutch couple mentioned again in your hotel information no longer go there- they've gone home to Netherlands, although one son was there as he's schooling in Arusha.
Far too remote, nowhere to walk to apart from a litter strewn village. Although I knew it was quiet, this was far to run down and alone - felt imprisoned. In the time we were there 4 people came for 2 nights - other than that it was empty. Taxi trips everywhere if you wanted trips. I don't think the windy weather helped, as it prevented snorkelling, but even so, we'd have not done that everyday." See all these reviews: 15n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Terrible
Service:
Average
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Poor
Mrs B
London

"Unguja lodge Zanzibar"

5 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2015
"Lovely peaceful and chilled out lodge. The location is stunning with views of the sea and beach. Our villa looked straight onto it. The villa was wonderful. Lots of space outside our room to sit and enjoy the scenery. As we noted in our feedback to Unguja, they could make the actual bedrooms a little more cozy with say rugs, pictures etc. It was a bit bare.

There were nice touches like lending us a beach bag and Khangas to wear.

Staff were friendly and helpful. Sophia was very organised and made sure all her guests were enjoying themselves. The boat and diving team were great too." See all these reviews: 5n in Zanzibar; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
L family
Texas

"A Special Place"

3 nights Arrived 17 Oct 2015
"We found Unguja's location and ambiance to be absolutely charming. Our villa was spacious and accommodated our family very comfortably.

The staff was friendly and always helpful." See all these reviews: 7n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs C
Golden CO

"Absolutely Picturesque"

2 nights Arrived 27 Jun 2015
"Landing at Zanzibar airport, we were driven south past the Jozani Forest, the endemic home to the red colobus monkey, and on to Kizimkazi, a fishing village near the tip of Zanzibar. The driver turned onto a dirt two track road and I could not help but to believe he was lost. Then shortly we pulled up to an unassuming gate and were allowed to pass onto the Unguja Lodge property. A beautiful, giant baobab tree guarded the views as we unloaded from the car, but our jaws dropped as we entered reception. The dining area and bar, a shaded patio lounge, a lovely swimming pool, and well-manicured landscaping were back dropped by the turquoise waters of Menai Bay Conservation Area. Absolutely stunning!

We took full advantage of the water based activities – a sunset sail aboard a dhow, diving in the nearby coral reefs, and snorkeling with the bottlenose dolphin. Some reviews have argued that the snorkelers are stressing the dolphins, but my observations did not support this. The dolphin we observed could easily swim off, which he eventually did, but only after hanging out for 30 minutes playing with a sea snake that he had caught.

The villas at Unguja Lodge are open with great views and well-spaced for privacy. The rooms are unconventional and simple, but a little dark for my taste. We opted to spend our downtime around the pool and the lounge rather than in our villas. The hospitality was wonderful, as was the food." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia; 7n in Tanzania; 6n in Botswana; 3n in Zanzibar; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
E Sussex

"Unguja Lodge review"

5 nights Arrived 27 Feb 2015
"This lodge could be paradise, very difficult to draw a picture but just imagine what you think paradise could be like and it will fit that image. !" See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 7n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Chipstead

"Unguja Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 15 Oct 2014
"Lovely place built on a low coral cliff on the edge of the sea. Deserted sandy beach of the purest white. Thatched cottages scattered around the luxuriant tropical grounds. Swimming pool. Water based activities, which we did not use.

All in all, thoroughly recommended." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs F
Neterlands

"Unguja Lodge Review"

4 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2014
"Unusual design of the individual lodge, comfortable and with excellent views of the sea. Delicious food and extremely willing and helpful staff.
Professional and well organised diving instruction by Nick and his team.

Very interesting village walk with Aziz which we can thoroughly recommend. Unfortunately, we could not visit the ancient mosque because of an unforeseen event." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 8n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 77
92%
77 reviews of Unguja Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
56
14
6
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zanzibar

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zanzibar.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Other lodges in South-west Zanzibar

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Chumbe Island Lodge

Chumbe Island Lodge

Situated on the tiny Chumbe Island, this lodge is an award-winning example of eco-tourism, with excellent snorkelling.


98% (48 reviews)
Fumba Beach Lodge

Fumba Beach Lodge

Fumba Beach Lodge is stylishly put together, with spacious, luxurious rooms, comfortable communal areas and a fantastic infinity pool.


87% (37 reviews)
The Residence Zanzibar

The Residence

The Residence is a very large resort hotel in south-west Zanzibar. Each villa has its own 8-metre lap pool.


100% (2 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa