This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr H from Chester

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

0

Memories of Namibia

Namibia between 19 Sep 2008 and 8 Oct 2008

Trip rating: Excellent
"We loved Namibia, we felt totally secure and in control throughout and met some really lovely people.

Wildlife was a key reason for going and we were not disappointed. There are some things I think we should have done differently in hindsight; firstly we should have gone for a bigger car - the guides state that the roads are excellent and the tarred roads are exactly that. The gravel roads where we mostly drove though are rutted and in part quite dangerous and our mid-sized car had problems. Some days we drove 6+ hours with big 4x4s fyling past, we should have gone for a bigger car.

Secondly - we should have taken advice and stayed at somewhere other than Waterberg which was no where near as good as we expected.

Finally - we underestimated the time it would take to travel between locations, down to the roads again."

Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

"Lovely Zebra River Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2008
"Owners and staff were all very friendly and helpful, delightful atmosphere. Location ideal for hiking and relaxing. Roads to lodge are somewhat unsuitable for anything other than a good sized 4x4."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Kulala Wilderness Camp, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Excellence at Kulala"

2 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2008
"Warm welcome and lots of good individual attention by very warm and friendly staff. Guide on early morning drive to dunes was excellent; informative, humerous, thouhtful. Views from rooms were specacular. Roads were pretty good around the Camp."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

"Nice break at Sam's"

3 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2008
"Location bit out of town, but good secure parking with nice sized rooms. Sam attentive and helpful to give advice and make arrangements. Food and wine in particular were good around a single menu option. Compared with previous accommodations, staff at Sam's were rather subdued and less friendly. One of our party was not a dog lover and found dog sitting by us at breakfast and fouling the garden somewhat unpalatable.

Walvis Bay has some good boat trips that are well worth considering.

Just a comment for those planning a visit to the area, we drove from Kulala camp to Swakupmond and the roads were very poor and journey took us all day."
Average
Location
Average
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro a delight"

2 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2008
"Directions near camp not overly clear but camp is in a really good location. Staff are warm and very friendly and made the stay a delight. Lots to do and the trip to see elephants was a highlight; very good guide who was infromative, knowledgeable and warm.

Management were clearly keen for you to enjoy the stay and spent time with guests around mealtimes. We travelled to Doro Nawas from Swakopmund and the roads in-land are poor and the journey took most of the day."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo waterhole great place for wildlife"

1 night Arrived 29 Sep 2008
"Reception staff were surley and somewhat ignorant and made the introduction to the camp a disappointment. However, once over this, the camp was a revelation from what we expeted from reading guide books.

Accommodation was very good standard and the camp plenty of space, clean and tidy. Waterhole particulary good feature and we saw a number of specacular wildlife events there. Food is OK, but as it is buffet did run out of some items. Overall the camp has undergone some significant refurbishment making the stay comfoprtable, they just need to do the same with reception."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Adventure at Halali"

3 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2008
"Nice, tidy camp with good accommodation that had clearly been recently refurbished. Food buffet style with average service and food adequate. Waterhole provided experiences and saw several rhino and a leopard.

Night drive was an adventure, seeing lions hunting etc, well worth the effort.

Nearby there are some excellent waterholes to see vast amounts of wildlife of all shapes and sizes - in all a great location."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

"Great stay at the "Fort""

2 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2008
"Reception staff better than other Etosha camps but accommodation was almost luxury and quite a pleasant surprise.

Food was from a la carte menu and with waitress service was of far better standard that other Etosha camps. Waterhole fine and gives very close experience to animals. Some very good waterholes nearby too and if you are carefull you should see pelicans and flamingo on the pan."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Waterberg Camp

Waterberg Camp

"Great views from plateau"

2 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2008
"Reception chaotic on arrival as lots of people being served at same time, staff there though were helpful and friendly.

Restuarant in beautiful building, food good and new management team seeking to welcome guests. Pool and surrounding area needs attention, pool was deep green and uninviting and insufficient seats etc.

Hiking is a delight and views specacular at top of plateau. Other than that, wildlife hard to see and not much to do at evenings. Rooms are not air conditioned and although having a fan, it is insufficient given the heat to get a good night sleep."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Poor
Rooms
Average
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team