This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs E from Morden

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

0

Expert Africa review

Namibia between 27 Jul 2010 and 20 Aug 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"When we started looking into going to Africa we were planning to organise it ourselves. We couldn't do the same trip as Expert Africa quoted for any less if we did book it ourselves. Having the expert advice, the piece of mind and the contact whilst in Africa was great.

Our trip on the whole couldn't have gone better, all our border crossings were easy and everywhere we thought could have had issues went very smoothly.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:
Just keep it going."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Villa Violet

Villa Violet

"The Elegant Bed & Breakfast review"

1 night Arrived 28 Jul 2010
"Lovely quiet & clean B&B not far from Joe's. Good service and relaxed feel. Nothing special but would happily stay here again."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Facilities
Good
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

"Betesda Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Jul 2010
"We absolutely loved Betesda. It had a fantastic feel about it, very relaxed and friendly. Activities if you wanted them. We only did the sundowner trip but it was great - the guide was brilliant. (Website says you can go horseriding but they don't do it any more).

We got caught out with the solar water heating that meant the shower on the first night was cold. The second night we were camping and the showers were great and you still get access to all the facilities."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Sea Breeze Guesthouse

Sea Breeze Guesthouse

"Sea Breeze Guesthouse review"

3 nights Arrived 31 Jul 2010
"We couldn't recommend this enough.

Benny and his family gave us the warmest welcome and within 5 minutes all our activities were booked, dinner reservations made and tea served.

Sea Breeze is slightly out of town, but that's what we were looking for and as long as you're happy with that you couldn't find a fault. We'd not think of staying anywhere else in Swakopmund."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Aug 2010
"Camping at Okaukuejo was great, the waterhole brilliant and the facilities easy to find.

We were in one of the newer camping spots which didn't have the advantage of a well grown tree (i.e. not picturesque) but we were either at the waterhole, pool or driving through the park so this didn't matter to us."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Facilities
Average
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

"Namutoni Camp review"

1 night Arrived 5 Aug 2010
"Camping at Namutoni didn't seem as well organised as Okaukuejo, we didn't have a pitch assigned to us per say. We just had to park in a specific area and others were already there (as we were in close to sunset) and they'd spaced themselves rather generously so we were rather squeezed in and didn't have the braai facilities to ourselves like at Okaukuejo.

The waterhole itself is disappointing but Namutoni looks great (more grass in the campsite and the lodges must be amazing). The advantage is how close you are to waterholes outside the park for early morning starts or late finishes."
Good
Location
Excellent
Facilities
Average
Service
Excellent
Nkwazi Lodge

Nkwazi Lodge

"Nkwazi Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 6 Aug 2010
"Brilliant. The staff were so friendly and the way funds are pumped back into the local village is amazing."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Own arrangements Botswana

"Mbiroba review"

4 nights Arrived 7 Aug 2010
"We loved the fact that the bulk of our bucks went to the polers themselves. We spent a night in a chalet on either side of a two night wild camping trip on a mokoro.

Our guide Kim was absolutely brilliant and the wild camping was just amazing - both relaxing and filled with learning about the delta. The service at the camp itself was not a polished tourist act, but pleasant none the less (we were left not knowing what we were doing a couple of times, but we weren't in a hurry).

The food was good, you don't really get a choice of what to eat if you do want cooked food for dinner but what we got was good. Breakfast was good."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Mazambala Island Lodge, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Mazambala Island Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Aug 2010
"We were ferried out to the lodge by boat and we felt like we were on a Bond film set the way we twisted and turned through the reeds.

The service was brilliant, the staff friendly, the facilities excellent and just all in all it had all the options you could want for a relaxing time.

The setting of the lodge and its suroundings are stunning."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Chobe Safari Lodge

"Chobe Safari Lodge Review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Aug 2010
"The lodge is very touristy, which is fair enough and you either like it or not. And everything else falls in line with the fact that it is very toursity.

You get your bigger tour groups and the activities are for larger numbers than other places. However, we were glad to not be the ones driving through the park on rather sandy roads jostling for position and grateful we had a guide driving us round (the use of radios between cars also meant we saw leopard which we may have missed ourselves)."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Zambezi Waterfront

"Zambezi Waterfront review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Aug 2010
"Perfectly located on the river with the Safpar activity centre on site.

The ease of being able to organise transfers to Zimbabwe and taxi's to the falls + any activities made it a hassle free experience. The Waterfront caters for all budgets and so has its fair share of tour groups and independant travellers.

Very pleasant stay overall and we highly recommend the Livingstone Island trip."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team