This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr B from Maidenhead

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

0

Great stay in the Selous

Tanzania between 21 Oct 2010 and 29 Oct 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"Great experience, will certainly return to the Selous!!"

Arranged By Elizabeth Chapman


Image alt

Selous River Camp

"Decent stay at Selous River Camp"

4 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2010
"To prolong our short stay in the Selous we decided a more budget option was suitable for 4 nights, to be followed by a 3 night exclusive walking safari. Selous River Camp is located just outside of the Mtemere gate in the far eastern side of the reserve, the drive from the camp to the gate is around 10 minutes.

Any feedback on Selous River Camp needs to be mindful of what this camp is intented to be. It is not aimed at the high end market, it is suitable for the mid to budget end of the market. This said, the stay here was a positive experience. The camp is owned and run by an English/Tanzanian couple, it is small, rustic, quiet, the staff were very attentive and tried very hard in all things. The accomodation and food is quite basic, my advice would be to speak up if you are even mildly displeased with anything. I did just that and the staff fixed things in very short order = thumbs up. Despite being located outside of the reserve the location is very good, with our tent immediately overlooking the Rufigi river.

Being outside of the reserve, you have to go through the daily routine of park entry, this said the process was pretty quick, but you will lose perhaps the first 1 hour of any morning drive. The eastern part of the reserve is packed with game, and we saw Wild Dog twice, Lions everyday, as well as a wide variety of antelope and other common game. The downside of this and the proximity to the gate (and to an increasing number of other camps based outside of the reserve), is that the area can get a little busy, although nowhere near the traffic jams experienced in the northern circuit.

All in all a positive experience at this camp, which was necessary to stay longer in the Selous and afford the Walking Safari which followed."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Sand Rivers walking mobile

Sand Rivers walking mobile

"Magical experience on Walking Safari"

3 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2010
"This was our first "guided" Walking Safari. We spent 3 nights on the Mobile Safari associated with the Sand Rivers Lodge.

The daily itinery involves a 06:30 breakfast and you commence the mornings walk at around 07:00. Each day was different and we experienced a varied environment, scrubland, savanna, miombo woodland, as well as walks along the river and lakeside, you are guided by an experience and armed guide. The mornings walk takes around 4-5 hours, during the walk the entire camp has been moved to the next base, so you arrive at your next stop to find where you will be spending your next night. From noon to around 16:30 is free time before the evenings walk, which lasts around 2 hours and brings you back to the camp.

The camp facilities, sleeping arrangements, shower, toilets and dining area was outstanding on this trip. Given that this was all moved daily, behind the scenes so to speak, is a credit to the organisation skills of the whole team, as well as it being 35 degrees plus, there was no small amount of hard work going on just to make us feel as comfortable as possible. And comfortable we were, this is genuine bush, you sleep under the stars, are fed extremely well, our greatest challenge was in keeping cool in the heat.

The walks themselves are great fun. Our guide Rem was among the best guides I have met, vastly knowledgeable about seemingly everything. Walking in this type of country should not be taken lightly, and Rem's calm but professional demeanor was nice to have with us. On the odd occassion that we were approaching big game his instructions we spot on, being sensitive to the wildlife and to us. We got very close to Elephant, Buffalo, Hippo, Hyena and numerous Antelope and Birdlife. Given that you are walking for some 6-7 hours a day a reasonable level of fitness is needed, we are in our mid thirties and managed things ok, it was extremely warm at points, but plenty of drinks and breaks makes things easier.

In summary, this type of safari provides an excellent option to be combined with more conventional driving. You are unlikely to see as much game as when driving, but nothing compares to the up close and personal thrill of walking in the bush. This is a far more sensory experience, sights, sounds, smells are all enhanced, a great thrill!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good

Trip of a life time!

Mozambique between 11 Aug 2010 and 29 Aug 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"Thank you Expert Africa for putting together an excellent itinery for this trip.

I found Lucy Copson to be very professional, listening carefully to what we wanted and organising an outstanding trip. Our trip was 18 days, included 10 flights across 4 countries, there were numerous transfers, and everything went life clock-work, for a trip to Africa that is worth every penny!

Thank You!"

Arranged By Lucy Copson


Image alt

Private Mobile Camp, Botswana (this camp has since closed)

"Truly exclusive experience at Santantadibe"

4 nights Arrived 12 Aug 2010
"In summary, the overall experience from 4 nights with Grant Truthe at Santantadibe was outstanding. We were provided with a very personal, and exclusive safari, a far cry from the at times "busy" experience you find in National Parks or Reserves, particularly in East Africa. Of course, you pay extra for this privalege, but for those genuinely keen on experiencing a personal safari, with no other people or vehicles this is a great option. You also have the benefit of running the trip on your own terms, you stop when you want to stop, take your time where you want to, this is very liberating.

