This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by The B family from Wimbledo

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

Fantstic trip that ran like clockwork

Tanzania and 1 other country between 25 Jul 2010 and 11 Aug 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"Great trip with all the logistics working perfeclty.

Claire and Ellie workied hard to pull the trip together and patiently looked at various options before we finalised the arrangements. I had also challanged a number suggestions which were explained to me while the trip was being prepared and which. with hindsight, were the right ones to make.

Thank you - I'm sure we will come back to you for another trip at some point in the near future.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

It would be worth getting clarity on bank credit card charges to advise customers - we got inconsistent charges quoted - form no charge (Ras Katani) to 10% charge for credit cards at Impala camp. Fortunately we had bought enough cash not to have to pay but it could be expensive if you were not prepared and it's puzzleing that the the fees quoted were inconsistnet."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Unguja Lodge

Unguja Lodge

"Perfect for low key relaxation and diving"

6 nights Arrived 26 Jul 2010
"We stayed for 6 nights with our 15 year old son and found Unguja a charming place to chill out and relax. The owners are very attentive and ensure that everything goes to plan, the staff are friendly and the accomodation delightful - our room was huge with great views out to sea. The highlight of the stay was our diving course and we all completed our PADI open diving qualification under the expert tuition of Nick, who took the course very seriously but combined it with lots of fun.

The only minor frustration was that it was very hard to control the water temperature in the shower room which meant that we ended up leaving the water running for a long time - not very environmentally friendly"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Selous Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp

"Luxury adventure!"

3 nights Arrived 31 Jul 2010
"We loved the Selous and Impala Camp was a great base for exploring the wildlife out on safari and watching the wildlife visit us!

We had a hippo visit the camp and regularly had elephants grazing around our lodge. The safaris are fantastic - breakfast overlooking the lake, a boat safari, a fishing trip with the highlight being a walking safari and the fly camp where we lay in bed listening to hippos wandering outside the tent. Charles was very knowlegeable and a charming guide who adapted the itinerary to meet our requirements.

The food (and coffee) was delicious with a real Italian flair - we want to go back."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Selous Impala fly-camp

Selous Impala fly-camp

"The highlight of our safari"

1 night Arrived 3 Aug 2010
"Brilliant - it's incredibly exciting and you really get to feel the atmosphere of the bush. We loved the overnight camp and listened with some trepidation to the sound of hippos outside the tent.

Evening drinks watching the sunset were lovely and we were then served a simple but delicious evening meal prepared by the fly camp chef before heading off to our comfortable tents - to be recommended"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Ras Kutani

Ras Kutani

"bare feet luxury - very stylish"

3 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2010
"A fantastic place to relax - not a lot to do but that's the whole point!

The food is first class and the service very professional - Mark the manager is very committed and the hotel runs efficiently in a friendly way. We enjoyed the forest walk and our bandas were lovley - the beds are enormous!

Unfortunatly while we were there the sea was a bit rough for snorkelling but that just gave us a better excuse to do nothing - it's perfect for couples and honeymooners."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rivertrees Country Inn

Rivertrees Country Inn

"Comfortable for a short stay"

1 night Arrived 7 Aug 2010
"We spent one night at Rivertrees and it's comforable withour being particulaaly special.

it's a fair way from the centre of Arusha but good as a base for walking in the national park."
Average
Location
Average
Service
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Gibb's Farm

Gibb's Farm

"Luxury rooms but let down by average service"

3 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2010
"We visited Gibbs Farm 3 years ago and since then it's been refurbished to a very high standard - but we felt it had lost some of it's earlier charm.

The rooms are very luxurious and comfortable but we experienced a number of small but irritaitng service shortfalls where, for example, we didn't receive the drinks we'd ordered and on a couple of occassions had to wait a long time to be served dinner. We did take a guided cycling trip to the local village and town and this was very interesting and well planned out with our guide ensuring that he understood what we wanted from the trip before we started.

Kevin our guide while we were in the North was excellent and was knowledgeable not just on wildlife but also on politics and international affaires - we learnt loads. He went out of his way to ensure we got all the service we wanted"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Poor
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team