This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Miss TL from SW London

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

3

Excursions taken

0

My Nov 2018 trip

Mozambique between 18 Nov 2018 and 25 Nov 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"Very good, thoroughly enjoyed being able to just chill out."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Nuarro Mozambique

Nuarro Mozambique

"Nuarro Lodge review"

7 nights Arrived 18 Nov 2018
"The lodge was in a beautiful setting and very well looked after by the team.

The lodge is 4 hours away from Nampula airport and 2 hours of the drive were on a rough road but this just added to the whole experience of my holiday."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

My Oct 2016 trip

Zanzibar between 12 Oct 2016 and 24 Oct 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"I thoughly enjoyed my trip and would go back to Zanzibar and both hotels again. The trip lived up to my expectations and I found Zanzibar to be a very warm and a welcoming place to be. I just hope that there is not too much large hotel development allowed as this would, in my opinion, spoil the fabric of what is Zanzibar today.

Both the hotels were excellent and very good value for money. The staff were very friendly and helpful and both Russell and Heidi need to be commended on the staff and the service provided.

The guide who was booked for me by Expert Travel to do the walking tour of stone Town was very good, knowledgable and gave a good insight into Zanziabr and it's history.

The taxi driver was the same one who picked up form the airport, drove me to Emerson Spice and to Pongwe Beach and to the airport again. It was lovely it was the same gentleman who was very friendly and keen to show me the island and culture.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

I found Expert Africa to be excellent at what they do. I was provided with all the information I could want and nothing was too much trouble.

My questions were answered in a timely manner and I liked and found the guide book and folder that was provided for holding tickets etc to be very useful.

I would definitely use Expert Africa again and would recommend you as a tour company to other people.

I am thinking of going to Namibia next year and will definitely be in contact with you if I decide to go."

Arranged By Lyndsey Marris


Emerson Spice

Emerson Spice

"Emerson Spice review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2016
"Fantastic boutique hotel in the centre of old Stone Town. Rooms very quirky with good facilities. Food excellent both in the Secret Garden and the Roof top restaurants. I have a shell fish allergy which Lyndesy informed the hotel about and I reiterated it when I arrived.

I would advise travellers to book the restaurants before you go as they are very small and are used by guests outside the hotel. I had trouble accessing the Emerson Spice web site to make a reservation so asked Lyndsey to book for me which she did and then confirmed the booking to me via email.

Well worth going up to the roof top restaurant before dinner to see the sunset. Russell and the team very friendly with nothing too much trouble.

I travelled solo and had no problems.

I didn't use any activities through hotel so cannot comment on that aspect.

Would definitely recommend and would go back to,again."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Pongwe Beach Hotel

Pongwe Beach Hotel

"Pongwe Beach Hotel review"

8 nights Arrived 15 Oct 2016
"This was a real find. It is not a luxorious lodge but this was more than made up for by the staff, the service and the location. It is a very comfortable well positioned.

The lodge was spotlessly clean including the communal areas. The staff were very friendly and helpful and would remember you by name, room number and favourite drink!

The restaurant and bar area had a lovely view of the beach and sea. The choice of food was good and there was plenty of fresh fish, shell fish, fruit and vegetables. The choice of wine was good. I have a shell fish allergy and this was no problem.

You had a flag which you could use on the beach for waiter service. At 4pm the waiters would come round with fresh fruit and tea and coffee was provided free of charge throughout the day.

There are no facilities in the room to make tea or coffee but when you checked in you were asked if you would like it and each morning by 7:30am there would be a vacuum container of hot water, milk, tea (fresh coffee if that is what you preferred) left outside your room for you which was a nice touch.

There was plenty of shade on the beach as well as sun beds. The beach was for the exclusive use of the hotel. When the tide went out you could walk for quite a distance in either direction as well as out towards the reef.

There are also hammocks dotted around the property which was ovley as they were in the shade so,could be used during the day and at night.

I booked an aromatherapy massage and found Sophie to be very good, I had the massage in the bed outside my room which was lovely.

My 2 comments fro,improvement would be:

1. The mattresses on the beds in the room very very firm. I like a firm mattress but found it too hard for me but after a couple of days I did get use to it.
2. The sun bed mattresses some of them were torn so could do with being replaced.

These 2 points are not meant as criticism but just a couple of things worth noting.

I would definitely recommend and would sago back and stay again.

Besides the massage I did not book any activities through the hotel so cannot comment."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team