This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Cj & Gav from NZ

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

3

Excursions taken

0

Incredible. We are hooked on Africa

Zambia and 1 other country between 21 Oct 2013 and 4 Nov 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"Thank you Expert Africa, especially Maruska, for making our honeymoon such a dream.

We had a fabulous time in Africa and we enjoyed all three places (Nkwichi Lodge, Mwamba Bushcamp and Old Mondoro) enormously.

We absolutely intend to return to Africa - next trip Botswana!

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Something we had not fully understood (being first time Safari goers) is how much time we would spend with other guests.

We had such a terrific time at Nkwichi Lodge with like-minded people; suffered terribly uncomfortable dinners at Mwamba Bushcamp with a taciturn guest; and felt as if we had to be on our best behaviour at Old Mondoro with the terribly middle-aged and middle class Britons.

We do acknowledge it is the luck of the draw and I think Maruska did a great job of planning for us. But next time we will ask to be with people in our demographic as much as possible :-)"

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Nkwichi Lodge

Nkwichi Lodge

"Heaven on Earth"

7 nights Arrived 21 Oct 2013
"We spent seven days at Nkwichi Lodge in late October 2013 as part of our honeymoon. We loved every moment of our stay.

We chose Nkwichi Lodge for the location and we were not disappointed. The sand is as white, and the water as crystal-clear as promised. We spent many happy days swimming, snorkelling, walking, reading and napping. All the while enjoying the beautiful surroundings and delicious weather (hot!).

We were delighted by our charming chalet (Nkwazi) which was immaculately maintained by housekeeping during our stay. The service provided by "Guest Management" was exceptional. A highlight was meeting the wonderful hosts/managers Malcolm and Kristina who obviously set the tone for Nkwichi - genuinely warm and friendly.

We also had a terrific time with the other guests at sundowners and group dinners.

We have read that some people have found Nkwichi daunting to get to. We travelled for the best part of two days from New Zealand to Mozambique and we really enjoyed the journey from Lilongwe to Likoma Island via Cessna; and then the boat trip from Likoma Island to Nkwichi (with a stopover in Cobue for immigration). You are taken care of every step of the way and the journey is a colourful adventure.

We were especially impressed with Nkwichi's commitment to responsible tourism and investment in the local community.

We dream of returning to stargaze on the Lake of Stars."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

"Best Guide in Africa"

3 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2013
"We spent three days at Mwamba Bushcamp in late October 2013 as part of our honeymoon.

This was our first Safari in Africa and we could not have asked for more. The South Luangwa National Park is extremely beautiful and the wildlife plentiful - made all the more enjoyable by our guide, Patrick, who lived up to the reputation that Zambia's guides are world-class. Patrick was very knowledgeable and patient and we enjoyed his terrific sense of humour. We particularly enjoyed our walks and night drives with Patrick.

A highlight was the waterhole hide and hippo hide: Absolutely teaming with life and drama.

While it was very hot; we did not find it unduly uncomfortable. And we were not bothered by insects.

Our hut was immaculately maintained by housekeeping; our laundry done daily. Food was delicious and the service extremely professional.

We would quite happily return to Mwamba Bushcamp."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Old Mondoro Bushcamp

Old Mondoro Bushcamp

"Charming camp and excellent service"

4 nights Arrived 31 Oct 2013
"We spent four days at Old Mondoro in late October-early November 2013 as part of our honeymoon.

This was our second Safari in Africa and a lovely accompaniment to our South Luangwa trip. The Zambezi river is incredibly picturesque and we were thrilled to be in a tent overlooking the river - teaming with elephants, hippos and crocs.

Our hosts Jason and Michaela warmly welcomed us to Old Mondoro. Service was excellent throughout our stay; and the food simply incredible.

With a variety of activities - boat trips, canoe trips, night drives and walking - it's tempting to return to Old Mondoro and we can easily understand why there are so many returnees."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team