This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by namibia from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

0

My Sep 2017 trip

Namibia between 7 Sep 2017 and 18 Sep 2017

Trip rating: Good
"When we booked out trip to Namabia there was a limited choice of accommodation, which was obviously unfortunate, as we would have appreciated higher quality of accommodation for the additional cost involved.

Windhoek airport were implementing new computer systems when we arrived and left, which lengthened the queues. Hopefully the "teething" issues are now sorted."

Hilltop Guesthouse

Hilltop Guesthouse

"Hilltop Guesthouse review"

1 night Arrived 7 Sep 2017
"The owners were on holiday, and the lady who was standing in for them was very concerned about guests safety. She advised us not to go out at night as a couple and we joined a group of 5 other guests to walk to a local restaurant. She informed us there had been recent incidents against guests staying at Hilltop. There was 24 hour security.

On checking the Uk Government web site it does inform visitors to Windhoek to be careful.

This experience did raise concerns for us having just arrived in Namabia."
Average
Location
Average
Service
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2017
"Our standard room was very spacious and well designed, with a large picture window to observe the wildlife.

The restaurant made every effort to provide interesting food for a vegetarian, who does eat fish.

The staff were very friendly and informative."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

"Onguma Tree Top Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2017
"We found the tree top camp to be rather past it's sell by date. The walkways and hand rails were in in need of repairs. We were advised not to lean on the hand rail surrounding the deck of our tent. This was a safety issue for me as if you slipped at night you could end up falling, and there was definitely a lion patrolling on our first night there.

We did not find the staff there very helpful. Lunch was served until 2.00 pm, we arrived around 2.45 and were told there was no food. We asked for a booking to be made for lunch at the Fort which did not happen on our day of departure.

We did however have an excellent guide called Eric, for two game drives and a bush walk. Very informative and was by far the best guide we had on the whole of our trip."
Poor
Location
Average
Service
Poor
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Poor
Food
Average
Facilities
Poor
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

"Onguma The Fort review"

1 night Arrived 12 Sep 2017
"The Fort was excellent.

Unfortunately we were only there for one night."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2017
"The element for the hot water was broken in our bush chalet, and we were moved to a double room chalet by the water hole.
The bush chalet was very basic, with small windows and very dark walls, rather oppressive, and set amongst the camping area.

We were very pleased to be relocated, and the chalet by the waterhole was comfortable and a much better location.

The dining arrangements at Okaukuejo camp were far from enticing at meal times. As a vegetarian, I was told on my first night the veggie option was "chicken"!!!! There was very little choice. On my second evening I did complain, and a very pleasant chef presented me with a perfectly cooked piece of fish and very nice salad.

By far the best aspect of this camp is the water hole, which kept our attention for many hours during our two night stay.

On our drive across Etosha we stopped for lunch at the Halali camp, this was not a pleasant experience, the dining area was not very clean. At Halali Camp and Okaukuejo Camp it is a set price for lunch and dinner, and a buffet style arrangement."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Image alt

Bush Pillow Guesthouse

"Bush Pillow Guesthouse review"

1 night Arrived 15 Sep 2017
"We missed the turning for Bush Pillow, and had difficulty finding it. When arriving as per the instructions for Okaukuejo you need to look for a medium sized brown sign with "bush Pillow" written on it. Although our room and breakfast were good, the atmosphere was a little off putting. There was a very high electrified wall and gates, and bars on all the windows and of the rooms and bars on some internal parts of the area where breakfast was served.

There was a large gathering for a music concert across the road from Bush Pillow on the Saturday night, it was rather noisy.

We had an overnight stop at Bush pillow on our way from Etosha to Erongo wilderness lodge, which we felt was an unnecessary one night stop. We would have preferred an additional night at The Fort."
Excellent
Location
Poor
Service
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2017
"All the staff and the manager were very friendly at Erongo. We did however feel it was showing its age.

I did not like the outside bathroom and toilet area. This area was part open to the elements, and I did get bitten a number of times at night. There was a lack of mosquito netting with the tents. There was no mosquito netting on the main glass door to the deck area, which would have been useful to have open for through put of air.

Although we informed the guide of a vertigo issue before a walk, we still ended up on a steep climb on the walk."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Average

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team