This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Ms O & friends from London

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

0

My Dec 2013 trip

Namibia between 28 Dec 2013 and 5 Jan 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"We were extremely satisfied with our trip. It was surprisingly easy to travel around Namibia. It was the perfect combination of adventure and comfort. We saw everything we were after. We enjoyed good food, great weather, friendly people.

We maanged to see rhinos (black and white), giraffes, lions, and loads of other animals. Though I have to say - we cheated a little bit and went for a tour arounf the Anderssons private reserve. On the second day we managed to see some lions, rhino, giraffes in teh Etosha park as well, but it was certainly less concentrated and further away than what we experienced in the private reserve.

We were perfectly satisfied with our car (4x4 Toyota Hilux) which seated the 5 of us very comfortably.

If we were to do this again we'd probably skip Swakopmund.

Thank you Tracy for organising this. It was a brilliant holiday! And we're all looking forwards to coming to Africa again!"

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse

"Rivendell Guesthouse review"

1 night Arrived 28 Dec 2013
"While the hotel manager/owner was very nice and helped with her suggestions - she also ordered a taxi to take us to a restaurant (that she had kindly booked for us minutes ago) which charged us an extortionate fixed fee for a 3-4min ride. On teh way back we decided not to use the same company and the restaurant got us a taxi that took us back to the guesthouse for half the price.

The door of one of the rooms didn't lock."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

"Desert Homestead review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Dec 2013
"The location was close enough to the dunes."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Image alt

Central Guest House, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Central Guest House review"

2 nights Arrived 31 Dec 2013
"It wasn't the hotels fault, but we were overall quite disappointed with Swakoppmund. Not quite the experience we had expected.

Even on the night of the 31st of Dec, the streets were empty and quiet. Most restaurants were closing at 9pm. A lot of the bars/clubs weren't open for NY celebrations.

But the guest house was perfectly fine. Within a walking distance from everywhere."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

"Twyfelfontein Country Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 2 Jan 2014
"Very close to the rock engravings!

Very accomodating staff - arranged the desert elephant tour in the morning just for us."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Anderssons Camp, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Anderssons Camp review"

1 night Arrived 3 Jan 2014
"We loved the water hole. A lot of animals (including a black rhino) came to visit us.

The staff was very, very welcoming and acommodated our late check-out."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Mushara Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 4 Jan 2014
"We had a flat tyre that we noticed in the morning, just prior to the departure. Given that we couldn't identify the puncture, and the hotel staff was just a bit too eager to help out - we got suspicious that it may actually be one of the ways the staff gets their tips.

Other than that - it's a lovely location. Beautiful rooms, lovely setting.

Staff was not even nearly as friendly as those in Adersson's Camp."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
River Crossing

River Crossing

"River Crossing review"

1 night Arrived 5 Jan 2014
"Beautiful views. Lovely location for the hotel and especially - due to it's proximity to the ariport it was perfect for us to catch the 6:30am flight.

Would recommend that as the best accommodation for the last night in Windhoek."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team