This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by White Rhinos from NL

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

5

Excursions taken

0

My Aug 2008 trip

Tanzania and 1 other country between 2 Aug 2008 and 17 Aug 2008

Trip rating: Good
"We've had a memorable trip, next stop Nambia!!( when we save up!) Such a wonderful country, with it's greatest asset being the people, who were with out exception lovely.

In a way I think it's the small things you remeber most - Baby vervets raiding your room, breakfast at dawn at Mafia airport, the children we met during our visit to Chole, and the time spent wandering through the backstreets of Zanzibar."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Sand Rivers Camp

Sand Rivers Camp

"sands river selous"

2 nights Arrived 3 Aug 2008
"Great location, wonderful room and staff.Saw a leopard, had vervet monkeys in our bedroom and a Elephant eating a bush feet away from our bathroom at 2 am!. Stayed 5 nights, 4 is probably ample to do everything here- top trip here?? trip down the river too the gorge, which is stunning."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Sand Rivers fly-camping

Sand Rivers fly-camping

"Fly camping"

1 night Arrived 5 Aug 2008
"well organised and very comfortable,as usual the staff were great."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Sand Rivers Camp

Sand Rivers Camp

"Sand Rivers Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2008
"as before"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kinasi Lodge

Kinasi Lodge

"Kinasi Lodge review"

7 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2008
"Ok good things about the Lodge, the Dive instructor (Audi ), lovely and great fun, very good with Ben who was learning to dive. The staff here were lovely, friendly and helpful very warm and open ( this was our experience generally of the Tanzanians. The down sides at Kinasi : your brochure does not make it very clear that you cannot really swim from the beach here(a boat trip is required). During our stay the island generator was broken ( not the lodges fault), but the lodges own generator was switched off at 10.30pm -11pm every night plunging us into complete darkness. There are no torches provided in the rooms and we felt uncomfortable about the security at night in the pitch black. When I spoke to the manager he said that the price of diesel to run theiir own generator, had shot up and that he needed to ration generator use. On request, one torch was provided, which the kids were very grateful for, but I felt that the high price of diesel was the Lodges issue, and that turning the lights off on the guests to save money was a little cheapskate. we were told while we were there that someone had been caught climbing over the wall and to watch our belongings, so it was even more disconcerting to be left in the dark at night. The rooms are designed in a way that make them very dark, even in broad day light. The swimming pool was freezing- ! more cost cutting?."
Average
Location
Average
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Poor
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Serena Inn

Serena Inn

"Serena Inn review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Aug 2008
"Wonderful location, loved zanzibar , and sitting by the pool watching the Dhows go by. Food and service in the main Restaurant a bit chaotic at times. Overall though a good experience."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team