This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by J & PJ from Reading

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

0

My May 2017 trip

Namibia between 16 May 2017 and 28 May 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"Driving the first part to Sossusvlei and Damaraland over some very poor roads is not for the faint hearted. Getting a puncture in Damaraland, well out of phone contact, made us realise the risks involved. However the scenery, animals and birds were so spectacular that it made the risks worth taking and the accommodation & food provided was of an excellent standard."

Hilltop Guesthouse

Hilltop Guesthouse

"Convenient first night in Windhoek"

1 night Arrived 16 May 2017
"The room was good and the advice on restaurants from the owner was excellent."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Stars and Sossusvlei spectacular"

2 nights Arrived 17 May 2017
"The welcome and briefing of what was available was excellent. The rooms were interesting and very good. The night sky was spectacular. The pre-dawn activity of entering the park early with a guide to visit Sossuvlei just after sunrise was really worthwhile."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

"Comfortable room with lovely garden & birds"

2 nights Arrived 19 May 2017
"Sam was very helpful and went out of his way to speak to all guests. He also remembered our personal details which was appreciated. He allowed us to use his phone at no cost to us.

We enjoyed eating our evening meals at his restaurant."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

"Friendly community at Damaraland Camp"

2 nights Arrived 21 May 2017
"The staff welcomed new visitors with singing, sang to us after the evening meal and sang farewell. They are very friendly and happy to talk. We did not go on the day-long activity to look for desert elephants that most people went on, but went on a walk with a guide and later visited the nearby village. Next day we gave a lift to a young woman from the village from Damaraland towards Etosha, where she worked.

We enjoyed the friendly atmosphere which encouraged guests and staff to talk to each other.

Our voucher stated that we were only entitled to Half Board which is what we expected. On our second day the administrator apologised and said that there had been a mix up, which he had sorted out, and that we were actually entitled to Full Board and free activities. We were happy to accept this. It possibly saved us £100 in lunch and two minor activities."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Fabulous water hole at Okaukuejo Camp"

2 nights Arrived 23 May 2017
"As you warned the Okaukuejo Camp was not up to the standards of the other camps you booked for us. The service was poor, and the reception was crowded and not very welcoming. The shop and garage closed at 4.00 pm for stock taking. The rooms were basic, fairly dark in decoration, but adequate. The restaurant service was poor but the food was good.

However the waterhole was excellent and meant that whatever the accommodation and service this is the place to stay. It was an opportunity to see elephant, giraffe, rhinos etc. acting very naturally for long periods of time. There was rarely a time when nothing was happening at the waterhole."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Fantastic birds at Mushara Bush Camp"

2 nights Arrived 25 May 2017
"We enjoyed our stay at Mushara Bush Camp. The service was excellent, the staff friendly and the quality very good. The room was unusual but excellent and the food very good. There were a lot of birds and we enjoyed a drive into Etosha with a guide who was able to take us to water holes where a lot was happening; he also took us to see a leopard which was a sighting we did not expect.

We missed the atmosphere of Damaraland where guests were encouraged to meet and talk. People were not unfriendly but tended to keep to themselves. We enjoyed talking to some of the staff"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Enjoyable walks from Erongo Wilderness Lodge"

1 night Arrived 27 May 2017
"We only spent a day at Erongo Wilderness Lodge on the way to the Airport. However we had an excellent time in this unusual, way out place. The welcome was friendly, the room exceptional, the food very good and the guided walk we had at sunset was brilliant. Lovely birds and animals too."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team