This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Miss C & Mr R from London

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

4

Excursions taken

0

Seychelles Dec 2020

Seychelles between 20 Dec 2020 and 24 Dec 2020

Trip rating: Excellent
"Chris and Megan brilliant as ever."

Arranged By Megan Green


Coco de Mer Hotel

Coco de Mer Hotel

"Beach escape at Coco de Mer, Seychelles "

4 nights Arrived 20 Dec 2020
"We loved our four nights here. We'd stayed before and were excited to return -- and this time, they had a new jetty with a pool. Usually I don't swim in a pool when there's a beach a few metres away, especially somewhere like the Seychelles... but this new jetty/pool is a very welcome addition because although the beach is nice (golden sand, warm water), it's not good for swimming (very shallow with soft weed immediately offshore). So we spent lots of time out there... on the deck, in the pool, swimming off the wooden staircase into the sea, snorkelling with the friendly batfish.

Facilities good... more watersports available now and we paddle-boarded and kayaked around the coast. Watersports staff were not so friendly though.

Rooms work v well for families... and they generously allowed us to have our three little kids in one room with us, instead of paying for two rooms. Housekeeping were great.

We were on half-board and it was a fixed menu at dinner. We found that too long (multiple courses) and the food too fussy, especially with kids in tow. Quite gastro, but didn't quite hit the mark. Breakfast was v good though, as was the a la carte lunch.

We planned an excursion (to the little island of La Digue by ferry) in the middle of the stay, which was wonderful and highly recommended. If we hadn't had that trip breaking up the stay, I think we would have wanted a car to explore Praslin. There's not a lot going on, but that might be just what you're looking for!!

Front of house so helpful and welcoming -- special mention to Ash and Alexandre... thank you!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Brilliantly organised -- and a joyful holiday

Seychelles between 2 Jan 2015 and 16 Jan 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"Megan Ingoldby organised this trip so well -- thank you! -- and she and Chris made three excellent suggestions for places to stay in the Seychelles.


We loved having a car on Praslin -- and explored different beaches and the interior every day. And yet we loved not having a car on Mahe at the tail end of our trip -- so we could just flop. That said, it means we'll have to go back and explore Mahe some time!!

Thank you team Expert Africa.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Try as I might, I struggle to think of anything!

Perhaps a 'don't miss' note for each hotel? Perhaps that's too much work?… e.g. When in Coco de Mer, don't miss doing some paddle boarding, visiting Anse Georgette (the hotel has a relationship with the Hotel Constance Lemuria which means you can access their beach), visiting the Vallee de Mai, etc.

That's me digging deep… it was so well organised with some excellent accommodation choices on your part, and v good logistics linking it all together. THANK YOU! Chris, Megan and the team."

Arranged By Megan Green


Coco de Mer Hotel

Coco de Mer Hotel

"Beautiful view from our room"

4 nights Arrived 3 Jan 2015
"The GM Arturo could not have offered us a warmer welcome… and everything functioned like clockwork. Delicious food; kitchen could not be faulted.

Loved the beach… lapping waves, little lagoons, especially good for small kids. Adults can swim off the jetty to avoid the heavy seaweed in the shore area. Loved the paddle-boarding (thank you Joseph at watersports!)"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Les Villas D'Or, Seychelles (this camp has since closed)

"Lovely expansive self-catering villa"

4 nights Arrived 7 Jan 2015
"We loved our villa… and the walk through a tunnel of foliage on to Cote d'Or beach. Cecile at reception could not have been sweeter… thank you!

On the other hand, Pierre, the other receptionist was the lowlight of the trip. He was very reluctant to help fix our air conditioning (although it did get sorted in the end). Also, he said he was organising a Creole dinner for some of the villas… and if we wanted to join in. It was 40 euros for a mediocre takeaway that he brought in a sports bag. He then wasted our time trying to make sure he had the correct number of plates back and wanted to pick everything up that night before we had finished eating, etc. All very disappointing.

But the place is lovely… with wonderful gardens and on a great beach."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Clef des Iles, Seychelles (this camp has since closed)

"A gem find in Beauvallon"

4 nights Arrived 11 Jan 2015
"Adored this place… the rooms are a joy, the view of the baech astounding, the owners so welcoming.

Plus, fresh fruit platters every morning (even though we were self-catering). A favourite find!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team