This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Dr C from London

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

My Jul 2013 trip

Kenya between 11 Jul 2013 and 29 Jul 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"Quite blown away by the beauty of the terrain that we visited, left us curious about other parts.

Felt very well advised by Expert Africa staff. Despiite a brilliantly well laid out website, it was the little comments and recommendations made on the telephone that had directed our choices and as stated in our intital email, we felt we couldn't fail to have the best of times by simplly following your tracks. For us, Kenya has been a very different place in which to travel for, despite a fair amount of experience of living and travelling in Africa.

The one thing that would have been helpful would have been more transparency in the pricing of 'packages'. It all costs a great deal and in deciding how to distribute the budget, it would be useful to know more and make it stretch as far as possible on the more expensive bits. Will affect us considering any future visits - now that we've seen the reality of those roads, we can see the value of flying.

Jessica entered a trip advisor comment on return to discover that the US guests we met at Naibosho, first time in Africa, had gone out with Roelof and seen a leopard with its kill..! She has been on a quest to see a leopard for some tme now, plenty of evidence of their whereabouts but never seen one so she has some unfinished business."

Arranged By Richard Trillo


Image alt

"El Karama Eco Lodge"

0 night Arrived 1 Jan 1900
"."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
El Karama Eco-Lodge

El Karama Eco-Lodge

"El Karama Eco-Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Jul 2013
"Overall outstanding. The site itself is much prettier than I had expected and having the sound of the movement of the stream just below us was wonderful - could have curled up on the verandah with a book for a week or so, just checking out the occasional passers by and the birds. ( In fact a bunch of travel weary Aussies arrived as we were leaving to do just that, had enough excitement on their horse safaris.) Very well appointed accommodation, again, had expected something more modest.

Service/staff: A very good feel, led by the very charming Sophie, all the staff were introduced, jobs specified and there was an atmosphere of mutual respect. People were confident with us, which gave us opportunities to talk to them in broader terms, their own families etc - great. (Set a good tone for the rest of our trip, even where relations may have been less informal, we adopted a similar mode...) All very good.

Food: best we had, not least because they have that veg garden up the farm and have been increasing the veg content of the menu. Jess and I were invited to join Sophie to fetch the vegetable basket, were admiring the fennel, oh you like fennel, out it came and was served at the next meal! Had a lovely 'picnic' (with Michael the chef in attendance in his chefs uniform!) at the riverside Twiga's crossing. And the giraffe came and after hesitation, crossed.

Activities: very happy with the rides and walks we were taken on. Saw lots of game, learnt even more about the combined ranching/game management model, viewed the recent dam extension,met the new cross bred calves. Occasional showers meant sploshing through red puddles - which we loved - and viewing glorious skies. Sophie very good on birds.

Facilities: All delightful, particularly enjoyed browsing through the core books on display in the mess, including mother in law Lavinia's 2 published books about life on the farm. The office/shop/gallery is lovely and pressure will have to be put on Murray before his sculptures, or at least models/pictures of them, are added to the display. (Sophie wants them represented)"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Naboisho Camp

Naboisho Camp

"Naboisho Camp"

3 nights Arrived 15 Jul 2013
"Location fully appreciated after (long) trek over to the Mara N.P., where found the hustle of traffic there quite distracting. Bliss to return to Naboisha, a haven filled with other dramas - zebra galloping through camp, a couple of lion kills, ditto cheetah, elephant every time we left camp. The lion pride of 18 or so, also popped up with regularity. Game viewing heaven.

Rooms- family tent great for us, particularly given the amount of lion activity/noise at night. Embarrassingly luxurious, apparently US visitors check the thread count of the linen. Yikes. But did leave them with the suggestion that could use a reading light in the single room too.

Service - high spec at the camp. Being met with a tray of rolled wet towels on each arrival is probbly luxury to some but could also strike another note. Was relieved to be able to be able break through formality and talk to staff. Assigned guide 21year old Christine was great. Astonishing odds to have overcome to get to be a bronze guide, quite something. Roelof and Helen very careful hosts, learnt an enormous amount from them about the models of game management and community relations. Very generous. Roelof drove us to the landing strip himself, stood at the end of the runway on takeoff, waving farewell!

Food- very good and particularly good at packed meal, although over generous quantities

Activities- gave us a lot of control over how time could be spent, high input from guide in vehicle and extraordinary guiding on foot by Roelof.(Fitted in twice) A highlight,plus gave us all a chance to get to know him better.

Facilities - enjoyed the books, especially one about early part of last century, laying railway, WW1 etc"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

in Nairobi

"Nairobi"

5 nights Arrived 18 Jul 2013
"Sheldrick elephant orphange was most interesting and we learntloads

Kitangela glass, sometimes sign posted as Anselm glass. Wasn't that easy to reach with high clearance jeep like but not 4 wheel drive Toyota, ordinary saloon couldn't have managed. Recent dump of stone not yet leveled. Loved the glassworks.

Only dinner out was at the excellent Haandi, apparently recently refurbished and certainly very smart

Made an overnight excursion to Green Crater Lake Tented Camp, loved the bird calls in the morning, did a guided walk afternoon and morning. A few flamingo but still to arrive. Very good guide, Paul / Kasaena, bronze level and excellent communication. Signs of some refurbishment, paths having stone laid over the old concrete, replanting near the tents, ours had a new loo and basin plumbed in, neighbours did not. Food perfectly adequate"
Excellent
Diani Blue

Diani Blue

"Asha Cottage"

6 nights Arrived 23 Jul 2013
"Location - beautifully landscaped, easy access to local shops, the dinkiest post office etc. Appreciated the shelf keeping a degree of separation from the beach proper. Enjoyed an evening watching daft film at 40 Thieves.

Rooms- stunning. We had the prime spot looking down at the sea.

Service- helpful, quietly confident and friendly which was welcome given we were the only guests for the first 3 or 4 days! Some lovely staff, showed us the stars (Mark the nightwatchman), taught us Swahili phrases (Godffrey the gardener). Gabrielle was in charge whilst John and Dominique were away. Stanley and Laurence always helpful. Eric the taxi driver really lovely, popped in with a CD of his favourite Kenyan music for us to take home after we'd been enjoying what he had on in the car.

Food - great and laid on loads of fish options when we showed enthusiasm for it. Lovley salad lunches.Head Chef was on leave but the doughty Beatrice was well up to the task. Prepared Jess a coconut to try.

Activities - Gabrielle organised Cpt Rama to take us snorkelling on the first day with clear sea, her treat. Also arranged us a day out at Shimba Hills via dmtours (driver Tommy Walker sings his own songs, quite a character) with lunch at the Shimba lodge, fish eagle overviewing us all. Day out in Mombassa, rain storms."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

"review"

0 night Arrived 29 Jul 2013
"x"
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team