This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs C from GoldenHill

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

An amazing holiday

South Africa and 2 other countries between 9 Jul 2014 and 30 Jul 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"We would go back to Waterberry and the Ichobezi and do exactly the same things again - one of our best ever holidays. Thank you Tracy for your expertise and for getting us the best rooms! and thank you to Chris for recommending Le Duc.

If we go back to Africa we will of course book it thru you."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


City Lodge OR Tambo

City Lodge OR Tambo

"Great airport hotel"

1 night Arrived 10 Jul 2014
"Very convenient airport hotel easily accessed within 10 minutes from the airport, comfortable spacious room, efficient check-in service with a very welcome cool drink available on arrival. Breakfast was excellent.

Would definitely stay here again if flying into Jo'burg."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Waterberry Zambezi Lodge

Waterberry Zambezi Lodge

"Perfection on the Zambezi."

5 nights Arrived 11 Jul 2014
"An absolutely wonderful stay at Waterberry Lodge with superb caring staff doing their utmost to ensure your stay is perfect (and succeeding!)

Our lovely room (Weaver) had a river view, was only a few steps from the pool and restaurant area and is the only room with a bath. The electric blankets were a very welcome addition. The many in-house activities we enjoyed were a dawn cruise, wrapped in blankets on a misty morning enjoying coffee & muffins whilst viewing the diversity of game & birdlife on the river, a sunset cruise and a very informative bird walk - all extremely enjoyable.

The external activities we enjoyed were a trip to Victoria Falls including microlighting over the falls (amazing), followed by a surprise breakfast provided by Waterberry and a wonderful guide (thank you Kandeenga), a trip to Livingstone Island to stand on the edge of the falls (great fun) & a game walk in the National Park where we stood very close to rhino. All the trips were organised very efficiently and thoughtfully by Waterberry.

We also enjoyed some free time watching elephants across the river and walking around the lodge spotting bee-eaters & kingfishers. Excellent food too on the beautifully situated terrace with the welcome addition of braziers at dinner & the occasional hippo on the lawn! We could not fault it and could easily have stayed for a week or more. A truly magical place."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Chobe Princesses

Chobe Princesses

"Ichobezi Houseboats review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Jul 2014
"A superb 3 days on the Ichobezi safariboat and a very relaxing way to view the game without the safari vans with the added bonus of the wonderful bird life on the river. As the boat moved along the Chobe river we were treated to large herds of elephant & buffalo, giraffe, lechwe, kudu, hippo...then you go out in your own boat (one per cabin) with your very knowledgeable guide complete with your drinks of choice, until sunset. Watching elephants & their babies munching their supper at the water's edge as the sun went down was an experience we shall never forget & provided some great photos.

More game viewing the next morning provided close up encounters with large crocs, several species of antelope, some incredibly beautiful birds - kingfishers, fish eagles, rollers, bee-eaters...& a walk on the Caprivi floodplains before heading back for lunch with our fellow guests, then the boat moves off again towards Serondella. As there are only 4 cabins it never feels crowded & has a comfortable lounge area & sun beds on deck. Our cabin was more spacious than expected, had a very comfortable bed, good shower & a balcony.

The food was consistently great thanks to Eustace the chef who always came into the dining room before dinner and "announced" the menu which was a nice touch, and any likes or dislikes were always adhered to. We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 days on this well-run boat with superb game-viewing. Thank you to Raymond for a wonderful experience."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
City Lodge OR Tambo

City Lodge OR Tambo

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 19 Jul 2014
"(see previous comments)"
Excellent
Image alt

Savoy Resort

"Great pool"

1 night Arrived 20 Jul 2014
"A new hotel trying very hard to please their guests, lovely staff & pool but we felt it was more suited to Waikiki beach than Seychelles."
Excellent
Image alt

Le Duc de Praslin, Seychelles (this camp has since closed)

"Lovely"

7 nights Arrived 21 Jul 2014
"A great stay, lovely hotel, friendly staff, beautiful pool & gardens, lovely spacious room, great service. Very well located with the beach across the road. We enjoyed a very good dinner at the hotel's fine dining restaurant, Cafe des Arts & there were also several good restaurants within a 5 minute walk of the hotel and a very good diving centre. Car hire was easily arranged for us at reception.

A slight hiccup occurred with Masons having the wrong return ferry ticket for us (from La Digue not Praslin) but it was resolved"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team