This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Dr & Dr L from Cheshire

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

0

We'd said this was our last safari ..but!!!!!

Tanzania and 1 other country between 30 Jun 2011 and 19 Jul 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"The organisation of the trip was great and everything worked perfectly. The guides and their landcruisers were excellent.

The change in location of the Serengeti Safari Camp to be by the Mara River was great - and as it was a new site it was amazing to be there on its first night ever. The re-arrangement of our transfers and flights worked very smoothly to our relief.

We had said that this would be our last safari, but we had such a great time that I suspect we'll be going again.......

We felt that we were glad to have gone gorilla trekking now, as we soon wouldn't have the energy to climb the mountains - the climb is from 7,000' to about 9,000'. Not impossible, but we were the oldest in our groups by more than somewhat on our gorilla trekking days, so we were the slowest."

Lake Natron Camp

Lake Natron Camp

"Flamingoes, tilapia and Masai - perfect"

2 nights Arrived 1 Jul 2011
"A very good camp but a bit weird as we were the only guests there (more were soon arriving).

Our Masai guide, Raphael, was excellent and he took us on two walks to Lake Natron to see the flamingoes and other wildlife. He also showed us the 117,000 year old hominid footprints.

In the afternoon Raphael took us to the waterfalls. Most enjoyable but you needed sandals that are OK in water and we got wet up to our waists when traversing the river many times on the way up to the waterfalls. It would have been good to know all this before we started!! Raphael's only comment was that many people turned back at the first river crossing and he'd expected us to do the same. The waterfalls weren't particularly spectacular but the route to them was and we saw lots of baboons on the cliffs above us.

The river/stream by the camp going into Lake Natron had small tilapia fish in which loved eating the dead skin off our feet and legs - you pay a fortune for tilapia to do this to you in the UK.

Only criticism - the camp staff tried to charge us for activities - it took some prsuading to say that they were included in what we'd already paid."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Kirurumu Manyara Lodge

Kirurumu Manyara Lodge

"Tent looked over Lake Manyara - great"

2 nights Arrived 3 Jul 2011
"Very luxurious, excellent service, lovely location.

Had very imteresting daytime safari in Lake Manyara National Park followed by a night safari iun the park. At US$120 per person the night time safari was expensive and was fascinating in that the spotter wanted to show us he smallest creatures (difficult to see) and tended to rush past the big ones!!

We did a 1.5hr guided walk from Kirurumu Tented Lodge with a naturalist which was very interesting to see the farms and fields in the area."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rhino Lodge

Rhino Lodge

"No rhinos but De Fasso Water Buck"

3 nights Arrived 5 Jul 2011
"The lodge could do with a makeover. It has a new manager so if he raises the profits he may be able to improve the lodge.
Reception area poor, rooms OK but furniture could be better.

The time in the Ngorongoro Crater both days was excellent and most enjoyable.

The trip to Empakai Crater was very interesting for the countryside en rouite and the Masai villages. The crater itself and the soda lake in it were good to see. The walk down to the lake and back was through interesting woodland - but it was quite a hike back up in the heat of the day."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Dunia Camp

Dunia Camp

"A camp with no boundaries"

2 nights Arrived 8 Jul 2011
"The service, food and standard of the tents was excellent.

The camp manager was very good in ensuring that he knew everything you wanted to do and then made sure that you could do everything.

The Dunia Camp safari guide, Thompson, was good on birds but not experienced enough (as had been our Asilia driver guifde, Vincent Matari) to ensure that we had a fulfilling day in terms of the animals we saw."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp

Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp

"Arrived Day 1 of new camp near Mara River!"

4 nights Arrived 10 Jul 2011
"Tents, service, food and location were all excellent.

At night in your tent you could hear the lions roar, hyenas cry and wildebeests migrating through the camp. Fascinating but not scary.

Days on safari with our Nomad guide, Khalifa, were excellent. We saw the wildebeest and zebra in their tens of thousands moving inexorably north towards the Mara and Sand Rivers and then, somtimes, crossing. It rained a bit 2 days we were there which freshened the grass and made the animals less desperate to cross the Mara or Sand River. The crossings, when they occurred, were exciting and not without their peril for the wildebeests from broken legs on the rocks or crocodiles or lions.

We also sawe a leopard kill, cheetahs consuming a kill, many prides of lions and a lion kill as well as giraffes, elephants, hyenas, jackals, etc. The days were full of interest."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Umubano Kigali Hotel, Rwanda (this camp has since closed)

"Very luxurious but very hot and humid"

1 night Arrived 14 Jul 2011
"We were surprised by the very high standard of the hotel with excellent swimming pool, restaurants, etc which we sampled and thoroughly enjoyed.

The only drawback was no air conditioning as the fly screens were damaged so you couldn't leave the windows open at night."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

"Great centre for gorilla trekking"

4 nights Arrived 15 Jul 2011
"The lodge was lovely with bungalows for each couple. A fire was lit in your bungalow every evening and hot water bottles were brought after dinner (but often not before you'd gone to sleep).

The service of the bungalow was poor and not up to the standard we expected (glasses not washed, bottled water not provided, etc)

The Lodge was well located for golden monkey and gorilla trekking from the National Park Centre being only 20 minutes distant by car.
The days trekking were excellent and we had great encounters with the gorillas. Each day we went to a different group of gorillas. One day they were moving around and feeding and the second day they were resting and playing. Each day was highly memorable.

Our driver/guide, Augustine, was excellent in ensuring that we got on good treks and then finding interesting activities for us to do in the afternoons, eg travelling north to see the Burera and Ruhondo Lakes, visiting the Iby' Iwacu Cultural Village and the local daily market."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Average

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team