This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs C from Thames Ditton

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

Two weeks that will stay with us forever

Namibia and 1 other country between 27 Jul 2007 and 11 Aug 2007

Trip rating: Excellent
"We learnt so much about Africa on this trip but through our experiences we also learnt some new things about ourselves.

The time spent at Swakopmund was a welcome break from the rigours of travelling by jeep. Okinjima equally offered the perfect balance. If we had to change one thing it would be the trip to Linyanti which was probably one safari too much. However if we had then we would have missed the buffalo, lion kill ......"

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Image alt

Mountain Homestead, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Wonderful walking on Big Daddy dune"

2 nights Arrived 28 Jul 2007
"The location was quite overwhelming to be in the middle of the desert with such a panoramic view was amazing.

The staff were very friendly and laughed a lot they were particularly attentive to our children who loved spending time with them.

The showers were wonderful"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Strand Hotel - Swakopmund

"Chilling out in Swakopmund"

2 nights Arrived 30 Jul 2007
"A lovely resort which felt safe and very relaxed. The beach was on our doorstep and was clean and there were no vendors!

Dune boarding in the Namib desert was a highlight for our children. The guys who took us were such fun and the brunch on the beach afterwards was delicious.

We were disappointed that the restaurant adjoined to the hotel only served sea food."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa

"Heavenly"

2 nights Arrived 1 Aug 2007
"Showering outside with the African sun beating down on me and a crimson breasted strike in an adjacent tree - heavenly!

Landing on the narrow airstrip and our 6 seater plane being chased by 4 cheetahs was an experience we will never forget.

The villa was perfect for a family. We particularly liked the fact that the housekeepers etc left the site for a few hours in the day so we really did have it to ourselves. Though they were excellent company and we enjoyed chatting with them in the evening.

The bush walk was a new experience for us and something we would recommend.

Coming face to face with the leopard was "awesome""
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Private Mobile Camp, Botswana (this camp has since closed)

"Fishing on the Okavango Delta was fantastic"

3 nights Arrived 3 Aug 2007
"This section of our trip was the one we were the most apprehensive about and ironically it was our favourite bit of the holiday. Grant was an excellent communicator who taught us so much. He was wonderful with the children and we felt relaxed and comfortable in his company.

The food was delicious."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Linyanti Bush Camp

Linyanti Bush Camp

"Amazing lions at Linyanti Bush Camp"

2 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2007
"The buffalo were incredible. 600 plus crossing the valley with all the dust that they generate this was an amazing spectacle."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Songwe Village, Zambia (this camp has since closed)

"Experience African warmth at Songwe Village"

2 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2007
"This was a wonderful place to stay. The views over the gorge were breathtaking. We felt very welcomed here and our children loved being able to play with other children.

The visit to the village was fascinating.

The traditional Zambian meal and entertainment was a very special evening and we enjoyed sharing songs with our new friends"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team