Grant Truthe is an experienced guide, who provides a well rounded and informative outlook in all areas. Excellent bush craft, tracking, and overall ecological understanding was first class, and as a forth generation Botswanan you get a great view of the country, culture, people, we were allowed for a short time only to experience his life and love of his country.

The wildlife on show was also good. Whilst you don't have the abundance of game found elsewhere, we were more than satisfied. Lion, Leopard, Elephant, Hippo, various Antelope species, as well as good observations for some of the lesser known species such as Honey Badger, and numerous Mongoose species. The birdlife was also very varied, and Grant was very knowledgeable here too. Like any safari you need luck on your side, I have worked in East Africa and sampled safari across East and Southern Africa, Santantadibe stands up well by comparison. We did see signs of both Wild Dog and Cheetah, but unfortunately did not see the animals. As this is essentially private land, you are able to stay with the animals for longer, and go where they go, the wildlife sightings are improved as a result. Grant was always respectful of the animals space,

The Mobile camp itself was situated in a secluded area, nicely shaded, with a good view over nearby woodland and waterways. Again, this is where the exclusivity makes a difference, as we were treated like royalty from start to finish. The food was very good, and we remained healthy for the stay. Visitors should appreciate that this is a mobile camp, it was very comfortable and rustic, it is not a lodge, so "luxury" in the accommodation is not to be expected, the luxury of this trip came in other areas.

In summary 9.5 out of 10, a Wild Dog sighting would have been a 10. But you can't have everything!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Marinas Camp, Botswana (this camp has since closed)

"Clean and comfortable for 1 night stay."

1 night Arrived 16 Aug 2010
"Spent just one night at Marina's. Found it to be a comfortable stay whilst in transit in Botswana."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Image alt

Kanana Mokoro Trail, Botswana (this camp has since closed)

"Luxury in the Bush on Kanana Mokoro."

2 nights Arrived 17 Aug 2010
"I spent just 2 nights on the Kanana Mokoro trail with my girlfriend in August. The stay was part of a wider Okavango safari.

In summary the stay was excellent. You stay in a mobile camp situated on one of the smaller islands that form part of the Delta.

Location - We flew into the Delta from Maun, drove for 30 minutes, and then took the Mokoro (canoe) for a further 30 minutes to our own personal island. Here you are greeted by your team for the stay, your two Guides, a Chef and the rest of the team.

Accommodation - Zip tents, luxuriously presented, excellent vantage point, bucket showers, (posh) long drop toilet.

Activities - The days are spent traversing the various waterways in the Mokoro, you are accompanied by your guide at all times. The Mokoro trail offers an alternative and very interesting safari experience to the walking or 4x4 safari. You rarely see big game, this trip is more for the purists who want an up close and personal perspective on the wildlife of the Okavango Delta, at the micro level.

Essentially you sit back quite comfortably in your canoe and soak up the atmosphere of the water ways. The Delta is a unique ecosystem and the Mokoro offers the best means by which to see the vegetation, insects, amphibians, birdlife, reptiles etc. If you are lucky you will see the Pels Fishing Owl (I was), and the secretive Sitatunga (I was/barely).

Food - We were amazed at what the very basic kitchen could produce. We were treated to a fine dining experience in the bush everyday.

Guiding - Our Guide for the stay was a young English guy. I found him to have an excellent and wide ranging understanding of the environment, culture, history and geology of the Delta. First Class and professional guiding.

Note - Whilst the Makoro's are quite comfortable, you should be aware that you are very much in nature on this trip, reeds, grasses, spiders and other insects will buffet you very slightly, so for those more comfortable in a vehicle you should give this some consideration."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Safari Club SA

"Clean and comfortable at Safari Club Hotel"

1 night Arrived 19 Aug 2010
"Spent 1 night at the Jo'Burg Safari Club. A good clean hotel, close to O R Tambo. A good choice for a one or two night stay."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Bazaruto Lodge

Bazaruto Lodge

"Pleasant stay at Bazaruto Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 20 Aug 2010
"I spent 3 nights at Bazaruto Lodge in August.

The location is beautiful, the lodge is set on the beach on Bazaruto Island.

The rooms were comfortable if not spectacular. The service was good, the food was fine, if a little repetitive."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Image alt

Marlin Lodge, Mozambique (this camp has since closed)

"Outstanding service at Marlin Lodge"

5 nights Arrived 23 Aug 2010
"I spent 5 nights here with my girfriend in August.

In summary the stay at Marlin Lodge and overall experience was pretty near to perfect.

The Lodge is beautifully located, the rooms are quite secluded and you get a nice feeling of personal space.

Dining was also very good, which good variety and excellent service."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team