This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by The poets from Beds

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

0

Expert Africa - customer service

South Africa between 6 Mar 2008 and 26 Mar 2008

Trip rating: Excellent
"The holiday itinerary you put together for us was exactly what we had asked you for. We got to see a tremendous range of scenery - both urban and rural, both coastal and inland - together with a good taste of the natural flora and fauna. The guesthouses and hotels you selected for us were superb (see below)and the travelling distances sensibly achievable whilst allowing us plenty of time to see and enjoy each area.

Our dealings with Expert Africa were an entirely happy and stress free experience - from Claire's advice throughout the planning of the holiday, to Jill's attention on the ground in South Africa.

We will most definitely be recommending you and hope to be able to travel with you again in the future. Well done - a perfect example of excellent customer service in an industry which at times struggles!!

Thank you once again Claire - we hadn't been on holiday for 8 years, so this was a very important break for us and you were instrumental in making it wonderful.

Thank you so much."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Image alt

Bishops' Court, South Africa (this camp has since closed)

"Bishops Court, Cape Town"

4 nights Arrived 7 Mar 2008
"Bishopscourt - we loved it here.

Khadila and her team provide the most excellent personal service, the facilities and the garden are wonderful and the location perfect to both relax and to explore Cape Town and the surrounding area."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ocean Eleven

Ocean Eleven

"Ocean Eleven, Hermanus"

2 nights Arrived 11 Mar 2008
"After Bishopscourt I personally didn't like Oceans 11 at all, although my husband thought differently.

After Khadila's personal attention at Bishops Court I felt Oceans 11 probably aspired to the same level, but hadn't got there yet.

Hermanus was my very least favourite part of the trip - I didn't like the town one tiny bit and felt - a little like the hotel - that it was aspiring to more than it could provide."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Image alt

Klippe Rivier Country House, South Africa (this camp has since closed)

"Klippe Rivier, Swellendam"

1 night Arrived 13 Mar 2008
"What a beautiful stop-over on the longest leg of the journey.

Peaceful, comfortable, fascinating history, fascinating collection of furniture etc."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Hunters Country House

Hunters Country House

"Hunters Country House, Plettenburg"

3 nights Arrived 14 Mar 2008
"Wow!! We just loved it here - could have stayed for ever.

The setting is out of this world. The service just phenomenal - ultimately attentive without being intrusive.

The food was consistently the best we have ever had - from breakfast through to dinner every day.

The Plettenberg area is enchanting (to the point of making a few visits to Estate Agents!!!)."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Oulap Country House, South Africa (this camp has since closed)

"Oulap Country House, Little Karoo"

2 nights Arrived 17 Mar 2008
"Our views on Oulap differed.

I found it thoroughly enchanting - I loved the quirky-ness, Jans' story telling and Almeri's cooking - especially after the seamless professionalism of Hunters it felt like a visit to stay with relatives.

Ken liked it less - he did not like the 1970's décor and particularly the 1970's room and shower facilities. However, we will never forget the experience that Jans insisted we take - the Swartberg pass!! Never to be repeated - but glad to have done it once!"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Fraai Uitzicht

"Fraai Uitzicht, nr Robertson"

2 nights Arrived 19 Mar 2008
"Fraai Uitzig was fine - but again we felt that perhaps they didn't quite know whether they were running a winery or a hotel. The cottage was fine - but doubled up as a self-catering facility and lacked the total comfort factor of other places we stayed. For example - no air con, just a fan.

Carl was very welcoming, but it just lacked a little something."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Image alt

Rusthof Country House, South Africa (this camp has since closed)

"Rusthof, Franschoek"

2 nights Arrived 21 Mar 2008
"We loved Franschhoek.

The Rustof is beautiful, Jessica extremely knowledgeable about the local area and very helpful.

The town of course is again enchanting and the restaurants out of this world."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Farmhouse Hotel

Farmhouse Hotel

"Farmhouse Hotel, Langebaan"

2 nights Arrived 23 Mar 2008
"The Farmhouse was entirely acceptable - but after some of the other places we stayed it was rather ordinary and the service rather low key after the personal attention we had got used to!

Our room was very comfortable and the view of the lagoon great, but the gardens were ordinary and the public areas rather utilitarian - I think we had just been spoiled beforehand!"
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team