This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr M from Edinburgh

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

3

Excursions taken

3

My Sep 2007 trip

Tanzania and 1 other country between 22 Sep 2007 and 5 Oct 2007

Trip rating: Excellent
"We enjoyed the trip.

Unfortunately wild dog were not seen at either park, but they appear to have been seen very rarely.

Forgot to say at Impala the laundry was part of the service. Had to pay for it at Mdonya.

Also the camp company are currently absorbing the increases in the park fees for Selous & Ruaha"

Arranged By Claire Scott


Selous Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp

"Great time at Impala"

5 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2007
"The camp is well situated on the banks of the river. Tents on platforms all face the water and are screened from each other. Inside very luxurious bedroom & en suite bathroom.

Meals were of a high standard, of the quality of a hotel in many cases. All meals but 2 evenings were at seperate tables, personally I prefer to dine and discuss the day around the table with fellow guests.

Activities started as we came off the plane at 9:30 with a game drive that lasted till ~ 12:00 when we arrived at the camp. By that time following an overnight flight we were fairly tired.

Game drives were good seeing a lot of animals on each occasion. Drivers & Guides were knowledgable and there seemed to be many vehicles available. we had a half day and full day drive by ourselves. Some of the animals (zebras/wildebeast, were a bit skittish, possibly due to hunting that is ongoing in the south part of the park.

Also available were boat trips down the river seeing many birds and animals coming down to drink. Or an afternoon fishing, with in 15 minutes I hooked a tree, and then 2 tiger fish with a very patient guide. Some guests went on bush walks/fly camping trips and said how much they had enjoyed these."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Mdonya Old River Camp

Mdonya Old River Camp

"Lions/Lions and more Lions"

4 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2007
"~ 2 hour drive from the airstrip at Ruaha main gate. Just as we arrived at the camp we came across a pride of lions on a zebra kill.

The camp is on the edges of an old dried river course where lions, buffalos, monkeys, impalas and even giraffe walked through the camp. The tents are again comfortable, with the showers under the open skies. It is a bit more as I think of safari camps. (the main reason I picked to go to Mdonya).

Meals were taken together with other guests, evening meals were under the stars. (Couples could also have romantic evening meals served outside there tents). Food as good, simple and plentiful.

Activities mainly full or part day drives. Mostly we seemed to drive back toward the main gate before starting to game view, so usually at least the first hour we were travelling the same route. This may have been due to area around the camp being burnt by honey poachers. It certainly meant that the tsetse flies were much in evidence. The drivers & guides were good, finding a variety of game for us to see. There were a lot of prides of lionesses with many cubs, we only saw 2 lions.

The other activity was a 3 hour walk, which I was told meant that they had to pick up an armed game guard at the gate again at least a 1-2 hour drive."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Serena Inn

Serena Inn

""

3 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2007
"Top hotel so had to be good and in the humidity of Zanzibar the air conditioning had to run well. (both were)

Views from the balcony were excellent, but were were in what they said was the best aspected room, which I would agree with.

High quality catering, as would be expected from the hotel group"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Stone Town Discovery Tour

Stone Town Discovery Tour

"Stone Town Discovery Tour"

2 Oct 2007 • Morning excursion

Overall the tour was good, taking us on a walking tour of the streets and markets of the old town. The guide was knowledgable, there was very little hassle from traders. They would invite you in to shop but accepted a smile of declining.

We were unlucky that it rained heavily for half of the time
Good
Jozani Forest Tour

Jozani Forest Tour

"Jozani Forest Tour"

3 Oct 2007 • All-day excursion

Main reason to see the red colobus. Went in conjunction for full day with the spice tour.

Appeared that the local community were receiving some benefit from the visitors. It meant that the forest had been increased in area in recent years.

The monkeys were easily found by the local guide and they are very used to seeing visitors, they just hang about grooming each outhers in the bushes & trees. We wre also taken on a short walk through the forest and then to the mangrove area
Good
Image alt

"Spice tour"

4 Oct 2007 • All-day excursion

Taken to the government owned spice growing area. Shown a variety of spice trees/bushes with an explaination of the uses of the spices. There were a variety of spices and teas to buy.
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team