This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs W from W Sussex

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

My Jul 2013 trip

Tanzania and 2 other countries between 10 Jul 2013 and 24 Jul 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"A trip of a life time and it certainly measured up the everything we had hoped and more. Firstly please pass on our huge thanks to both guides. Martin of Asilia was amazing and so professional .We'll for ever be grateful for his patience for our bird watching interests and his expert knowledge. He was so good at finding the quieter places and picking up the signs before others got there!! Please note our grateful thanks to him personally through Asilia.

Also we would like special recommendation for Paulo Siololo of Nomad Tanzania...Arusha. as he was fantastic too. Think he has telescopes for eyes as he picked signs of animals at tremendous distances and had the patience to pursue and wait. We had numerous wonderful experiences just watching cheetahs and Leopards all on our own as well as so much more. He really put himself out to please us and make our experience memorable.

Fishermans tours on Zanzibar not quite so efficient as 3/4 hour late one trip and didn't turn up on last return drive to airport. Neither actually caused us problems as door man at Serens Inn got us a taxi and arranged for paymenbt between driver and F. tours.but thought you may like to know for future.

Well done Expert Africa and especially Ellie ,you judge it perfectly for us....right locations and timings ."

Ole-Sereni

Ole-Sereni

"Ole-Sereni review"

1 night Arrived 10 Jul 2013
"friendly efficient and very comfortable."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Swala Camp

Swala Camp

"Swala Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 11 Jul 2013
"Chris and Mina were excellent hosts. Attentive and welcoming ....working very hard to create an excellent lodge, The food was superb and all the staff very helpful.

The location is a long drive down and doesn't easily allow for half day safaris but despite that the full days are so worthwhile it did not detract from the overall experience. We loved the sundowner fire pit before dinner, meeting other residents and chatting through the day's experiences.

We understand that Chris has applied for a 'walking safari' licence which will be a bonus. He did some star gazing in the evenings which was interesting ."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Gibb's Farm

Gibb's Farm

"Gibb's Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Jul 2013
"Excellent location for the crater visit...superb bungalows with cosy fires lit in the evenings for extra comfort.

We enjoyed a talk about the coffee plantation when we first arrived and thought maybe an extra day here would have been nice to take advantage of all the activities they had on offer."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Lamai Serengeti

Lamai Serengeti

"Lamai Serengeti review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Jul 2013
"An amazing location and welcome by Chloe and Mark . Appreciated how the lodge blended so well into the landscape. Felt very wild as the lions prowled and roared close by at night! Enjoyed the way Chloe arranged the dinner tables at night so you met a different group each evening if you wished, and especially loved the birthday meal and chefs all singing!

Again an evening of star gazing on offer.

Excellent location for driving out, so much to see even close to the camp."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Unguja Lodge

Unguja Lodge

"Unguja Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 19 Jul 2013
"Loved the sea view lodge that was really worthwhile and special. Fantastic lodges , so spacious. Excellent for divers and snorkelers even saw whales swimming by.

Walking to the village was easy and felt very safe and wandering on the beach very enjoyable as the local folk collected their seashell food. A good place to relax at the end of a busy safari ."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Serena Inn

Serena Inn

"Serena Inn review"

1 night Arrived 23 Jul 2013
"Perfect location for walking into local town area and shops. Staff were very very good particularly in the restaurants.

Excellent place to relax before flight home."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team