This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr RT from Sutton

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

0

Kenya - Jan 2020

Kenya between 17 Jan 2020 and 3 Feb 2020

Trip rating: Excellent
"A great trip; truly a holiday of a lifetime!"

Arranged By Lyndsey Marris


Four Points by Sheraton

Four Points by Sheraton

"Overnight stay at Four Points Sheraton"

1 night Arrived 17 Jan 2020
"Very convenient, only 5 minutes from the terminal. We enjoyed drinks at the roof top bar on arrival and a good breakfast the following morning. Service was very good, and the rooms were clean and modern.

We returned at the end of the holiday, when we had a few hours to wait before our flight home, and enjoyed drinks and dinner."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
El Karama Eco-Lodge

El Karama Eco-Lodge

"Fabulous stay at El Karama"

4 nights Arrived 18 Jan 2020
"Four great nights at El Karama, a fabulous way to start our holiday in Kenya. The wildlife was good (though obviously not as prolific as we saw later at Masai Mara); we were fortunate to see the local lions and cheetah and a huge herd of buffalo charging across our path at night. Lovely to see Grevy's zebra and also several gerenuk, which I hadn't come across before. Our guide, Robinson, was excellent; quietly spoken, but knowledgeable and informative.

But a trip to El Karama is so much more than just the wildlife! Everything about the place has been put together thoughtfully. We stayed in a river cottage, which was certainly one of the most memorable hotel rooms that I have stayed in. The food was exceptional, not least the lunchtime salads which were so perfectly dressed with mint and dill. My dietary requirements were perfectly catered for.

The owner, Sophie, came round a few times to tell us about the place. A big highlight was the fly camping in a bell tent with a lovely bush dinner and drinks at the camp fire; Robinson ensured that we didn't run out of wine! The quality of service was exceptional throughout the stay."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Porini Mara Camp

Porini Mara Camp

"Great safari at Porini Mara camp"

4 nights Arrived 22 Jan 2020
"We asked for a tented camp with great wildlife and not too many visitors, and Porini Mara delivered all round.

The camp is perfectly located by a river in one of the Mara conservancies and aims to be low impact and supporting of the local community. The tents are comfortable; be sure to keep the front well zipped to avoid invasion from local monkeys! The "bucket" showers are good with plenty of hot water. The food was good too, and my dietary requirements were well taken care off.

But this camp is all about the game drives and the volume and variety of game was excellent. The camp was busy, mainly with USA visitors, and we shared a vehicle with a lovely young couple. Right from the start we were regularly seeing multiple lions and cheetahs, and saw both make kills! We would see large groups of both, including two families of cheetahs resting together, 7 in total, which the guides said was unprecedented. Plenty of other animals too, incl. elephants and hippos.

Many thanks to our driver / guide Stanley, who gave excellent service incl. taking photos for us if we were too engrossed in the action."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Mnarani Club

Mnarani Club

"Sailing at Mnarani Club"

7 nights Arrived 26 Jan 2020
"We very much enjoyed our week at Mnarani Club. The hotel was fairly quiet when we visited, mainly UK and local guests. We had an upstairs Creek room with great views. The pool is fabulous. Dinner was generally a buffet, though they switched to a menu service at the end of our stay. Breakfasts were very good.

We spent most of the week learning to sail down at the beach. The set up there is attached to but separate from the hotel; the staff and facilities are excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

We managed to get out of the hotel a few times, to local restaurants and the local village."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Southern Tanzania - January 2018

Tanzania between 13 Jan 2018 and 29 Jan 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"A great trip, literally the holiday of a lifetime.

The itinerary was well thought through and met our budget. There was little I would change."

Arranged By Lyndsey Marris


Lake Manze Adventure Camp

Lake Manze Adventure Camp

"Lake Manze - January 2018"

3 nights Arrived 14 Jan 2018
"Good location, with great game viewing close at hand. The camp is good; tents are simple and comfortable, communal areas very good; all very well hosted by Shaun and Millie. Food was good, and they catered well for my specialised requirements. Very good value. With hindsight I wish I had stayed for 4 nights rather than 3.

January was quite wet, and some of the vehicles struggled in muddy conditions. I suspect that they could do with a little more investment. Boat safaris are good, with excellent bird life.

The local airstrip can't be used in very wet conditions and the road in can be blocked, necessitating a transfer by small boat, which can feel uncomfortable."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Selous Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp

"Selous Impala camp - January 2018"

4 nights Arrived 17 Jan 2018
"Very comfortable camp, with high standards of service both in the camp and on the game drives. The food was of a very high standard, and the camp go to some trouble to present it well. A littler more expensive than other camps we stayed in, with a noticeable difference in quality. Staff were a more formal with the guests compared to other camps.

Game drives are good, though in the wet season it can be a challenge to find the wildlife. The guides will travel some distance from the camp to find the game, but are sometimes restricted where roads are cut by seasonal rivers.

The vehicles are excellent, as is the quality of the driving. Game drives are half day, which makes the day more relaxing. Boat safaris are good.

Pool is good for an afternoon break."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Mdonya Old River Camp

Mdonya Old River Camp

"Mdonya Old River - January 2018"

4 nights Arrived 21 Jan 2018
"A lovely camp in a very good national park.

Good service, good food, comfortable tents, and the game drives were exceptional. All day drives with lunch stops at picnic areas.

Very good bird life as well as all the regular game.

Some opportunity for a short walk."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Ras Kutani

Ras Kutani

"Ras Kutani - January 2018"

3 nights Arrived 25 Jan 2018
"A lovely spot, right on the Indian Ocean. Fabulous service, great food, a great spot to relax.

The rooms are exceptional, huge beds, lovely bathrooms.

We had a great time and I hope to return one day."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team