This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs S from Georgia

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

Overall, a very good experience!

Tanzania between 17 Sep 2011 and 28 Sep 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"I don't know about all the trip elements that our party lead planned with Expert Africa regarding the parks to visit, the side trips, and lengths of stay at each camp; however, after visiting the camps and parks, I would say that this could have been planned differently given the time of year. For example, 4 nights in the Tarangire with 2 nights of fly camping was too long. Three nights would been sufficient and 1 night of fly camping. Camping out is highly overrated after having done it so much in one's youth. The Ngorongora could have been skipped at this time of the year. The crater itself was a hughand windy dust bowl. We spent a day in Lake Manyara. What is there that the Serengeti doesn't have, other than blue monkeys and a rain forest? There is no lake to see, except at a great distance.

We met a number of tourists during the trip and they all said that the most memorable parks were the Serengeti and the Masa Mara. Bottom line, I believe there is where our trip should have focused on as first time visitors to Africa.

The Serengeti was the highlight of our trip."

Rivertrees Country Inn

Rivertrees Country Inn

"Very nice and relaxing - beautiful setting"

1 night Arrived 17 Sep 2011
"We missed the stayover on the way in due to problems with Kenya Air being late; however, we did stay at Rivertrees on the last day (day room) of the trip. The accommodations were top notch.

The open air dining room was very nice and the food was very good. We wished that we could have made the connection in Nairobi on time and stayed at Rivertrees on the way in."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Oliver's Camp

Oliver's Camp

"Great experience!"

1 night Arrived 18 Sep 2011
"The camp met and exceeded our expectations.

There is a lot to be said about the infrastructure of a permanent camp versus a mobile camp. The tent was more than we expected and the view was great.

The staff attended to your every need and the food was excellent."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Oliver's Fly-Camp

Oliver's Fly-Camp

"Good experienceOliver's Fly-Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2011
"Overall a good experience; however, 1 night is enough.

The walks were great and we learned and experienced a lot. Our guide was very informative. The location had a great view."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Oliver's Camp

Oliver's Camp

"Great to come back to after fly camping"

1 night Arrived 21 Sep 2011
"Our first tent, number 6 was excellent with good running water. Our second tent, number 9 was not as good. The location was not as nice, and the water flow was not as good. Same accommodations, but not as memorable as tent number 6.

Overall, four days and nights in the Tarangire was too long. Three days and three nights with one night of fly camping is sufficient."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Lemala Ngorongoro

Lemala Ngorongoro

"I would not recommend this camp"

2 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2011
"Two nights in the Lemala camp was too long and too cold. I believe most people stay in lodges outside the park and I can see why. The tents are not that nice and because of the temperature and wind, they stay closed up. The food was okay, but dinner was very late and we were too hungry and cold by the time they served the meal.

Ngorongoro is interesting geologically, but not at this time of the year. It was a dust bowl with too much traffic. It simply was not that enjoyable.

Overall, we were not impressed by Lemala Camps.

Lake Manyara could have been avoided all together. It was not worth the day trip to see. Bottom line, it was a rain forest and a hippo pool."
Poor
Location
Poor
Service
Average
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Poor
Olakira

Olakira

"What an experience! Absolutely unforgettable"

4 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2011
"Our experience at Oliver's Camp set high expectations on what was to follow at Olakira and we were not disappointed. On the other hand, our experience at Lemala Camp lowered our expectation of a mobile camp and Olakira turned that around.

The location was excellent, and our view of the Mara River from our tent was memorable. The tents exceeded our expectations, the staff was attentive and gracious and the food was very good. Pascal was an excellent host and helped make our experience at Olakira Camp truly memorable. We especially liked the change in the way we took our safaris. One in the morning, return to camp for lunch and rest, and then one in the afternoon made a pleasurable day for us.

The Serengeti is truly the park to visit. We could have skipped the other parks and spent our time in the Serengeti. After seeing the Serengeti, I wonder why we even visited the other parks."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team