This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr P from Eye

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

0

40 Years on - Exceeded Expectations!

Kenya between 1 Feb 2017 and 14 Feb 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"No better way to celebrate our Fortieth Wedding Anniversary, returning to previous haunts."

Arranged By Richard Trillo


Eka Hotel

Eka Hotel

"Overnight stay"

1 night Arrived 1 Feb 2017
"As our driver was late the first morning the doorman made strenuous efforts to contact him."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Ngari Hill Ecolodge

Ngari Hill Ecolodge

"Maralal"

1 night Arrived 2 Feb 2017
"Characterful, comfortable room with outstanding views, but sadly the shower didn't work.

Food lovely, beside a roaring log fire."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Desert Rose

Desert Rose

"Wonderfully Relaxing Stay"

3 nights Arrived 3 Feb 2017
"We absolutely loved Desert Rose, but due to its location, activities were a little more limited than in some other places, so on reflection, maybe three nights was too long. We were the only guests and were made very welcome indeed. As retired teachers we especially enjoyed visiting the primary school at Waso Rongai, and the Samburu Display, just for us, on our last afternoon was magical.

The chef was wonderfully accommodating, and sent us off on Monday morning with the best packed lunch of the whole trip!

As there were no locks on doors, or safes in rooms, we would recommend that other visitors make sure that their money is secure."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Oasis Lodge

Oasis Lodge

"40 Years On!"

2 nights Arrived 6 Feb 2017
"This was a real trip down memory lane for us, and we were made extremely welcome by the Manager and by the Chef who could not do enough for us.

The naturally heated pool was idyllic."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Marsabit Lodge

Marsabit Lodge

"A pleasant surprise"

1 night Arrived 8 Feb 2017
"We were pleasantly surprised by the number of animals we saw from the Lodge.

The rooms were spotless and beautifully furnished, though we were disappointed not to have hot water. The staff were distressed to hear this, and quick to instigate repairs."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Sarara

Sarara

"Hidden Hideaway"

2 nights Arrived 9 Feb 2017
"Whoever you are Sarara is a magical experience. We were most warmly welcomed, although a little puzzled to be asked, at 3.0p.m., what would be our choice of sundowner!

At 4.30 we set off for our first game drive, with our assigned driver/guide and askari, and after more than an hour of watching reticulated giraffe, elephants, impala, dik dik and more, we pulled up beside a large, flat, sun-warmed stone where we sat and were served our G&Ts as we watched the African sun go down.

We loved the easy, happy relationship with the local people, and one of the (many) highlights of our stay was our visit to the singing wells, which was so beautifully done, with the opportunity to walk down for those who were able, and a complete ban on cameras, which made everyone more relaxed and able to participate fully in the experience.

We also enjoyed the relationship with some of the hand-reared animals, especially Kody, the lesser kudu who was always ready to join the party."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Loisaba Tented Camp

Loisaba Tented Camp

"Highlight of an amazing trip"

2 nights Arrived 11 Feb 2017
"Care of the environment and personal service are the hallmarks of Loisaba.

So many highlights from the welcome drink, which included prickly pear juice, to tea in bed watching the sun rise over Mount Kenya.

A personal waitress and driver/guide were always on hand to organise refreshments and any activities. One evening the sundowner even included barbecued canapés beside a water hole.

Being in a conservancy, the animals all seemed particularly relaxed and were undisturbed by our presence, even at close quarters."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team