This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs S from Vienna

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

4

Excursions taken

0

Zanzibar trip 2017

Zanzibar between 13 Jul 2017 and 21 Jul 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"it turned out to be a very good choice to come to Zanzibar and stay at Qambani and the Hyatt. Everything worked out very well, we loved it!"

Arranged By Lyndsey Marris


Qambani

Qambani

"the best"

6 nights Arrived 13 Jul 2017
"Qambani is really a wonderful place. It is a beautiful, stylish place with wonderful staff and great food."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Park Hyatt

Park Hyatt

"top location"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jul 2017
"the hotel is a very new, beautiful place in really stunning location right at the beach. In the morning You can watch people making morning sports, fisherman landing etc. Also the restaurant is very good."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Wonderful trip

Tanzania between 7 Aug 2016 and 14 Aug 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"Our trip in Africa was great."

Kimondo Camp

Kimondo Camp

"more than 10 river crossings in 4 days"

4 nights Arrived 7 Aug 2016
"We stayed in Kimondo for 4 nights. It was fabulous - the staff is friendly, food very good and - most important - we saw a lot of river crossings !! The location of the camp is quite close to the Mara river, allthough You can't actually see the river from the tent. There were huge herds of wildebeest around the camp every day, so You sit right in the middle of them. During the night we heard them eating (they were 1 meter from our tent)!

As You usually share a safari vehicle with other guests it seems to be important to make clear what You would like to see. We had a group in our car that where on safari for the first time - so they expected to go for lions, cheetah, rhino etc. Of course You can see these animals here, but that is usually not what You came for. If You go for these animals, You will be driving away from the river. But there is only one place in the word where You can see the migration of wildebeest and the dramatic river crossings! As there was an other couple from US in our car sharing our point of view, it was easy to "persuade" the others (especially as they didn't really know what to expect because they booked last minute). So in the end in our car everybody was very happy."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
The Highlands

The Highlands

"Fabulous modern lodge"

3 nights Arrived 11 Aug 2016
"First: There is a long, long drive from the Manyara airstrip to the camp (3 hours - most of them sand roads). But, it is also very beautiful as You see the jungle around, You can look into the Ngorongoro Crater and You drive trough the Masai Highland, which is impressive.

The Lodge looks very futuristic but beautiful. When You walk to Your tent, You pass a lot of wild flowers and birds. Each tent has a magnificent view (You have Your own small veranda), it is very clean, a huge bed with lots of cosy blankets (You will need them) and a fireplace, so the tent is nice and warm once You return from dinner. There are large showers (for two!) and also two beds upstairs, which we didn't need. There is somehow a chalet-atmosphere in the tent.

To get to the Ngorongoro Crater ground it will take about 45 minutes from the lodge. There are no cars waiting at the entry point as almost everybody uses the other entrance. It is good to get there really early, the Crater gets very busy during the day and there is really a lot of dust.

We also did the Empakai Carter Walk - which we found was the highlight of our stay in the lodge. There is a one hour drive to the Crater - then You hike down (45 minutes) accompanied By Your guide and a ranger, it is sometimes a little steep but You see lots of flowers and You have magnificent views. On the Crater ground is a lake with flamingos. Hiking up take about an hour or longer if needed. It is not really hard but we felt the altitude (the Carter rim is on 3000 m).

The last day we visited a Masai Boma very close to the lodge which was extremely impressing as well, so we would strongly recommend this as well."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team