This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Hornbills from St. Albans

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

5

Excursions taken

0

My Jul 2008 trip

Tanzania and 1 other country between 26 Jul 2008 and 10 Aug 2008

Trip rating: Excellent
"An excelent trip.

Suggestions for improvement:

I found Expert Africa's assistance really useful in planning the trip."

Mbalageti Lodge

Mbalageti Lodge

"Mbalageti Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 27 Jul 2008
"This was a great lodge and the rooms had a bath which was really welcomed by all of the females - wife and two daughters. This was the only lodge that had a bath. The food here was very nice.

You have asked about the loocation of the lodge - I think that this was good but depends on the time of year. The migration was finished at the time of our trip (August) which was a bit disappointing but there was still plenty to see."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Gibb's Farm

Gibb's Farm

"Gibb's Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Jul 2008
"When scoring a lodge it is necessary to compare it to the others we stayed at and Gibbs Farm was the worst. The rooms were very basic and freezing at night.

In fairness, the owner said that ours was one of the rooms that they were intending to demolish in the Autum - presumably to errect something better. It was also an hour or so (perhaps a bit less) from the Ngorongoro crater which was further than I had hoped."
Poor
Location
Average
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Poor
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Image alt

E Unoto Retreat, Tanzania (this camp has since closed)

"E Unoto Retreat review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Aug 2008
"This was a great place to stay in a lovely scenic location.

We didn't really use it as a Safari base so can't comment on its location for this purpose but it was luxurious and the trip to the Masai village was really enlightening. Isaac, our personal assistant during the stay, was great."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Fairmont Zanzibar, Zanzibar (this camp has since closed)

"Fairmont Hotel"

3 nights Arrived 3 Aug 2008
"Facilities were really good but no bath - the ony disappointment.

The climate was hot quite what I had hoped - wind and cool in the evenings (even some rain) - we were there from 3-6 August."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Fumba Beach Lodge

Fumba Beach Lodge

"Fumba Beach Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2008
"Fumba is natural and basic. The room design is really good and blends in with the environment but the bedding could have been better. It would have been nice to have had a quilt instead of the basic blankets.

Children didn't like the lack of a television but I quite apprectiated that fact. the food was a bit limited and not really to everyone's taste. Climate was much better than at The Fairmont."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Average

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team