This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr M. O from Horsham

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

Wide-eyed safari wonderland

South Africa and 1 other country between 12 Oct 2019 and 28 Oct 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"Wonderful introduction to the animals and landscapes of Botswana. Fantastic experience and will never forget it.

The camping was basic but one soon got used to it and appreciated the closeness to nature in all its forms. The guide and crew were excellent. Overall things were well organised. Have made a few comments for possible further thought."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


City Lodge OR Tambo

City Lodge OR Tambo

"An excellent, convenient stop off hotel"

1 night Arrived 14 Oct 2019
"I was at City Lodge for only two nights as a stop-over to Victoria Falls. For that it was excellent and convenient, clean, good service and nice room.

My only slightly negative feedback would be that I had to pay extra to check in after my early flight arrived as the rooms are not normally free until 10.00. I had hoped they could find one room that was empty and that I could go to with our paying extra, but this is a minor point.

I had only one light meal there so can't comment much on the food. Breakfast was excellent."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Image alt

Bayete Guest Lodge

"Lovely quiet lodge only a $5 taxi ride to VF"

2 nights Arrived 15 Oct 2019
"Loved this lodge.

Very helpful friendly staff, quiet, super convenient transport to Victoria Fall for only $5. Bought cards and stamps here to post back home. Did not dine there so can't comment on food.

They organised a sunset-dinner trip which was excellent."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Image alt

Savuti Private Mobile Camp

"Wide open African skies and wonderful animals"

3 nights Arrived 17 Oct 2019
"It took a little rime to adjust to camp life itself. The camp shower was great although not aways filled when I wanted it. It didn't help that my torch did not work and that we arrived there in the dark. I would recommend in future that the vehicle arrives at least an hour before sunset so one has time to get to know the tent and the camp in daylight. The team of "boys" were excellent. And Shadreck our guide was excellent throughout. It was 40 degrees throughout our trip This made the siesta time quite a challenge as there ws nowhere of course to cool down and the ripped up tents were even hotter.

The safari drives were superb, fantastic especially for me as I had never been to Africa before. The wide open skies were as I had dreamt. A wonderful, wonderful experience and it grew on me that the best way to experience it was in a tented camp. We heard elephants, lions and many other animals at night as well as seeing them of course by day.

One serious comment on the safari drives; there is a fridge on the vehicle with a lot of cooled sugar drinks but NO water! We were provided with a water flask every day but this was hot and almost undrinkable but 10.00. We were all dying for simple chilled water from the fridge instead of the sugar drinks. ."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Average
Image alt

Khwai Private Mobile Camp

"A good second location. Very dry season"

3 nights Arrived 20 Oct 2019
"The accompanying vehicle had two punctures on the drive from Savuti. And our vehicle also needed two replacement tyres while we were there. I would recommend that the vehicles are checked more often to prevent breakdowns.

It has been an extremely dry year so much of the river and pools were dry. However we had a lovely kokomo excursion on the river which was great fun. The wild life in the area was excellent.

The G and T by sunset by the side of pools surrounded by wildlife was unforgettable."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Average
Image alt

Moremi Private Mobile Camp

"Good but dry and beginning to be repetitive"

3 nights Arrived 23 Oct 2019
"We got stuck in the sand on the way from Kwai and had to get out gf the vehicle. The standard procedures to get out all failed and we did wonder whether we would perish there in the blazing heat!! However two other vehicles arrived en route from Namibia which had tow ropes and winches. They towed our vehicle about 100 meters through the soft sand to a place where our wheels had traction once more. quite an experience!

The delta had dried up so there was little water to be seen apart from the odd pools which was a pity as I had hoped for a real contrast with e.g. Savuti. That did mean that all the group commented that things were getting repetitive and seeing the same wild life again rather than having new experiences. So things did drag a bit. Given the dry season it is difficult to know what else could have been offered.

Having said that, our guide did his best to find things to show us so the tie was not wasted."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Average
Thamalakane River Lodge

Thamalakane River Lodge

"Thamalakane River Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 26 Oct 2019
"This was a convenient stop off.

The room was excellent. The dinner was a little disappointing as I ordered fish which had hundreds of bones and the light was very dim so they were difficult to see. The transport to and from the airport was excellent."
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Service
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team