This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Cheetahs from Lanarkshire

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

A great trip with Expert Africa

Tanzania between 17 Jul 2008 and 29 Jul 2008

Trip rating: Excellent
"Overall our trip was a fantastic experience. Pretty much every piece of advice from Expert Africa turned out to be spot-on, and our requirements were captured perfectly. Everything went seamlessly from start to finish.

We flew from Arusha to Katavi, Katavi to Mahale and Mahale back to Arusha. All of the arrangements for the internal flights were taken care of, and all of our guides and hotels were aware of when we were arriving and departing. An unexpected bonus was flying over the Serengeti and Ol Doinyo Lengai on the way back to Arusha from Mahale.

I would have no hesitation in recommending Expert Africa and the tour operators, Sokwe/Asilia and Nomad, that they arranged for our trip. Thanks to Ellie and the rest of the team at Expert Africa."

Rhino Lodge

Rhino Lodge

"Nice Evenings at Rhino Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 18 Jul 2008
"Rhino Lodge does not have the same facilities as some of the more expensive venues, but what is provided is more than adequate and everything is spotlessly clean. Prospective guests should note that the lodge does not have views of the crater. This is not necessarily an issue, as both nights we arrived back after sunset and both mornings it was foggy (as most mornings are), so we wouldn't have seen anything anyway.

The most enjoyable aspect of the Lodge is the after-dinner drinks, when everyone gets together around the fireplace. We met lots of interesting people from Tanzania and around the world - much more interesting than the entertainment typically offered by some of the other places. I would be happy to recommend Rhino Lodge to anyone."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Image alt

E Unoto Retreat, Tanzania (this camp has since closed)

"Maasai Culture at E Unoto"

1 night Arrived 20 Jul 2008
"A nice stopover, convenient for visiting Lake Manyara.

The rooms and facilities are excellent, as is the food. The retreat is staffed and part-owned by the local Maasai, and the buildings and staff give a local flavour to your stay. The highlight was the afternoon walk to the local boma in the company of one of the Maasai guides. We learned a lot about the culture of the Maasai and their efforts to combine their traditional lifestyle with more modern ways of life. The people in the village were very friendly, and even let us visit one of their houses.

Definitely recommended for those with an interest in seeing a little of the local culture on their visit."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Onsea House

Onsea House

"Chillout at Onsea House"

1 night Arrived 21 Jul 2008
"We visited Onsea House as a stopover before an early flight from Arusha.

Everything is beautifully appointed and the facilities are excellent. The owners were very welcoming and cooked some excellent food. It was so relaxing watching the sunset from the balcony.

Absolutely perfect for a short pause in a hectic safari schedule."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Chada Camp

Chada Camp

"Face to face with the Chada pride"

3 nights Arrived 22 Jul 2008
"Chada is a small tented camp in the Katavi NP. Don't be fooled by the 'tented' description - everything in the camp, the personal attention, the food etc., is top quality, even in the absence of running water. The limited numbers mean that you have the freedom to do as you please. You discuss and agree with your guide when and where you want to drive or walk.

The guides are superb, with detailed knowledge of the park and the animals and a real passion for them. The animals are plentiful, even in and around the camp. We spotted giraffes, elephants and monkeys in the camp, as well as lions and buffalo within walking distance.

The drives are tailored to your own preferences, and are likely to get you some great close-up views of all of the big 5 (except the shy leopards, who are around, but difficult to spot). Even so, the highlights were the walks, especially coming face to face with some lions. Meeting lions and hyenas on foot gives you an entirely new appreciation of your position on the food chain. An experience not to be missed.

We would have no hesitation in recommending Chada to anyone."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Greystoke Mahale

Greystoke Mahale

"Chimping and relaxing at Greystoke."

4 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2008
"Greystoke is a small camp with luxurious beach-hut style accommodation, located on the shores of Lake Tanganyika. The location and the buildings are beautiful, and the food and service superb. The staff are absolutely excellent, particularly the guides whose knowledge and enthusiasm made the walks a pleasure.

The main reason people visit Greystoke is for chimp trekking. Depending on where the chimps happen to be on any given day, this may require several hours of walking, so you should be aware that you may not be able to see the chimps if you are not capable of walking for such a time. You should also be aware that you can only spend a maximum of 1 hour per day with the chimps.

If you are lucky enough to find the chimps (as we were on all 3 days), you will love getting a close-up view of them in the wild. We had the good fortune to spot them "fishing" for ants, as well as getting a glimpse of a young baby and the alpha male, who's an impressive lump of a lad! It's an absolutely great experience.

If the chimps are not too far away, you will have the chance for some relaxation in the afternoons. The lake is fantastic for swimming, crystal clear and cool. The camp also has facilities for kayaking and fishing, so you can try to catch your dinner. Greystoke is the perfect place to stay if you want to incorporate a little bit of relaxation into a hectic safari schedule."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary

Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary

"Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary review"

1 night Arrived 29 Jul 2008
"Mount Meru Game lodge was only a brief stop for us.

We arrived late and left early, so unfortunately we didn't have a chance to see the animals.

Dinner was good and the staff provided us with breakfast and lunch boxes due to our early departure."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team