This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by H & R from Glasgow

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

5

Excursions taken

2

Kenya October 2019

Kenya between 13 Oct 2019 and 26 Oct 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"An intensely memorable experience - fell in love with Kenya all over again.

Especially enjoyed the interaction with our guides and staff at the lodges - have witnessed first hand over the years how more and more local staff are establishing themselves as guides and managers which is fantastic. At times quite an extreme and adventurous trip, with journeys to remote parts where we were the oddity. We had difficulty agreeing our top three moments so had to settle for six!"

Loisaba Star Beds

Loisaba Star Beds

"Very special place - Loisaba Star Beds"

1 night Arrived 13 Oct 2019
"Reminded us just how special a safari can be. Also pleasantly surprised by the abundance of wildlife including a leopard sighting, plus great elephants, hippos and giraffes. Moses was a super guide.

Despite every comfort, don't expect a sound sleep on a night out in the bush - we were there during a full moon so not so many stars but very atmospheric, if a little bright!!

Young Taro was holding the fort as manager and doing very well.

There are no signs at all around Loisaba which made it difficult for our next guide, Leshan, to find the place on the night he arrived and for us to find our way out the following morning - the lodge either needs to improve signage or meet and accompany visiting guides from the entrance gate as a matter of course."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Desert Rose

Desert Rose

"Lives up to the Desert Rose legend"

2 nights Arrived 14 Oct 2019
"A genuine adventure to reach - given remote location and the final road up is not for the faint-hearted - but in no way disappointed.

A beautiful location - not a wildlife destination but great to be in the midst of nature and with very good service from Mercy and the team. Lunch by the waterfall was very special."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Oasis Lodge

Oasis Lodge

"Basic but welcoming"

2 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2019
"The only accommodation option for a visit to Loiyangalani and reaching Lake Turkana. Timothy was a very kind and attentive host.

The swimming pool fed by a natural hot spring is something else and a god-send for a late night dip to cool down before trying to sleep in such a hot and humid environment - a ceiling fan in the room would be a major improvement. But we were not looking for nor expecting luxury here in a spot barely reached by "tourists".

The chance to visit local villages and meet the people - El Molo and Turkana - plus to see the fabled Jade Sea with our own eyes was a once-in-a-lifetime trip, though it may just entice us back again in future!"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Lake Turkana excursion

"Lake Turkana review"

17 Oct 2019 • All-day excursion

Despite the guidebook advice, one of us braved a brief swim in Lake Turkana accompanied by our guide and a local fisherman. Not a crocodile in sight - phew!
Excellent
Saruni Rhino

Saruni Rhino

"Wonderful experience tracking black rhino"

2 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2019
"The rhino tracking was brilliantly organised - so much so that it felt surreal rather than scary to be just metres away from these amazing creatures on foot. We weren't the best at keeping still and silent - hard to walk without sound on crunchy earth - but nevertheless achieved two close encounters in the wild. Finding the rhino now relies entirely on the skills of the local wardens and guide as the radio tracking implants have reached the end of their three-year lifespan, which makes it an even more realistic and thrilling experience.

Sammy and team at the lodge were fantastic and unflappable. Best food of the trip. Became even more of an adventure when the usually dry riverbed in front of the bandas turned into a raging torrent after a serious and lengthy overnight downpour. We had to wait till lunchtime for the water to recede enough for us all to wade across to be met by a replacement land-rover for our onward journey as the camp vehicle could not cross."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Saruni Samburu

Saruni Samburu

"Luxury in the bush"

3 nights Arrived 20 Oct 2019
"The rooms/ cottages here are something else and the view stupendous. It is spread out across the side of a hill and takes five to ten minutes to walk from the room to the communal area in blazing heat - meaning we were often a bit late for our activities!

As the rains had come to Samburu by the time of our visit, there was no wildlife at the lodge's waterhole, but we saw plenty on our game drive into the main national reserve - elephants, giraffe, zebra, antelopes, fantastic birds and a pride of seven lions. We heard other lions roaring overnight right by the lodge too.

Local Samburu staff were fantastic - special mention to Kennedy's Dawa cocktails and Benson's knowledge of the night sky. Thanks, too, to Darryl, who was holding the fort as manager.

The menu was quite meat-based and featured imported produce eg smoked salmon as well as plenty of fruit and veg."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Reteti Elephant Orphanage visit

Reteti Elephant Orphanage visit

"Fantastic work - a real treat to visit"

20 Oct 2019 • Morning excursion

A long and bumpy trip to reach this very hidden gem but wouldn't have missed it for anything - one of the highlights of the holiday.

Admirable work being undertaken and a joy to see the orphaned elephants running out to be bottle-fed and interacting with their keepers.

Great to see Samburu women involved here.
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team