This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs H from Banbury

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

fantastic experience

Zambia and 1 other country between 16 Sep 2009 and 1 Oct 2009

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a fabulous holiday, and the experience was definitely enhanced by your arrangements, particularly the excellent choices/recommendations that you made regarding accommodation - all our hotels were in superb locations that enabled us to see or access the main attractions with great ease."

Arranged By Lucy Copson


Avani Victoria Falls

Avani Victoria Falls

"great views"

2 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2009
"Fabulous location, being only a few minutes walk from the Falls. The service, food and facilities were all very good.

We took a trip to Livingstone Island, arranged through the Activity Centre - that was spectacular and guide was great.

We were at Falls when water level was quite low but they were still magnificent and we were able to get much closer to them at this time of year."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Chobe Safari Lodge, Chobe National Park

"unforgettable elephants, giraffes and hippos"

3 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2009
"The food and service were adequate, not overwhelming. However, the game drives and boat trips were fantastic, and that's what we were there for.

We'll never forget the sight of elephants swimming the Chobe river, or seeing a herd of 6 giraffe, or the group of hippos wallowing in the shallows. The private boat hire was very exciting; that's as close as I ever expect (or want) to be to a crocodile - about 3 feet! It was hit and miss - on one of the game drives, we saw very few animals, despite really hard work by our guide. However, as we had 5 activities in total over 3 days, there were plenty of other opportunities for viewing. (I forgot binoculars on first trip - don't do that!)

For experienced game viewers, this might be too regimented, but we'd never been on such a trip before and we were thrilled to bits with what we saw."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Image alt

The Beach Hotel, Port Elizabeth

"passing through"

1 night Arrived 21 Sep 2009
"We were only there for one night's sleep and a breakfast. Easy to reach from airport and easy to drive out of town from there."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Image alt

Periwinkle Lodge, Plettenberg Bay

"watching whales at breakfast"

3 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2009
"This must be in the top 10 of the most beautiful places on the planet. Guesthouse was extremely comfortable and staff were very helpful and friendly. We had breakfast on the balcony and two mornings out of three saw whales swimming in the bay right in front of us. Robberg Peninsula is breathtaking.

The two hour walk is gruelling (and we are quite experienced walkers) but well worth the effort. Need to be prepared for scrambling over boulders on all fours though, and this isn't apparent from literature at entrance to park. The only jarring note was the emphasis on security - guards and notices regarding armed response. This was our first experience of a South African town and that aspect felt uncomfortable.

We went to nearby Monkeyland, fearing that it might feel like a zoo, but it's anything but and we were very impressed at the work they do there."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Auberge Burgundy

Auberge Burgundy

".... and more whales"

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2009
"We were here during the Whale Festival so loads of signs up inviting you to "have a whale of a time". Totally different experience to Plettenberg Bay - town centre felt much more compact, packed with people due to the festival, atomosphere reminiscent of a British seaside town in some ways. Good fun - we really enjoyed it. Numerous whale sightings.

Ate at two really good restaurants - Fisherman's Cottage and Le Mediteree (or something like that!).

We weren't very impressed with food at breakfast, served at the nearby Burgundy restaurant, but that's a minor detail."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Image alt

Portswood Hotel, Cape Town

"on the waterfront"

4 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2009
"The Portswood is in an excellent location for shops, restaurants and access by car. Our experience of the city outside the Waterfront was very limited - two trips on the sightseeing bus (very good value) and a brief walk in the Green Market area. Waterfront is good for restaurants - shops are quite samey and heavy on souvenirs.

We visited Robben Island, which was far more interesting than I expected, and affecting. Went up the Table Mountain cable car - views are amazing, but we had to queue for ages for that (about 2 hours to go up and 1 hour to come down). We should have pre-booked or gone much earlier or later in the day rather than lunchtime.

Drove to Cape Point and Cape of Good Hope, which was breathtaking. Definitely recommend stopping at Boulders to see the penguins."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team