This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Sir & Lady B from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

5

Excursions taken

0

Trip to Zimbabwe June 2014

Zimbabwe between 23 Jun 2014 and 7 Jul 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"Everything worked seamlessly.

One problem:

The telephone numbers we were given in Harare to contact the air charter to check flight time were either "no incoming calls answered" or unobtainable. Our cousin knew a private lodge operator in Mana, contacted his business partner in Harare who knew the air charter person whom we contacted. She took our details and in fact contacted the lodge to ask them to convey an earlier flight time to us which they did by sending a vehicle to find us and tell us."

Camp Hwange

Camp Hwange

"Camp Hwange review"

5 nights Arrived 30 Jun 2014
"We had an excellent time at Camp Hwange and were impressed by the standard of Walking Guiding having ecperience this in other countries where it was good but not as good as this."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

"ilala lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Jul 2014
"The location (within easy walking distance of the Falls) and experience (good check in, tourism assistance, excellent breakfast) at Ilala suited us perfectly.

The lodge struck exactly the right note for us and we were very satisfied with it"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

A trip of a lifetime

Tanzania between 15 Sep 2013 and 25 Sep 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"The trip was executed exactly as planned, with no hitches or delays so that we had nothing to worry about as the days went by.

It was extremely well organised and we enjoyed it immensely"

Arranged By Elizabeth Chapman


Selous Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp

"Selous Impala Camp on foot, river boat or veh"

4 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2013
"The high professionalism of the staff & the ability to cater to all our needs made our stay in this camp first class. All the staff made every effort to make us feel special.

Our guide Dennis & our waiter David adapted themselves to our wildlife special interests and mealtime needs. Barbara and her camp managers organize the camp superbly in a very subtle way.

The camp strikes a balance between over luxurious and basic bush camp in a harmonious way."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mdonya Old River Camp

Mdonya Old River Camp

"Mdonya Old River Camp; a flavor of the past"

3 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2013
"This camp is located in the heart of the bush, has an open aspect which enables you to watch animals from your open tent deck. It has the feel of a bush camp from times past, but with modern touches: solar panel hot water, electric fan, flush toilet and battery charging in the office. The food is excellent, all seated together at a long table. The camp is a pleasure to experience.

The best game drives are up to 2 hours away along the Ruaha River when you are out all day with lunch provided. This may well happen immediately after arrival at the airport, which is in the same location. If this happens you may get back to the camp on your first day as darkness falls, making it difficult to settle in, lit by hurricane lamp, candles and torch, like the good old days. We were not fully informed at the outset about this plan, which gradually emerged, giving us little choice. This camp is in a National Park, so no bush walks allowed.

Our guide Fadhili and driver Ayubu were absolutely excellent, enabling us to enjoy every aspect of the environment especially our interest in birds. Nothing was too much trouble for them."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Ras Kutani

Ras Kutani

"Ras Kutani: perfect paradise"

2 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2013
"This gorgeous place situated along the beach front, next to a fresh water lagoon separated from the ocean by a sand bar, is just the place to relax and refresh after days in the bush.

The decor is most attractive, the food and facilities excellent, and we found it the perfect paradise. The service is friendly and first class, and the manager and assistants delightful."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team