This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Margaret from St. Albans

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

1

Another wonderful African experience

Zimbabwe between 4 Feb 2020 and 25 Feb 2020

Trip rating: Excellent
"Another wonderful welcome from the people of South Africa and Victoria Falls Zimbabwe. Visiting the township of Chinatimba Victoria Falls on the Sunday at the Anglican Church of the Resurrection where the welcome I received was unforgettable a treasured memory. Thank you to Old Drift Lodge for making this and many other memorable experiences possible and for the incredible care given to me during my stay - you are all very special people. In my view absolutely the ONLY place to stay at Victoria Falls.

Thank you Lucy for going the extra mile to ensure that I fitted in all the things I wanted to do in the right order all of which made for another great trip to South Africa and Victoria Falls and wasn't I lucky that you managed to organise it for the dates I requested because otherwise I wouldn't have got to go again this year!"

Arranged By Lucy Copson


Image alt

Castello Di Monte

"Interesting building"

2 nights Arrived 5 Feb 2020
"Relaxing place to stay with helpful staff who did their best to help organise trips and answer questions. However the tour operator they worked with was not as good as the one I booked last year in advance through Expert Africa and considerably more expensive than the one I booked and took in Johannesburg through the concierge in the Hyde Park hotel (approximately £42 more expensive).

I can't remember exactly how much the half day tour I had last March (2019) was but it was considerably less than I was charged this year. A small point but annoying in a minor way when the staff at Castello asked the tour guide if she had water much to her and my surprise the answer was "No" - so I ended up paying a further 15 R for a bottle of water!

Oddly it is small matters like this which stick in the mind and colour your attitude to the experience offered in a disproportionate way."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Image alt

Rovos Rail; Pretoria to Durban

"Special experience"

2 nights Arrived 7 Feb 2020
"Sadly not such a good experience as last March 2019 when I took the Rovos Rail train to and from Victoria Falls. This was largely due to matters beyond their control - the delayed departure due to the break down of an engine on the main line - and some heavy rain showers at an unfortunate time. However the lack of communication and the presence of the train manager meant that everyone staff and passengers struggled.

On a personal note I felt let down by him and he failed to reassure me (I have Parkinson's Disease) in the way that I felt before when I have travelled with Rovos Rail. The train manager in March 2019 was a magnificent leader for his staff team and was clearly on top of any passengers particular needs - like mine - which he communicated to all his team.

Despite this I really enjoyed this special experience. And I have to say that all the staff despite the obvious lack of leadership were excellent and were all worried and concerned when they became aware of what was required by me."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Oyster Box Hotel

"Amazing location and hotel"

6 nights Arrived 9 Feb 2020
"Brilliant location, attentive, caring and helpful staff without exception. Wonderful location being able to walk out along the promenade by the beach was lovely.

When I arrived there was a bottle of champagne in my room and when I explained that I wasn't able to drink alcohol they arranged to send up a bottle of sparkling non alcoholic wine instead. Now that was an unexpected treat.

There were other small gestures during my six night stay all of which added to a 'special' stay."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Old Drift Lodge

Old Drift Lodge

"Unique in everyway"

6 nights Arrived 15 Feb 2020
"There are no words to adequately describe my wonderful week at this amazing lodge on the edge of the river Zambezi in the National Park near Victoria Falls.

Despite my Parkinson's the entire staff family at Old Drift ensured that I got opportunities to get to experience things I never thought I would have the chance to experience again. A very special place to stay which is why I came back again after my "once in a life time" trip last March 2019! Thank you to you all."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Elephant Encounter

Elephant Encounter

"You should try this"

17 Feb 2020 • Morning excursion

I had a great experience last year and wondered how doing this again would compare.

I needn't have worried as it was another interesting encounter, different and I learnt so much more than I thought I would second time around.

Thanks to Richard and the team of rangers with the group of seven elephants I went walking with - you are doing a great job.
Excellent

My dream trip to Victoria Falls

Zimbabwe between 19 Mar 2019 and 4 Apr 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"Sorry no time and energy left for more at present"

Arranged By Lucy Copson


Image alt

Castello Di Monte

"Fascinating building"

1 night Arrived 20 Mar 2019
"Fascinating building and story of its building and how it became a guest house. Good accommodation and great to have a large fruit plate with an extra banana supplied on request, alongside tray with other goodies and means to make drinks.

Lovely helpful staff who were always ready to assist with any difficulties my Parkinsons presented.

