This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Ms G from Aberdeen

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

Wonderful Namibia trip!

Namibia between 25 Apr 2009 and 7 May 2009

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had an absolutely fantastic visit to Namibia. We loved the accomodation, particularly Mushara Outpost and Erongo Wilderness Lodge - both recommended by Expert Africa. The Brandt Guide was very good and we appreciated the map supplied (now a little out of date re tar roads etc) when we booked our holiday.

Our main reason for visiting Namibia was to visit our daughter who is working in Opuwo setting up lodges and camping trails for local communities so this, along with the time we had available, determined where we went. We will definately return to Namibia (next year) and would use Expert Africa again as the advice was so helpful and the suggestions for accommodation excellent.

The only comment I would make (and it was never a problem) is that when we arrived at each lodge, they never seemed to have a note of our booking, although one did have something under "Anne". So at the beginning of our trip, we were wondering if our booking was confirmed as we arrived at each place but there was never a problem in the end.

Local water supply was great everywhere except Opuwo which was not drinkable but the lodge suppied 2 small bottles of water in the room.

For interest, we also used "Tracks for Africa" and a Garmin GPS system and this was great for finding petrol stations and ATMs etc. Supermarkets were fairly abundant and the supermarket in Opuwo was an amazing experience. It looks like a European supermarket but you find yourself in a checkout queue with a Himba woman in front out you and a Herero and Themba woman behind whilst being served by someone from Damaraland. It was stunning.

Suggestions for improvement:

None really - for us, the service and advice was perfect."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Image alt

Otjiwa Guestfarm

"Otjiwa Guest Farm"

1 night Arrived 25 Apr 2009
"Good location for first night in Namibia after an overnight flight. Good welcome at the gate (although they couldn't find our booking) and easy drive to the Lodge which was on a slight rise ans so, there was a good view over the countryside. No one around on arrival and no bell to press at reception but another guest found Belinda, the owner, who took us to our chalet. Very comfortable and a lot of nice touches. Very quiet and we were the only guests for dinner.

We liked this lodge but would have appreciated more information on arrival such as when/where we could have a pre-dinner drink etc."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

"Mushara Outpost review"

3 nights Arrived 26 Apr 2009
"This lodge was outstanding. We were greeted immediately we arrived and given a glass of homemade lemonade whilst the lodge and its services were explained to us. We were shown to our delightful and comfortable tented room - all beautifully appointed. Sundowners around an open air fire and dinner on the deck.

The main building was beautifully decorated and there were lots of interesting books to browse through. The staff were outstanding, friendly, helpful and a pleasure to be with. We enjoyed the hide overlooking a waterhole where we saw kudu, impala, warthog, mongeese and many birds as well as the guided drives to Etosha in the morning and afternoon (the morning one was the best if you were only going to do one).

We could not fault any aspect of our stay at Mushara Outpost and felt it was one of the best places we have stayed anywhere worldwide."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Opuwo Country Lodge

Opuwo Country Lodge

"Opuwo Country Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 29 Apr 2009
"The Lodge has a good location. Reception staff were friendly but the lodge does not have a personal feel and the main lodge staff were not very attentive. The standard room was clean and comfortable and had a good view.

There are not many other options for accomodation in this area but if there were, I would try them next time rather than return to this lodge which I found a bit souless."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Opuwo Country Lodge

Opuwo Country Lodge

"Opuwo Country Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 2 May 2009
"As before"
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

"Grootberg Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 3 May 2009
"This lodge is in a stunning location with an amazing view over the canyon.

Warm welcome and our stone chalet with thatch roof was nice, hot water supplied from 17.00-21.00 h by a wood fired "donkey" boiler which was lit at 15.30 h behind each chalet. Not as peaceful as some lodges as there was a lot of kitchen and staff noise in the main lodge as it is small and mainly open plan.

The staff very friendly and the host Simonetta very attentive. Enjoyed an early morning guided walk on the plateau. We went to the Skeleton Coast from Grootberg but found the road to Torra Bay was closed once we reached the Park ( just over 2 h drove from Grootberg). Saw elephants 10 min from Grootberg which was great."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 6 May 2009
"This is a delightful Lodge in a lovely location. We were given a very warm welcome and the lodge and facilities were described to us. The individual tented chalets are widely spread and so very private and secluded - our luggage had miraculously been deliverd to our tent before we arrived.

The tented chalets were very comfortable with both electric and candle lighting and minibar (we ended up with one of the two honeymoon chalets with a big double bed and a private terrace with a cold water tub). Wonderful open air shower and we enjoyed going to sleep with bright moonlight flooding in to our tent as we couldn't bear to close the "curtains"!

Lots of smaller wildlife around to see. This lodge is somewhat unusual in that a lot of guided walks are included in the DBB rate which is great. Excellent guides and wonderful sundowner walk where we saw baboons clambering over the rocks. Good early morning nature walk too followed by a great breakfast with weaver birds flying through the restaurant and lovebirds queuing up to be photographed just outside the wide, floor length open windows.

Main lodge area very comfortable and lots of nice touches (sculptures, small swimming pool with seats and towels on hand etc). Dinner good, only interrupted by watching porcupines shuffling just outside the open windows.

We would definately return here with a minimum 2 night stay (unfortunately, we only had one). Also very convenient for Windhoek airport (3.5 h)."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team