This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Dr G from Christchurch, NZ

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

5

Excursions taken

0

My May 2013 trip

Zambia between 26 May 2013 and 12 Jun 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"I found the trip to be a profoundly enriching experience.

The visions South Luangwa offered of at least partially intact natural systems are for me unique"

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Pioneer Camp

Pioneer Camp

"Pioneer Camp is not great"

1 night Arrived 26 May 2013
"The chalet was satisfactory/

The evening meal was terrible. The breakfast was excellent. The length of time required for preparation was absurd

The Dutch "greeter" who fronted was a non salaried "newbie" who was drowning quickly. She did try very hard - so she said - to find our Bradt Guide which we had mislaid. The owner was away.

I would have preferred to haver overnighted in a standard hotel in Lusaka."
Average
Location
Poor
Service
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Image alt

Mukambi Lodge

"Very well managed lodge"

4 nights Arrived 27 May 2013
"The guides were excellent: Their knowledge and their ability to share it was admirable. I suspected that the number of routes available to them within the time available for game drives was limited and that, consequently, the variety of species we were able to see was also limited.

The meals were very good, but it seemed incongruous that in the middle of the Zambian bust that the presentation slavishly followed the French "novella cuisine style" of the 1970's.

We were disconcerted that the toilet in our brand new tent had no door. The explanation offered did not convince.

The managers appeared to be making a very significant effort to develop the capacities of their Zambian staff and to improve their living conditions. We thought this wholly admirable."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

"Flatdogs Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 31 May 2013
"The game drive vehicles -Toyota Land Cruisers - were the most comfortable we experienced.

Our Guide -Jeves- was the most knowledgeable and sophisticated of those we dealt with - and to say this is not to denigrate any of them. The overall standard we thought was superb.

The meals were good and their continuing availability most welcome.

Our tent was the most comfortable and best resourced of those we stayed in.

We were very unimpressed by the rant Adrian delivered to the kitchen staff in the hearing of 20 guests on the night of our arrival, and annoyed by the prices asked for very ordinary cask wine, and the evident instruction given to the waters to "push" it"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

"The Best!"

5 nights Arrived 4 Jun 2013
"This was our best experience. We liked the design that brought everyone together in a central core, the offer of drinks upon our return from a drive, that all guests ate together at a common table, and that the guides ate with us. All these factors contributed to a most enjoyable experience

I don't know the degree to which the long serving manager had contributed to this, I presume a great deal, but she was only peripherally present for us during our stay. A great deal of the present success I suspect must be attributed to the Australian Operations manager who was always there and worked very hard."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

"Puku Ridge review"

3 nights Arrived 9 Jun 2013
"We enjoyed the fact that this was the only Lodge run entirely by Zambian nationals, and that they were making an excellent job of doing so.

Our Guide was not as personable or as knowledgeable as the others we dealt with, but the room and meal quality andservice was impeccable.

The setting of the Lodge was wonderful, but the overall number and variety of the animals and birds seen was perhaps a little less than our experience of Flatdogs and Lion"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team