Dinner wasn't very inspiring and the soup was so thick - not what I think of as soup. However, I was not at my best being tired! Breakfast was fine though I would have liked to have had it served outside on the covered terrace rather than in a dark dining room."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Image alt

Rovos Rail: Pretoria to Victoria Falls

"Fantastic journey on luxurious train"

3 nights Arrived 21 Mar 2019
"Every aspect of this trip from start to finish was excellent beginning with a tour of the engine and workshop sheds at Capitol Park station in Pretoria and talk given by founder Rohan Voss through to our arrival into Victoria Falls. They really did not miss out on anything, every little detail covered.

All staff extremely helpful and assistance given with regard to my Parkinson's Disease was much appreciated."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Old Drift Lodge

Old Drift Lodge

"The ONLY place to stay in Victoria Falls"

7 nights Arrived 24 Mar 2019
"There are no words to adequately describe the wonderful week I spent here - I am having severe withdrawal symptoms ! I cannot thank Lucy Copson enough for pointing me towards making the choice to stay there. She said they would look after me and that is the understatement of the year!

All the staff were magnificent and contributed to making my stay a fantastic experience throughout. They make an excellent team led by Brad and Annie who were instrumental in arranging every detail of, not just the wonderful activities but the support and assistance given to me meant that I achieved far, far more than I had ever imagined I would be able to accomplish in the time I was there.

To mention any of the staff by name may detract from the overall contribution given by each and every person who make up the 'family' at Old Drift but I have to mention Presha who, was given the job of looking after me on so many occasions. He was always smiling, great fun to be with, incredibly caring and helpful and never once tried to do anything but encourage me to over come any difficulties which I encountered.

But all the staff were so understanding of the diverse conditions that my Parkinson's Disease can present. They fussed over me and cared for me in a manner that made me feel 'normal' . When I over did things everyone rushed to be of assistance and no one did anything other than encourage me and support me in every way. My dreams for this very special trip were fulfilled beyond my wildest hopes.

My lodge was spacious beautifully appointed and equipped. Spectacular location beside the river - I had only been there 20 minutes and looked up from my unpacking to see a large bull elephant strolling by my plunge pool! I had three excellent massage sessions of one hour and at the end of one of them we had to wait before the lady could depart from the lodge as there were a number of cappacino monkies lined up on the veranda looking in!

I had so many encounters with wild life it is impossible to detail all the game drives and the sun rise and sun set cruises presented wonderful encounters from the hippos to the warthogs and guinea fowl. I spent ages early one morning on the river with Presha observing a goliath heron and other birds. But the elephants were something else and they kept popping across my path all the time - sitting quietly in a stationary vehicle whilst 20 or more slowly and majestically crossed the road in front of you was magical. On one occasion there was a young one about 2 weeks old that held up all the process of getting across the road as it was busy nursing from its mother.

Then there were the majestical giraffes, the plonking impala the statuesque kudo and the intriguing zebra. I heard the lions roaring from my lodge in the night and apparently they had killed a zebra near to one of the lodges but the knowledge of the guides and the security in place never made me feel anxious just well looked after and thrilled to be able to spend time in such an amazing place.

I had a wonderful time at the Elelphant Encounter walking with the elephants and afterwards feeding them. I could hardly believe my good fortune to have such an opportunity - all well thought out and most informative.

The two visits I made to the Falls park were spectacular and thanks to the wheel chair provided by Old Drift I managed all 14 viewing points on both occasions. There are no words to describe being at the Falls from the noise - the mist - the rain forest surroundings - you just have to go there in person!

The only slight negative to my whole week was my helicopter trip and I spoke to Lesley as well as Brad and Annie about this so they could pass it on. The whole thing was very rushed from beginning to end when we were taken to view the video that had been made. As we went in I and two others requested some water which was duly supplied and then when we were waiting to pay for the film two US dollars were demanded in cash for the bottle of water! Seemed extraordinary given the cost of the trip!

Brad and Annie organised a trip across the boarder to Livingston in Zambia and sent Presha with me. Thanks to all their efforts I enjoyed a fascinating five hours tour including a drink at the Royal Livingston hotel where we saw a giraffe and some impalas enjoying the grass and trees on the well watered roundabout on the approach drive ! I would never have coped on my own with this trip and this is a good example of how Old Drift went the extra 'mile' to ensure I got every opportunity to experience all I wanted to do."
Excellent
Image alt

Rovos Rail: Victoria Falls to Pretoria

"Rovos Rail: Victoria Falls to Pretoria review"

3 nights Arrived 31 Mar 2019
"Another excellent trip - please see previous comment. (Sorry time and energy are running out to say much more)"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team