This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs Dolphin from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

Selous and Zanzibar

Tanzania and 1 other country between 2 Aug 2008 and 17 Aug 2008

Trip rating: Excellent
"Good balance of safari and beach. Ras Kutani was stunning and safari was amazing and an adventure though not very relaxing."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Ras Kutani

Ras Kutani

"Ras Kutani"

3 nights Arrived 3 Aug 2008
"Ras Kutani was a perfect way to start our honeymoon. The accomodation was stunning with well positioned bungalows so they were really private and blended with the environment. The service was excellent and all staff were helpful and friendly. Attention to detail such as food allergies was very impressive. The food was very good and we had the most wonderful experience of dinner on the beach on our last night. The beach is beautiful though the sea is not as warm as we expected. There is not much to do but that was fine with us as we just wanted to relax. It was very interesting to visit to the village and see the school and I hope the money we gave in donation does go some way in making a positive difference though i hope it doesn't become a tourist attraction."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Lake Manze Adventure Camp

Lake Manze Adventure Camp

"Lake Manze Camp"

2 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2008
"A real safari experience. Guides were excellent and mostly spoke good english and were very informative. Good balance of activities but if you are staying for a while what you see does get a bit repetitive although we understand this the nature of safaris.The activities were very well organised in maximum of 4 people per group (but this could have been 6) which was great. For those wanting to do long safaris we would recommend splitting time between camps as 4 nights was long enough for us. We did see leopard which was a real highlight. Fly camping from Selous Impala was excellent with a fantastic guide, back to nature experience, no sleep.. but really worth it.

It is amazing to see animals close up but on a couple of occasions we felt the guides went too close and we ended up being charged by a hippo! Richard and Malcolm (who were the managers that week) kept reassuring everyone that the elephants in the camp were friendly but they can get very very close which can be unnerving.

It was communal dining, which was nice for us to share stories with other guests, but for some this may not be ideal."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Selous Impala fly-camp

Selous Impala fly-camp

"Selous Impala Fly Camp"

1 night Arrived 8 Aug 2008
"Excellent guide, good basic camp but with long drop toilet and bucket shower. It was lovely location on edge of a another large lake and we watched sunset before having a really nice meal.

From the short time we are at the Implala camp we were very impressed with the facilities, location and staff and the lunch we had was excellent."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Lake Manze Adventure Camp

Lake Manze Adventure Camp

"Lake Manze Tented Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Aug 2008
"See previous comments"
Good
Image alt

Echo Beach Hotel, Zanzibar (this camp has since closed)

"Echo Beach"

5 nights Arrived 11 Aug 2008
"Beautiful setting, amazing empty white powder sand beach. Really nice resort, very tasetful and well layed out. We were in a brand new honeymoon bugalow which although was nice, had a few teething problems and had only been finished the day before. For example one problem was having no curtains on the windows which was not very private.

The food was ok though not of the standard we were expecting after the initial reviews. There was limited choice at breakfast and the menu was almost the same every few days. I had to send food back when it wasn't cooked and there was very little help with understanding my food allergy. Drinks were reasonably priced but food was a little expensive for what it was. In general the staff were friendly and helpful, although their english was quite limited. They seemed to be recieving little help or supervision and were always blamed for mistakes. This leads to our main concern with Echo Beach.

We were very unimpressed with the management and organisation at Echo Beach. When we arrived we were met by Lissa (?) who seemed to be a friend of Sue and Andrews but she didn't expalin what her role was. Sue was friendly and approachable but there seemed to be various problems with electricity, builders, court cases etc which meant she seemed quite distracted and stressed and openly admitted booking errors and problems with staff which didn't fill us with confidence. Andrew was unfriendly, sarcastic and if we approached him with a problem or issue he was very unhelpful, passed it in to Sue and would then just walk off. I had two pairs of shoes stolen from outside the bungalow. We had perhaps become a bit blaze as in previous resorts we had been told security was not an issue at all. This problem was not handled very well.

Echo beach has so so much potential and really is a stunning resort but needs to decide whether it is a 5* resort as it is claming or a more laid back, chilled out beach shack type place. Again, we did not think it gave a high class impression with the mamagers standing by the bar drinknig and chain smoking. We would recommend it as a nice holiday resort but for us and other honeymooners we spoke to we expected that little but more when it was our holiday of a lifetime.

We did diving at Breezes which was excellent both in staff amd equpiment and although the visibility was not as good as we had imaginged it was good diving. We organised a sunset dhow and swimming with dolphins through Sue and a local taxi driver. They were both very good but In hindsight although we were advised that he (Dini) was much cheaper than Fisherman Tours we are now concerned that the money was mainly going to him and not the locals who took us out. We booked a spice tour through Fisherman Tours which was excellent. We weren't expecting much but it was really interesting, the guide was excellent and a real character who had an excellent rapport with the locals. The young man who was accompanying us and gathering all the leaves and spices etc took us to his house which was a very humbling experience. So on reflection we perhaps should have booked all the trips through them although it does seem a long way for them to some from Stonetown."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Zanzibar Coffee House

Zanzibar Coffee House

"Zanzibar coffee house"

1 night Arrived 16 Aug 2008
"Lovely hotel with great rooms and service. We were given a specailly made welcome honeymoon cake which was a lovely touch! We only stayed one night and had a very early morning start but they organised sandwiches and cake for us. Transfer to and from the hotel was very good and punctual."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team