This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by P&K from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

0

The first of many?

Namibia between 1 Apr 2016 and 17 Apr 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"Brilliant trip - thanks for organising it.

Great country - just the right mix of driving (1500 miles in two weeks) and walking. Sights, sounds and smells all fantastic, deserts, mountains, animals.

Fabulously warm and welcoming a real joy in lots of the people we met (thinking locals rather than tourists - though the tourists all looked pretty happy too).

Long may it continue."

Arranged By Elizabeth Chapman


Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

"Elegant Guest House"

1 night Arrived 2 Apr 2016
"Welcoming, easily found and a great first taste of Namibia.

Rooms comfortable, breakfast great atmosphere nice and helpful staff."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

"Zebra River Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 3 Apr 2016
"This place was a treat. We had it all to ourselves which was a bonus! Friendly staff, good food, interesting, quirky and huge room. The setting is magnificent. We walked up into the gorges and the hills beyond early in the morning on the trail of the skittish zebra, watched by curious klipspringers. Peaceful, beautiful and fascinating.

Back at base the pool was good - if cold! Jobe took good care of us and Jeanette, sitting in for the owner was great too.

Headed up for sunset looking over the valley - amazing light, the odd zebra in the distance and hard to beat."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Kulala"

2 nights Arrived 5 Apr 2016
"So off to the desert - what a treat. Atmospheric setting - not quite at the base of the dunes but out in the desert, overlooking a river bed and water hole with shimmering red dunes behind. Sleeping on the roof was a highlight - as was the evening talk on the stars - which have to be seen to be believed.

Into the dunes in the morning - another early start - weird, wonderful, windy! The sand and dust blowing around only added to the mystery. Dead Vlei was amazing - the sand road further in was like driving through fog.

Don't miss the cakes at afternoon tea...."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Desert Breeze Lodge

Desert Breeze Lodge

"Desert Breeze"

2 nights Arrived 7 Apr 2016
"What a place! Hard to think we'd top the previous ones but the buildings are quirky and the views through the huge windows over the sand dunes are hard to believe - it's like a huge widescreen TV that shows irresistible sunsets and a bit later amazing sunrises.

Swakop a nice break from driving - and we had sunny weather.

Desert Breeze is no longer really separate from town as town spreads to gather it up - but it feels unworldy and hardly affected."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

"Damaraland"

2 nights Arrived 9 Apr 2016
"Ten plus km up a rocky track to get there from the road - after the most amazing drive up the skeleton coast. Somehow better rooms than anything so far - with views to die for - different again. A sung welcome, the evening menu in click language - you have to hear it and dancing/singing too - and it is really clear no one is being coerced to do it - warms the heart honestly.

Out with Richard to see the elephants - out of Africa breakfast and the loo with a view hard to beat and on to the rock carvings. Pool very welcome for a bit of rest and relaxation."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Anderssons Camp, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Anderssons Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Apr 2016
"Anderssons is set in the Ongava reserve just outside Etosha (drive right up to the park gate and turn left).

We were kept awake by bellowing lions - so felt more comfortable having the electric fence (though on your balcony you're outside that - I don't think the lions knew). We were mesmerised by the black rhino drinking at the waterhole - unlike the South African blokes who carried on drinking their beers and looking the other way - I guess it just gets to be routine.

The hide is amazing - you watch spellbound within feet of animals at the hole."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Mushara Bush Camp"

2 nights Arrived 13 Apr 2016
"Another fine place - great main hall area open plan and nice.

If there was a criticism it was the food being a bit over complicated.

Sitting quietly by the room watching the dik diks come around in the morning, followed by playful ground squirrels was a treat."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo"

2 nights Arrived 15 Apr 2016
"What a place to finish up. Amazing eerie mountains - granite lumps rising out of the bush.

Great drive up - too steep for the car in first gear - the one and only time we needed low range. Great rooms, fantastic views, the sunset over the mountains was hard to beat. Good food, lots to see and rock hyrax a constant background."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team