This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Miss E & Mr L from NL

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

A dream Honeymoon Destination

Namibia between 5 Oct 2014 and 17 Oct 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"I won't lie, I was dubious about going to Namibia, it was my husband's dream holiday destination which is why we chose it but we both absolutely loved it!

Neither of us had ever been to Africa before and the fact that we could drive round on our own and do our own thing was priceless. We would go back in a heartbeat. Thank you to Expert Africa for everything!

We do think that a 4WD would have been better than a 2WD just because of some of the D roads. We had to turn back round on 2 occasions but this added to the adventure. If we did it again (or when we do it again!) we will be asking for a 4WD."

Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck

"Lovely owner and pleasant rooms"

1 night Arrived 6 Oct 2014
"Haus Sonneneck was good, the owner was very cheerful and helpful. The rooms & pool were clean.

The taxi number which was provided was very useful and the taxis were very efficient and picked us up from other locations in Windhoek as well."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

"LOVED IT!"

2 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2014
"We loved this place, great location and the chalets were so cute! The horse riding was great fun and we went walking up the hills as well. Very friendly staff and the food was good, although I felt it was quite 'safe' choices, but then I guess you have to try and please everyone.

Pool was a great way to cool down after horse riding. But what a great location! We arrived from the Solitaire side and we were a bit worried as there were no signs until literally opposite the lodge, but I can't stress how much we loved the location!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Central Guest House, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Great Location"

2 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2014
"Super location! The lady who met us (not sure if it was the owner Anja?) was very relaxed and helpful. We did have a little problem where there had been a mix up with our kayaking booking in Walvis Bay (apparently we were expected the day after the date on our voucher). But Anja called both kayaking companies in Walvis Bay and got us booked on the right day.

Room was very 'German' I would say, but really nice touches.

Regarding the kayaking, this activity should be compulsory for anyone visiting the area. Wow! Naude was a great guide and the seals were just great."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"A DREAM!!"

2 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2014
"What can we say, fantastic location, amazing rooms and the 'castle' was great! But here the thing that made it for us was the Staff! It felt great staying there as it was very energy efficient and they generate their own electricity etc.

So friendly and helpful and they read the menu out to us in Click language and English and sang on our last night which was fun!

Erwin took us to look for Desert Elephants but due to the time of year they had gone further up the river bed and he just said 'we aren't going back to camp until we have found them' which was great seeing as the excursion should only have been half a day (it turned out we found them in time anyway, but we liked his determination'. There were only 3 of us in the Jeep so it was really personal and he answered all of our questions really well.

The rooms were huge, the patio was fab and the view was out of this world. We were initially going to stay at another lodge close by but we were so glad it was fully booked and we stayed here instead. The food was great as well and the pool was stunning (although it could have been cleaner- possibly my only criticism but I advised Doro Nawas at the time too).

I do have to say getting there was not easy on the route suggested to us in a 2WD. The D2612 was not an easy road and we had to turn round and go back on the C35 up to Khorixas and then on the C39 which was much better. At the rate were driving on the D2612 we could have walked the same pace. But that is not a criticism of Doro Nawas."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Surprisingly Good!"

3 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2014
"When we got here we were a bit disappointed, especially after Doro Nawas, and I had read other reviews which said things like 'its a bit like Butlins' and 'cleanliness wasn't great'. BUT I have to say once we accepted it wasn't as up market as Doro Nawas I have to say it was great! The room was spacious, clean, within a 3 minute walk of the Water Hole and the food although was buffet service was fab. Kudu, Elend or similar meat every night, good salads and veg - we enjoyed it.

The Water Hole was of course amazing - we saw elephants, giraffe, lions, game, rhinos, all sorts throughout the day and night. We drove around the other waterholes in the mornings and these were great too - we found Olifantsbad, Nebrowni and Gembsbokvlakte to be the best on our trip (were a bit gutted we didn't see nay Cheetahs but thats not the camps fault obviously!)

The shop wasn't great - it took ages to get served and although each hut has a barbecue outside, there was nothing in the shop to put on the barbecue and we were under the impression you couldn't take any with you. But water, beer etc was all nice and cold and you could get essentials."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Average
Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck

"Great end to our trip"

1 night Arrived 16 Oct 2014
"We stayed here on our first night and it was nice to come back on our last night!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team