This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs W from Toronto

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

5

Excursions taken

0

My Aug 2012 trip

Zimbabwe and 1 other country between 25 Aug 2012 and 8 Sep 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"Trip was extremely well put together. Claire was very efficient and could not have been more helpful.

We had an issue with the transfer from Kaingo to Rukomechi. With hindsight had we realized it would take over 11 hours we would have probably made a different decision about the combination of Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Secondly, there was a mix-up between Executive Air (Safari Logistics) and the booking for the transfer from Mana Pools Airstrip to Hwange. The plane arrived at 11:00 AM, which was his scheduled arrival according to his sheet but was an hour before we were expected to be picked up. Luckily the pilot waited for us and the two other passengers. We arrived at Hwange Airport at 2:15pm and there was no vehicle there from Camp Hwange. Again the pilot waited as he did not want to leave us at a closed airport building with no means of contacting the Camp. Finally a vehicle arrived at 3:15 pm.(the driver said he had been told to arrive for 3:30pm). The pilot Janade Krarim left with the other two passengers bound for Victoria Falls. Without the kindness of the pilot we could have been stranded."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

"Hide Heaven"

3 nights Arrived 25 Aug 2012
"Great friendly camp with lots of activities to keep one occupied from dawn to after dusk. Really good service and comfortable accommodation. We particularly liked the private deck in front of our chalet where we sat and had lunch and watched the hippos, crocodiles and Bee Eaters. The staff could not have been more helpful. Food was very good and far too plentiful.

Lots of photographic opportunities, especially in the hides at mid-day where one could get close to hippos and towards the end of our stay, to Carmine Bee Eaters where we were the first occupants of the season.

The night game drives were particularly good as there was a driver and a spotter - an extra pair of trained eyes made a huge difference in spotting game. We were lucky to see a lioness and her two small cubs in the dark and then later that evening glimpses of a male and female leopard.

We could have stayed longer at Kaingo."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Ruckomechi Camp

Ruckomechi Camp

"Comfortable Camp - good for first timers"

2 nights Arrived 28 Aug 2012
"Although our experience of Rukomechi was good this had much to do with the accommodation and the service. The camp is very well run and everything works. The very spacious large Tents are extremely well appointed and artistically decorated yet are tastefully integrated into the riverbank setting.

However the game drives seem to be restricted in the area they covered due to the boundaries of the concession. Compared with other camps this was a relatively tame experience. There were not enough charging points to accommodate all of the guests and their cameras and laptops.

We enjoyed the pontoon cruise along the Zambezi followed by a Sundowner on a river island.

We would not recommend taking a transfer from Lusaka to Chirundu, through Zimbabwe Immigration and then by boat to Rukomechi as this was a long and very tiring route especially as we had started our day at 6:00am at Kaingo Camp in South Luangwa, Zambia."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Stretch Ferreira Safaris Camp

Stretch Ferreira Safaris Camp

"Fantastic Experience"

3 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2012
"Not for the faint hearted!

This was a great and altogether unique experience. Sitting at the feet of a large bull elephant while he hoovered up seed pods from below a Winter Thorn Tree, crawling up to a pride of lions and later crawling along a river bed to get close to a pack of Wild Dogs. Each experience different and each very memorable. All due to Stretch Ferreira, whose empathy for and knowledge of the animals is legendary.

He is a wonderful host and each day we spent there was a joy, despite the heat. His business partner Flo keeps Stretch grounded and is a major part of the success of Goliath Camp. The other members of staff, Stetch's trainees - Siraj and Steven, and Reuben the guide all contribute to the close knit family" atmosphere of the camp.

Accommodation is relatively basic, but the food is excellent and plentiful. Goliath is certainly somewhere we want to go back to."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Camp Hwange

Camp Hwange

"New Camp - Lots of Potential"

4 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2012
"Camp Hwange has only been in operation since May 2012 and already they deserve to be better known.

The Camp is well laid out - the six Meru style Chalet-tents are very spacious and comfortable and are well appointed with a ceiling fan and an in-room charging point. The camp is designed in a curve with all of the tents facing a waterhole and the sunset. Food is excellent and service is good. Julian and Ashley run the camp extremely well and they are working towards making this one of the top camps in Zimbabwe. They are well on their way. Julian's skill and enthusiasm make him an excellent guide and host and Ashley's cooking is superb.

The waterhole attracts a lot of elephants and other game during the dry season but unfortunately the local large pride of lions had moved elsewhere just before we arrived and this meant we spent a lot of time on the road getting to where the game and predators were congregating.

We would come here again."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

"Convenient and Comfortable"

2 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2012
"Comfortable rooms and a good restaurant. Dinner was good and breakfast was excellent.

Excellent location as it is the closest hotel to Victoria Falls and to the banks and curio market in town."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team