This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs S & Family from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

5

Excursions taken

0

My Dec 2010 trip

Tanzania between 13 Dec 2010 and 28 Dec 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"great time had by all. would recommend.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:
no"

Arranged By Elizabeth Chapman


Mdonya Old River Camp

Mdonya Old River Camp

"Mdonya Old River Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 14 Dec 2010
"Our favourite camp and loved the infomal atmosphere. Manager and staff couldn't have been more helpful and tried really hard to please.

Accomm. and location were great. Food ok, huge portions but a bit on the school meal heavy side - however, given the location and lack of ingredients pretty good.

Flexibilty on game drives was very good and guide and driver very attentive, tried really hard and seemed to know their stuff.

All staff were superb with the children (16,14,11). Very happy with solar heating systems and welcomed lack of generator noise"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Selous Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp

"Selous Impala Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 18 Dec 2010
"A bit smart for us! Accom and location very good. Food good.

River safaris wonderful, game drives not nearly as good as Mdonya (I think that we had been spoilt in the Ruaha together with recent rains having dispersed the game) but very knowledgable and charming guide. Great english and very patient with the children's many questions. Spent a good afternoon fishing and also visited a nearby village, sat in on primary school lesson etc.

Pool a welcome bonus. Only downside a noisy electrical system in tent which we had to have fixed (promptly fixed once asked). Generators are a mixed blessing, detracting from the natural wildlife noises."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Chole Mjini Lodge

Chole Mjini Lodge

"Chole Mjini Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 22 Dec 2010
"A wonderful and unique location. Expert Africa rightly made us aware at the outset that activities were limited but def. worth the visit.

Loved the treehouses and showering facilities were ingenious. Slightly aware of a take it or leave it attitude from the management but they were pulling out mid January so perhaps that explained their attitude. Didn't like the way our children were pushed continually towards interacting with the management's children or the lunch and supper communal dining despite our requests for a separate table. One meal being formal with mangement was fine, but every meal .......

Wonderful to explore villiage, sail dhows, snorkel etc - snorkel hire and beer prices a complete rip off compared to Mafia and lodges. A continual and very hard sell on whale sharking which at $50 per head for half a day was expensive (probability of viewing them was 50%)

Food really delicious.

Overall a huge success but to make it all round excellent there needs to be a different attitude from management."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kinasi Lodge

Kinasi Lodge

"Kinasi Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Dec 2010
"pretty much what we expected from a small hotel. Lovely pool and good rooms.

Service good and discreet, restaurant staff somewhat slow and dozy and did run out of food for guests on a couple of meals (did cook more but a long wait). Food ok but more instiutionalised, bar prices good.

Didn't try any activities from here but seemed plenty on offer."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Serena Hotel Dar

Serena Hotel Dar

"Royal Palm Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 27 Dec 2010
"pretty standard international hotel.

No complaints and perfectly satisfactory for a one night pre airport departure stay"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team